We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wouldnt reccomend to a good friend” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Edison, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wouldnt reccomend to a good friend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

long corridors with poor access to room on third floor.awakened by loud loud young drunken neighbors in the middle of night that had me thinking they were in my room. telephone call to security was placed. keys that needed to be reactivated almost every trip back into my room.poor service for breakfast with no follow up to find out if we were satisfied and required anything more. I actually had to help myself to more coffee behind the bar to when i was reprimanded by another waitress for helping myself. poor poor service. no elevator just alot of stairs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lainey48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    179
    162
    86
    82
See reviews for
157
236
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
franklin park nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

we booked a suite at hotels.com (we were 5 people!) only to check in, enter the room and find that the room is a standard room. we called hotels.com to change the room, and they promised us NOTHING. the hotel talked to them, NOTHING. tried to get in touch with a manager for hours. NOTHING. until finally, I talked to the lady at the front desk and she said that (even though it's not their problem), they will upgrade us to a suite at a very small extra charge. We were thrilled. to us, customer service and the feeling that we are being treated as human beings means everything and hotels.com, you can just take the money and run. bad business and lack of common courtesy will not win my support no matter how good the price is.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monaa94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Obviously, this place is no Ritz-Carlton--but what else would you expect from a Best Western? Having stayed at a few other BW's previously, I can say without doubt that the Mainstay Inn is one of the nicest. I was nervous initially (after reading many horrific reviews on this site), but the atmosphere was lively and fun, the room was spacious and clean (not to mention a ridiculously comfy bed), and the shuttle service was wonderful. There was NO moldy odor whatsoever, and I honestly can't think of a downside to this hotel. Even the cable TV was great. The staff was helpful and pleasant. For the value and the location, the Mainstay Inn is perfect. All naysayers on this site must have been clearly mistaken (or perhaps just a bit too pretentious).

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tex3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beltsville,Md
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Old and dirty room! No boxspring cover so you can see the complete boxspring, whatever the "brown" stuff on it was disgusting. Basically the "room cleaning" was making the bed, thats it. It is a maze of hallways to find your room with step downs of 3-4 steps, rediculous.

I could not recommend staying here under any circumstances! If i had a car i would have rather slept in it than the room. Waiting to see if bed bugs will be an issue!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay away from this Best Western under any circumstances!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfb281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

the AC didn't work through out the hotel, only in the bedrooms. parts of the hotel were pretty dingy. Good location though and it was clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silentsnake09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

My short and somewhat expensive stay at the Best Western turned into an extremely expensive and miserable stay when I returned to my hotel room after being absent all day to find all of my jewelry had been stolen. Management informed me the hotel is not liable for items stolen from the room unless they had been in the safe. My hotel room was clean and comfortable, but if you stay there, don't expect the lock on your door to protect your possessions. The jewelry was generously on loan from a friend, so it obviously needed to be replaced. Extremely disappointing experience that ruined my weekend, and greatly damaged my credit card.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janevb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

Stayed one night. It's an ok place for the money. Moved over to the Hampton inn for the second night. For a few more bucks it's alot better. The harbor hotels are ridiculously expensive, as are the restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bugsy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
1.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
1.7 mi away
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
#12 of 21 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 151 Admiral Kalbfus Rd, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only one mile from Newport, Rhode Island's historic waterfront, Mainstay Hotel and Conference Center offers convenient amenities and relaxing facilities in a great location. Across the road from Newport Grand Casino and half a mile from Newport Naval Station, we are just a few minutes drive from historic mansions, beautiful beaches, a bustling harbor and many other area attractions and activities. Our 200-room facility offers complimentary parking; seasonal shuttle service (surcharge) to downtown; ATM; fitness center; seasonal outdoor pool; self-service laundry; complimentary Wi-Fi, as well as conference and banquet facilities to host your private party or corporate event for up to 150 people. North End Steakhouse, our restaurant, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, from 6:30 a.m. until 9:00 p.m. Sundays to Thursdays, and until 10:00 p.m. Fridays and Saturdays, with bar service daily from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. We offer casual, friendly dining for all tastes, with a special accent on signature steaks and great seafood featuring Steak Night Tuesdays, Rib Night Wednesdays, Seafood Thursdays with changing lunch, early bird and dinner specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Mainstay Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing