We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, Clean, Beautiful Grounds, Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reed Rose Cottage

Reed Rose Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Reed Rose Cottage
Ranked #65 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
xxxxx
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet, Clean, Beautiful Grounds, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2008

We booked both suites as we are a couple that travels with my mother. The queen suite was perfect for her. Extremely clean! Pool is just steps from the suite with amazingly beautiful grounds to relax in. My husband and I stayed in the 2 bedroom unit. It was great for us and has a full kitchen with dining area. We could see fireworks from our windows, quite a treat !

The owners were good to deal with and went above and beyond for us. Great communication on the reservation process. We did not need breakfast so requested a rate excluding the breakfast, therefore, I cannot comment to breakfast. However, Charron did leave us a quiche which was very generous and unexpected and also very tasty. Excellent suggestions for our stay including recommendations on restaurants, and even our side trip to Boston and New York. They were also concerned for us when we arrived back late from NY. They even called to tell us that we left behind a bag of laundry we forgot and mailed it to us!

The quarters are close as the units share common walls with the owners and noise can be heard at times, but this is nearly the norm in b&b's I have stayed in. Some things to be aware of: There is a curved set of stairs leading up to the 2 bedroom unit. At the time of our visit there were no phones in the units, this was a surprise to us. The owners did make reservations for us at dining and tea establishments and took messages for us. One thing to note about Newport, the residential roads are narrow. We had a trailer with us and just was able to make it with parking the trailer. This is not a problem for most travelers. Vans, cars, pickups will be just fine.

Location of B&B is very central to all things Newport. It is a wonderful area. Also as a side note the hospital is located just a few blocks away and they run very efficiently....found this out due to sprained ankle.

I would recommend making reservations early especially for fall.

  • Liked — Location/Grounds
  • Disliked — No phone service @ time of my stay, but did have internet access
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2008

We (my spouse and I, our 13-yr-old son, and our beagle) stayed there for 3 nights in Spring. The suite is very well maintained, simple yet cute and charming. The location of the cottage and its pet-friendliness worked out very well for us. Charron and her husband are wonderful hosts. We plan to return to enjoy Charron's roses and the pool.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank bnandybose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2008

During our April school vacation, a friend and I spent a night at the Reed Rose Cottage without our children! What a delightful spot. We stayed in the two bedroom suite which was adorable, clean, and had plenty of room in the sitting and kitchen areas. The continental breakfast provided was plenty to get us going in the morning without having to leave our suite. It was a 15 minute walk to the Cliff Walk and a slightly longer one to get to downtown Newport. We would both like to return some day.

  • Liked — The 2 bedroom suite option.
  • Disliked — Check in wasn't until 4 check out at 11, very quick turn around for a one night stay.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ect3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughquag N.Y.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2008

This is an absolutely beautiful cottage. We stayed in the French Country Suite. The inground pool was 3 steps from our door. We had a continental breakfast stocked in our room, and wine available. One of the best beaches as advertised in Travel and Leisure magazine, Gooseberry Beach, was a short drive. The dining was a short distance as well as the Cliff Walk. The owner was helpful and would make reservations for us if needed. We are returning again this June. Please visit if you are in Newport RI.

  • Liked — Clean and friendly
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rigrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield,CT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2008

We rented both suites in August. Everything was very clean and the property was beautiful. We were underwhelmed with the breakfast selections that were presented and the garden suite kitchen area was simply a mini fridge in a closet. It was not really what we were expecting. The pool was great and we loved the beautiful gardens. The owners of the property had personal guests over for dinner several nights and that was a bit uncomfortable if we wanted to socialize in the enclosed area by the pool after 6pm. It is definitely not a place for children as the innkeeper's house is wall to wall with the rooms. We left early because we felt uncomfortable. The noise seemed very bothersome to the owner.

  • Liked — The pool and gardens
  • Disliked — The owner
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleton On Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2007

My wife and I had the great pleasure of spending 4 nights in this wonderful, charming B&B (Wish it could have been more!) Our room, the French Country Queen Suite, was everything we hoped for, and more. It was very clean, comfortable and just steps away from a beautiful in-ground pool( a rarity at B&B's!) It was so enjoyable to take a refreshing dip after breakfast or exploring Newport, and since we were the only guests we always had it all to ourselves! Another thing we liked was the well-stocked fridge and pantry. We could eat breakfast on our own little porch and at our leisure. The innkeeper, Charron, was very friendly and accomodating, and most helpful with restaurant suggestions, etc. She also had beautiful flower gardens. We are definitely looking forward to returning next year! 10 plus!

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, pool and the innkeeper
  • Disliked — that we couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAR-VIN93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.9 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Bay Willows Inn
Bay Willows Inn
#12 of 18 in Middletown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Seabreeze Inn
The Seabreeze Inn
#13 of 18 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
2.6 mi away
Newport Ambassador Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reed Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reed Rose Cottage

Property: Reed Rose Cottage
Address: 8 Loyola Ter, Newport, RI 02840-2326
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing