We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple and Clean”
Review of Bouchard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bouchard Inn
Ranked #20 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
367 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Simple and Clean”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The compact room was clean, the bed comfortable but the pillows hard and unyielding. It is a quaint old wooden building with the expected groans of a timber structure. Plenty of parking is available behind the building with staff, and the owner, willing to assist taking luggage up the stairs.
Being situated on Thames street, it is in the heart of the village action and only a short drive from the mansion circuit. The jewel in the crown is the exceptional restaurant producing excellent and authentic French food with a good regional wine list. My wife's foie gras with raspberry reduction was perfect and the poached salmon soft and moist . Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    51
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
99
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I recently stayed at the Harbor House at the Bouchard Inn for a girls weekend. We stayed in the Eve Room which is a one bedroom suite with mini-kitchenette. The suite was nicely decorated, clean, VERY comfortable mattress, excellent shower head. It felt very private and homey. The location was great - close enough to everything but quiet enough when the bars let out. Breakfast delivery was a nice touch! I would definitely stay again and hope to soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was our second stay at the Bouchard Inn and I highly recommend it. The rooms are clean, updated, comfortable and tastefully appointed. The location is perfect for exploring Newport and many attractions are within walking distance. We arrived on a Friday afternoon and were told that a continental type breakfast would be delivered on Saturday morning between 8:00-8:30 AM. (we already knew this from our previous stay) We informed the innkeeper that we were attending a graduation the next morning and would be leaving earlier than that. They promised to deliver coffee for us but that the pastries, etc. would probably not be ready in time.(yes homemade pastries...delicious!!!) Well, they surprised us the next morning with warm homemade apple turnovers and coffee. So thoughtful and nice!! ..oh and scrumptious. The only downside would be that it is located next to a pub which is loud. With our a/c unit on, we could not hear the noise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Bouchard Inn very much and look forward to returning next year. The delivery of breakfast every morning which included hot pastries, yogurt and orange juice was always highly anticipated by my husband. The location was excellent too. Close to the mansions and downtown Newport. We stayed in the Harbor House and didn't have any issues with O'Briens next door - never even heard them and we were there over Cinco De Mayo!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Located just past the busy downtown on Thames St with it's own parking lot. We stayed in the separate Harbor House, very quiet. Rooms in the Inn could be noisy due to pub next door. We were early in the season so the room rate was very reasonable and since we booked mid week, it came with a $50 voucher to the restaurant. The food was delicious and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We sure enjoyed our 4 night stay here. Newport is a great town, and Bouchard was a great place to call home. My wife and parents, and I were thrilled with the delivery of breakfast ( hot pastries, yogurt and coffee) each morning by the "breakfast fairy". Never saw them, but sure enjoyed it.

Stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Reasonably priced and right on Thames Street in Newport. You can also walk to a park that is on the ocean right around the corner. Nice room with lots of windows. Only down side is that right outside one window is O'Brien's bar, which lets out at about 1AM and can get rowdy. If you go ask for a room on the other side of the inn.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms overlooking O'Brien's bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenkins86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bouchard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bouchard Inn

Property: Bouchard Inn
Address: 505 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bouchard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all the intimacy of a Boutique Inn with the privacy and services of a hotel, all in the heart of downtown Newport and less than 1 block from the harbor. All of our guest rooms feature private baths and sitting areas for relaxing before or after a long day on your feet exploring Newport. From our front door, just about everything is within walking distance, saving you the trouble of traffic and finding parking. Also, our Restaurant has been featured as the #1 Restaurant in Newport here on Trip Advisor for the past 4 years. It would be our pleasure for you to come to Newport and let us help you share the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bouchard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing