We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TOP NOTCH IN EVERY WAY!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bouchard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bouchard Inn
Ranked #18 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“TOP NOTCH IN EVERY WAY!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

My wife and I sent 3 nights at the Bouchard Inn. We had dinner in their retaurant on our last evening. Our stay was perfect. There were homemade pastries, yogurt, coffe and OJ delivered to our room each morning. The room itself was nicely decorated and extremely comfortable. The owners of the Bouchard are very personable and make you feel right at home. The location is perfectly situated that you'll rarely need to drive. Regarding their restaurant, there is not a better one in Newport! The owner of the Bouchard Inn is also an accomplished Chef. The presentation was impressive and beautiful. The taste of the food was out of this world. The food and wine menu gives you a great variety to choose from. We won't stay anywhere else in Newport from now on. I have stayed at several other B&B's in Newport over the last 20 years. None of the others can compare to the entire package that is Bouchard. You won't regret staying at the inn or dining in their restaurant.

Room Tip: We stayed in room # 4. It faces to the rear of the property towards the harbor. We could not hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhgibbs03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    49
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
27
95
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I just spent a weekend in Newport and stayed at the Bouchard Inn for two nights. The Inn is great! Neither of us had ever been to Newport before and we couldn't have asked for a better location. The Inn is walking distance to everything in town (the wharfs, restaurants, bars, cliff walk). We stayed in room 11 which is in the Harbor house tucked 3 buildings off of Thames street. The room wasn't huge, but it was exactly what we were looking for. A nice and quiet room with a comfortable king bed. The room comes equiped with a Keurig coffee machine which we put to good use. Parking is easy, as guests get to park their car in the lot behind the restaurant.

We loved the small breakfast that was delivered to our door around 8-8:30 both mornings. A small yogurt with fresh fruit and berries and fresh pastries. We dont normally eat a large breakfast, so it was perfect for us. This way we could have a nice lazy morning with breakfast and coffee taken care of in th comfort of our room. Though if you like a big breakfast this might not cut it for some.

We had one little issue while there. My wife had towel she brought removed by the maid. When we notified management it was taken care of promptly. When we returned later in the day the towel was waiting for us in our room. This was a very minor issue, but they took it very seriously and made sure it was taken care of. Personally, it was just a towel but their reponse was commendable.

Unfortunately, since our plans were last minute, we were unable to eat at the restaurant. But we had some really great meals during our stay in Newport (Tellulah on Thames, the Lobster bar, raw bar at the Black Pearl). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpdorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is the perfect place to stay in Newport. Easy walking to all shops, restaurants, bars and the harbor. While the rooms aren't huge they are comfortable and have everything we need. We also ate at the restaurant that is part of the Inn. It is a French country theme and the food is excellent - inventive use of ingredients, very well presented. We will stay and eat here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stoiaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle,NY,USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

From setting,service,food quality,presentation and price to service I dare you to find this total package of civilized French food at a reasonable price ANYWHERE in Paris......

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank riemer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Vermont
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This inn is centrally located almost on the waterfront. The inn provides parking for guests which can be difficult during summer activities. The room we had was quite nice although the bathroom seemed to be a leftover from the mid 60's. We had access to a 2nd floor porch that was a good place to sit. The outside woodwork needs some attention. Every one of the staff we met was very helpful and informed. If you're looking for a 5 star room, you probably won't find it here, but you will find a 5 star staff. If I return to Newport, I'll try to book a room here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnRCentralVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary with the midweek special. We got a $50 dollar Restaurant Voucher with a two night stay. It was simply amazing. Not only is Bouchard located in the heart of Newport, there parking lot made it so easy to walk everywhere and we never had to drive. My wife enjoyed all the boutique shops located on Thames Street and I enjoyed a jog along the ocean side in the opposite direction.

Now Bouchard Inn, clean, a continental breakfast in the morning to get you going was just perfect to start the day. The bed was the most comfortable we had ever slept in at a Inn or Hotel. We stayed in the Rose Room with a great view of the Harbor.

The Restaurant is what it is #1 on Trip Advisor and for a reason. This is a destination for travelers all over the world, need I say more?

The hospitality shown at Bouchard is top notch if not five star without traying to portray it. Newport is amazing, we have highly recommended this little establishment to friends, family and acquaintances already.

Whatever they are trying to do, they simply are doing it right. Enjoy a nice vacation when you have the chance here, you WILL NOT BE DISSAPPOINTED!!!!

Room Tip: Rose Room is amazing, they also have another location called the Harbor House that looks quaint and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

The accomodations were simple but comfortable. Breakfast basket was a nice touch. The restaurant is what is pretends to be, it offers a varied and creative menu. The price is high but well within the range of similar inns. The owners were welcoming and the service during dinner was attentive but not overbearing. We will return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pascal1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bouchard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bouchard Inn

Property: Bouchard Inn
Address: 505 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bouchard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all the intimacy of a Boutique Inn with the privacy and services of a hotel, all in the heart of downtown Newport and less than 1 block from the harbor. All of our guest rooms feature private baths and sitting areas for relaxing before or after a long day on your feet exploring Newport. From our front door, just about everything is within walking distance, saving you the trouble of traffic and finding parking. Also, our Restaurant has been featured as the #1 Restaurant in Newport here on Trip Advisor for the past 4 years. It would be our pleasure for you to come to Newport and let us help you share the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bouchard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing