We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the hype -unpretentious and solid”
Review of Bouchard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bouchard Inn
Ranked #17 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Rochelle,NY,USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth the hype -unpretentious and solid”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

From setting,service,food quality,presentation and price to service I dare you to find this total package of civilized French food at a reasonable price ANYWHERE in Paris......

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank riemer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    53
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
104
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This inn is centrally located almost on the waterfront. The inn provides parking for guests which can be difficult during summer activities. The room we had was quite nice although the bathroom seemed to be a leftover from the mid 60's. We had access to a 2nd floor porch that was a good place to sit. The outside woodwork needs some attention. Every one of the staff we met was very helpful and informed. If you're looking for a 5 star room, you probably won't find it here, but you will find a 5 star staff. If I return to Newport, I'll try to book a room here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnRCentralVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary with the midweek special. We got a $50 dollar Restaurant Voucher with a two night stay. It was simply amazing. Not only is Bouchard located in the heart of Newport, there parking lot made it so easy to walk everywhere and we never had to drive. My wife enjoyed all the boutique shops located on Thames Street and I enjoyed a jog along the ocean side in the opposite direction.

Now Bouchard Inn, clean, a continental breakfast in the morning to get you going was just perfect to start the day. The bed was the most comfortable we had ever slept in at a Inn or Hotel. We stayed in the Rose Room with a great view of the Harbor.

The Restaurant is what it is #1 on Trip Advisor and for a reason. This is a destination for travelers all over the world, need I say more?

The hospitality shown at Bouchard is top notch if not five star without traying to portray it. Newport is amazing, we have highly recommended this little establishment to friends, family and acquaintances already.

Whatever they are trying to do, they simply are doing it right. Enjoy a nice vacation when you have the chance here, you WILL NOT BE DISSAPPOINTED!!!!

Room Tip: Rose Room is amazing, they also have another location called the Harbor House that looks quaint and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The accomodations were simple but comfortable. Breakfast basket was a nice touch. The restaurant is what is pretends to be, it offers a varied and creative menu. The price is high but well within the range of similar inns. The owners were welcoming and the service during dinner was attentive but not overbearing. We will return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pascal1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

My husband and I and our two girls, 14 & 10 yrs old, stayed here for two nights in April 2012. It was a semi-spur of the moment trip and the reviews on Tripadvisor were very helpful with deciding where to stay. That, and the fact that my choices were limited due to many B&B's not having two double beds in one room. Regardless, this place was very very nice. Our room was clean and neat; the bathroom was also clean. The breakfast that was left out for us both mornings was perfect....we had coffee and hot chocolate for the kids (they gave it 5 stars); yogurt with fresh fruit (homemade, I believe), homemade pastries that were out-of-this-world!! Living near New Haven and all its' italian pastry shops, Bouchard's pastries were incredible; and of course, OJ.
The only potential negative for us would have been O'Brien's pub that was right outside our window. Had this been the height of the season and on the weekend, we may not have gotten enough sleep. But that is no fault of Bouchard's---they were great. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gserf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We loved our snowy weekend get away at the Bouchard Inn. The hospitality is wonderful and you really will feel like you are stopping in to stay with friends. The location on Thames Street puts you within easy walking distance of just about any place you want to wander. The rooms are lovely and quaint. Unlike some other inns where we've stayed, they do not have common areas in the Inn where you might sit and read, or meet with friends (so keep that in mind if that is a priority for your visit). I truly loved the unique and stylish way that this inn provides breakfast for their guests. They have a pop-up shelf across from your door where a tray shows up around 8AM holding a pot of wonderful coffee, glasses filled with freshly squeezed juice, some warm flakey pastries and a simply divine yogurt parfait! The restaurant dining experience for dinner is truly something you will never, never forget. Not only is the food extra-ordinary (probably the best I've ever eaten), the service is superb. You will not regret a stay here!

Room Tip: They have some wonderful pictures of rooms, so definitely take a look before you book. Our room (th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The room was very clean and comfortable, it would have been nice to have a little local information in the room, a map, local magazines and so on. Location was very convenient to every thing seeing that parking is a premium, a walk to anything, Tennis museum, mansions and the many Warf's.

We were able to make reservations at the restaurant, I am a C.I.A. graduate (Feb/1986) and my wife is a very good cook so we tend to be disappointed when we go out. It was a treat and pleasure to dine at The Bouchard Restaurant. The atmosphere was exceptional one second to the service. The food presentation and flavors would make any culinary professional have a TBO! Add a great wine list and what else is there?

Exceptional, great job, we will be back.

Room Tip: We will try one over looking the harbor next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBruce1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#5 of 95 in Newport
406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ivy Lodge
Ivy Lodge
#12 of 95 in Newport
517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#16 of 95 in Newport
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
0.5 mi away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#14 of 95 in Newport
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burbankrose
Burbankrose
#35 of 95 in Newport
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bouchard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bouchard Inn

Property: Bouchard Inn
Address: 505 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bouchard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all the intimacy of a Boutique Inn with the privacy and services of a hotel, all in the heart of downtown Newport and less than 1 block from the harbor. All of our guest rooms feature private baths and sitting areas for relaxing before or after a long day on your feet exploring Newport. From our front door, just about everything is within walking distance, saving you the trouble of traffic and finding parking. Also, our Restaurant has been featured as the #1 Restaurant in Newport here on Trip Advisor for the past 4 years. It would be our pleasure for you to come to Newport and let us help you share the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Bouchard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing