We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bouchard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bouchard Inn
Ranked #20 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Bouchard's location is convenient to everything. You can park your car in their and walk everywhere. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the morning breakfast is delicious. I'd stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larsarus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    50
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
97
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Our second visit here for a birthday dinner and overnight stay was 5 stars again! Our room was comfortable and dinner by chef Albert was scrumptious. The in town location is in the midst of everything which makes it easy to walk everywhere.
We enjoyed the freshly baked warm pastries and delicious yogurt with fruit and nuts delivered to our door by elves :-)... a nice touch for a quick breakfast.
Despite our late evening arrival (and last minute change) Sarah was very accommodating. Love your adorable new addition - Vegas the puppy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyCurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We traveled to Newport in August and could not find a room with an online search. I had given up on staying in town and had booked a room at a terrible highway motel. While searching for a place to dine I found the Bouchard Inn and discovered that they had rooms though I had not found them advertised on Newport lodging lists. We were delighted with the discovery. The rooms are quaint but small. The bed and linens were extremely comforatable, breakfast and dinner were both excellent. I would recommend the inn to friends. It's central location to a variety of dining options as well as walking distance to the Newport mansions made the choice a perfect one for us. I'd be happy to make a return visit in hte future.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about noise from the street ask for a room at the back of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

We enjoyed both the Inn and a night of dinning. I can't say enough about how fantastic our experience was. Every morning we were greeted with a continental breakfast that was presented perfectly and delicious. The room was amazing, so cozy and just beautiful. Dinner was just amazing from appetizers to desserts. The staff was very attentive and made us feel as if we were the only ones in the restaurant although it was full of other dinners. Definitely 5 star dinning! Don’t leave Newport without the experience.

Room Tip: The have pictures of the rooms on line so take a look and see which one fits your style. There are r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAG117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

Overall, we had a very pleasant experience at the inn. The room was clean and recently updated, and you can't beat the location. The hosts were very personable and eager to help, which is always nice to see. We didn't eat at the inn, but it definitely smelled good when we walked by. We would definitely stay at Bouchard again, and would also recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Harbor House
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegreek80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

...and, most importantly, the food is quite good. I had the striped bass and it was excellent.
I appreciated that, though it's an upscale place, the atmosphere is not at all formal or stuffy. Very friendly. Will return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WordGirl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

First, I must say, my husband and I are used to staying at timeshares and multi-room resorts. I wanted to stay at an inn because we never had before, and it seemed romantic (and because that was what we could afford in Newport in the summer). Well, I liked the fact that it was very personal-- quaint, cozy, etc. There was no hotel or resort style check-in line, and I got to meet the owner personally as well as other guests. Mrs. Bouchard and the other staff I met were very friendly and inviting. We stayed in the Windward room, which besides having the ugliest wallpaper I've ever seen in my life, was a nice room. We had a place to sleep (queen bed), we had a private bath (which was well taken care of) and we had a light breakfast in the morning (fresh pastries, parfait, oj, coffee). The pastries were quite tasty, but not particularly filling. My husband was a little disappointed with the breakfast and was looking for "an actual meal" (I think he was expecting bacon and eggs) . So if your husband is a muscular 6'2" and 240 lbs. like mine, keep in mind that you'll probably have to go eat breakfast after you eat breakfast, as we did. It would be nice if a fridge and microwave were added to the Windward room (I think some of the other rooms have them-- but they should be standard). The room was clean and the bed faces the windows. After looking at the website, I was under the impression that the Windward room had a harbor view. Yes, it is facing the direction of the water, but the view is of the gravel parking lot. At least you can keep an eye on your car. From what I could tell, none of the rooms in the main inn have a view of the water. Overall, this inn met our needs. We slept late, but were out and about for most of the day, so we really just needed a place to sleep, and this was sufficient for that. No staff were around at check out time, which was slightly inconvenient. They seem to work around the restaurant schedule, not the inn.

Room Tip: Book early or in the off season for a good room and good rates. Book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristeanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#7 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bouchard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bouchard Inn

Property: Bouchard Inn
Address: 505 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bouchard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all the intimacy of a Boutique Inn with the privacy and services of a hotel, all in the heart of downtown Newport and less than 1 block from the harbor. All of our guest rooms feature private baths and sitting areas for relaxing before or after a long day on your feet exploring Newport. From our front door, just about everything is within walking distance, saving you the trouble of traffic and finding parking. Also, our Restaurant has been featured as the #1 Restaurant in Newport here on Trip Advisor for the past 4 years. It would be our pleasure for you to come to Newport and let us help you share the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bouchard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing