We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Historic Hill Inn
Ranked #30 of 102 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I've stayed here every time I come to Newport (about 4 times) and I absolutely love it. The location can't be beat and the hosts, Richard and Donna are both wonderful people-very welcoming, friendly, helpful and gracious. The Inn itself is beautiful and the rooms are very comfortable. Also, a really nice selection of breakfast items. Highly recommended. Actually my only hesitation in recommending them so highly is that I'm afraid I won't be able to get a room for myself next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    19
    4
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
63
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Historic Hill Inn is a funky and friendly bed and breakfast in the center of Newport. My wife and I arrived to a huge room, with a wonderfully comfortable king-size bed, period and mixed bric-a-brac galore, an old-fashioned 26" tv, and a bottle of champagne nestled in an ice-filled champagne cooler (it was my wife's birthday). This room had a large and clean private bath.
If you are looking for an expensive, state-of-the-art and perfectly manicured B&B, The Historic Hill Inn is not for you. For the rest of us, who are looking for a warm, relaxed experience, with two of the more interesting hosts you will find, don't hesitate to book the Historic Hill Inn. Maybe we will see you there on our next Newport overnight!

Room Tip: Master King room was huge and has a private bath. A great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 1 year wedding anniversary in Newport recently and had originally made room reservations at another bed & breakfast in the downtown area. When we arrived to check in we were told there was a mix up with our reservation and the bed and breakfast had no rooms available. That reservation mishap turned out to be a blessing in disguise though because we were then fortunate to meet Richard and Donna and stay at the beautiful Historic Hill Inn.

The Historic Hill Inn, which is centrally located in downtown Newport, was less than a 5 minute walk to the mansions and the restaurants/shops/bars on Thames Street. Also, the room we stayed in was clean, spacious and wonderfully decorated. And last, but certainly not least, the inn had free off street parking, which is impossible to find in Newport during peak season!

We were completely satisfied with our stay at the Historic Hill Inn and look forward to staying there again. Richard and Donna were great hosts and helped make our wedding anniversary a memorable one. We would highly recommend their bed & breakfast to anyone traveling to Newport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus,ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Richard and Donna were great host and hostess for out 3 day 4 night visit to Newport. They make you feel at home immediately and have wonderful suggestions for where to eat and what to see. The Inn is close to great restaurants, the wharf and shopping. Just a five minute drive to the Mansions and the Ocean walk. Room was spacious and the bed was great. Always good to meet the others guests at breakfast and find out where they are from and what they do.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobcatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picayune, Mississippi
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Spent 2 week there.
Room and bathroom were very nice, clean and comfortable. Slept with the windows open every night, I could just hear the fog horn in the distance when falling asleep.
Great location for walking to lots of places of interest.
Dedicated parking a real plus in that part of town.
Couple running the place were very hospitable and accommodating.
I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRW, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The place was central, clean, charming, the food was good, and the service awesome!

Nice to know:
There was a private parking place where you can park your car.
There was free wire.

This is a great place to stay. Within 2 minutes walking you are at the sea with all its bars and cafes. We arrived in the evening without booking, but Richardand his wife Donna were very welcoming and let us stay.

The house is very charming and clean. You feel comftable right a head.

Our room and bathroom was very clean and cosy . I never had a place with that many fresh towels.

The breakfast in the morning was very jummy.

Richard is a very nice man and the perfect tourist guide. He takes his time to explain and show you on maps what Newport makes so beautiful. He knows places for every budget and all different interests. He knew restaurants with amazing seafood for very less. ( I never had lobster and Thuna in such a nice place).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed with Donna and her husband for one night and we LOVED their beautiful INN. Perfect location , very comfortable, romantic and quaint quaint quaint. Also, had great chat with them both when we arrived and when we where leaving and that help make the trip a fantastic few days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky362013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 102 in Newport
3.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burbankrose
Burbankrose
#32 of 102 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adele Turner Inn
Adele Turner Inn
#21 of 102 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#25 of 102 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cleveland House
Cleveland House
#40 of 102 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fair Street Guest House
Fair Street Guest House
#36 of 102 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hill Inn

Property: Historic Hill Inn
Address: 105 Pelham Street, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Historic Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing