We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect Stay for a Weekend Away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Historic Hill Inn
Ranked #34 of 102 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay for a Weekend Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 1 year wedding anniversary in Newport recently and had originally made room reservations at another bed & breakfast in the downtown area. When we arrived to check in we were told there was a mix up with our reservation and the bed and breakfast had no rooms available. That reservation mishap turned out to be a blessing in disguise though because we were then fortunate to meet Richard and Donna and stay at the beautiful Historic Hill Inn.

The Historic Hill Inn, which is centrally located in downtown Newport, was less than a 5 minute walk to the mansions and the restaurants/shops/bars on Thames Street. Also, the room we stayed in was clean, spacious and wonderfully decorated. And last, but certainly not least, the inn had free off street parking, which is impossible to find in Newport during peak season!

We were completely satisfied with our stay at the Historic Hill Inn and look forward to staying there again. Richard and Donna were great hosts and helped make our wedding anniversary a memorable one. We would highly recommend their bed & breakfast to anyone traveling to Newport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    19
    4
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
64
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
columbus,ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Richard and Donna were great host and hostess for out 3 day 4 night visit to Newport. They make you feel at home immediately and have wonderful suggestions for where to eat and what to see. The Inn is close to great restaurants, the wharf and shopping. Just a five minute drive to the Mansions and the Ocean walk. Room was spacious and the bed was great. Always good to meet the others guests at breakfast and find out where they are from and what they do.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobcatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picayune, Mississippi
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Spent 2 week there.
Room and bathroom were very nice, clean and comfortable. Slept with the windows open every night, I could just hear the fog horn in the distance when falling asleep.
Great location for walking to lots of places of interest.
Dedicated parking a real plus in that part of town.
Couple running the place were very hospitable and accommodating.
I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRW, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The place was central, clean, charming, the food was good, and the service awesome!

Nice to know:
There was a private parking place where you can park your car.
There was free wire.

This is a great place to stay. Within 2 minutes walking you are at the sea with all its bars and cafes. We arrived in the evening without booking, but Richardand his wife Donna were very welcoming and let us stay.

The house is very charming and clean. You feel comftable right a head.

Our room and bathroom was very clean and cosy . I never had a place with that many fresh towels.

The breakfast in the morning was very jummy.

Richard is a very nice man and the perfect tourist guide. He takes his time to explain and show you on maps what Newport makes so beautiful. He knows places for every budget and all different interests. He knew restaurants with amazing seafood for very less. ( I never had lobster and Thuna in such a nice place).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed with Donna and her husband for one night and we LOVED their beautiful INN. Perfect location , very comfortable, romantic and quaint quaint quaint. Also, had great chat with them both when we arrived and when we where leaving and that help make the trip a fantastic few days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky362013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our stay at Historic Hill Inn was extremely disappointing as it was loud (screaming /yelling), old (needs to be better maintained) dirty ( see below). The city was great, our stay at HHI was awful. From the dirty hair brush provided on the cabinet, bed which creaked, shower that was dirty (old/dirty bath mat) , no proper bathing supplies in the bathroom (only hand soap), a robe that was grey when it should have been white, and innkeepers who woke up all guests in the Inn at 5am with screaming at one another, and slamming of doors only giving an apology after initial denial and personal insults, it is by far our worst experience traveling to date. In fact, this property offered to have us sign an NDA and give us 50% credit- have you ever heard of this before!?!! Beware- property is old, dirty, and rundown. Innkeepers may seem nice at first meeting or phone call, but clearly only care about their best interests and not ensuring customer satisfaction. I wish I would have read all of the reviews prior to booking our stay as our experience is very similar to others who wrote their negative comments on this site.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lboogs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, Owner at Historic Hill Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Trip advisor is a great resource for travellers when used as it is supposed to. Readers are advisied by Trip Advisor to judge reviews of properties in their entirety for an overall assessment. We are very proud of the overwhelmingly favorable reviews we have received in the 18 years that we have been in business. We would like to take this opportunity to thank all of those great patrons of our business who have contributed to our reputation as one of the best & most reasonably priced lodging establishments in downtown Newport. We are very disappointed when we see a review like this one. We wish that there was something more that we could have done to have been able to add this person to our list of satisfied customers. Unfortunetely, this was not the case. We sincerely reget this. One of the problems with the internet is that people can & do say anything, regardless of the truth. This is what really happened. Nothing. The writer claimed there was loud noises,slamming of doors etc. We didn't hear anything, nor did any of the other guests. We were full that Labor Day weekend. There were no complaints from any of the other guests. What occurred was that the writer claimed to have heard noises at night, demanded a refund in full,which was denied as there was no evidence to back it up. Even though we felt we were being scammed for a free night, we were gracious enough to offer the guest 1/2 off the stay.Then came the threats of a bad review, revenge etc, unless she got 100% off. Hence, the bad review, untruths about the accommodations & cleanliness. Think about it. If there was any validity to to her claims, she would have never checked in, nor would any of the other guests. As Innkeepers we are in the business of keeping people happy & we've been mostly successful on that front, that's how our business has thrived all these years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place was clean, comfortable, convenient, and the owners are wonderful. The apartment we stayed in was roomy and it had a nice feel. Great continental breakfast too! Our stay was last minute one night stay and it worked out well. We'll be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjfromsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 102 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burbankrose
Burbankrose
#32 of 102 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fair Street Guest House
Fair Street Guest House
#29 of 102 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chart House Inn
Chart House Inn
#40 of 102 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.3 mi away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#25 of 102 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adele Turner Inn
Adele Turner Inn
#23 of 102 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hill Inn

Property: Historic Hill Inn
Address: 105 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3131
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Historic Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing