We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only thing better than the place are the people”
Review of Historic Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Historic Hill Inn
Ranked #34 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The only thing better than the place are the people”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Donna and Richard were wonderful hosts and helped to make us feel like we were at home for our 5 day stay. They are very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and are incredibly accommodative. We look forward to coming back!
Ps. Love Brownie the dog!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraC2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    21
    5
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
69
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My family stayed at the Historic Hill Inn this past summer. We are from Virginia and we were very fortunate to find a great place to stay during the busy season. We stayed in 2 bedrooms and we also had a private family room with our own entrance. The hospitality of our hosts, Richard and Donna was amazing. We felt very comfortable and right at home. The location was also fantastic and the price was reasonable. Very good continental breakfast too! Thank you Donna and Richard ! We would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I was welcomed into the historic hill inn by donna and Richard. Wonderful people with great conversation to say the least. Their continental breakfast was delicious as well as complimentary and their hospitality was most evident. Relatively inexpensive and beyond worth it for the location alone. If I am ever in Newport again, I will be sure to stay at the historic hill in. A home run for sure

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roaminggnomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
red bank, nj
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I and another couple celebrated their anniversary at the Historic Hill Inn last week-end! This is one of the best inns we have ever stayed at! Our hosts, Donna and Richard provide their guests with every amenity. And they do it with with such expertise. They know everything about Newport! Our room was very comfortable and squeaky clean.
If you are looking for comfort and a convenient location, Historic Hill Inn is the perfect place to stay in Newport

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runbettsrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband, 5-year old son and I stayed here for two nights. We were greeted by Donna and their old beagle, who showed us to our room. Donna then sat down with me and showed me a map of the area and recommended various restaurants and walking routes. We were a quick walk from the harbor/downtown area, and each morning my son and I would walk down the hill to the Coffee Grinder for a cappuccino (for me) while we watched the boats. Location couldn't be better.
Value - everything else in the area was more expensive. June isn't even high season but every hotel room "downtown" was $250 or more. I think we got a rate around $150 including parking (which is a huge plus here - a real parking lot!) and breakfast.
The room - lots of victorian frill, which isn't my thing, but it was pretty, clean and spacious, with a large bathroom.
In summary, a nice, friendly place with good value. We'd stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdijetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington, vt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We went to Newport on the spur of the moment on a Friday afternoon of the weekend of the Jazz festival and where afraid we wouldn't find a nice place withing easy strolling distance (we have a 14mo old) of historic area/wharfs that we could afford. The visitor's center highly recommended the Historic Hill Inn, so drove over--only a five minute drive. Richard, the owner, greeted us warmly and showed us our room, a large second floor room with a king bed and lots of light. It was super clean with great comfy chairs and nice decorations. Richard offered to help us bring up our luggage, took a spare bed out of the room, and moved assorted antiques out of baby's reach. Then he gave us a whole bunch of great suggestions for restaurants and where the natural food store was and about the Cliff Walk, beaches and mansions--very helpful. It's great to have parking and be so close to Thames st., Spring st., the waterfront. The breakfast was very good for a small B&B. Donna and Richard were some of the most friendly and helpful inn-keepers I've encountered, and that made our stay all the better. Last, but not least, it was a great price--for any location in Newport.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregory g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights July into August 2012. Everything about our stay was great. The accomodations, parking, location, and especially our friendly and very helpful hosts, Donna and Richard.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Newport Blues Inn
Newport Blues Inn
#27 of 95 in Newport
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 95 in Newport
493 reviews
0.6 mi away
Admiral Sims' House
Admiral Sims' House
#58 of 95 in Newport
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#24 of 95 in Newport
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#3 of 95 in Newport
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yankee Peddler Inn
Yankee Peddler Inn
#29 of 95 in Newport
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hill Inn

Property: Historic Hill Inn
Address: 105 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3131
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Historic Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing