We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable in every way!”
Review of Newport Blues Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newport Blues Inn
Ranked #22 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2009

My family (six of us - three couples) decided to stay on the top floor of the NBI while in Newport for a wedding. The setup was perfect for us as we also had access and sole use of the common sitting room and kitchen on this floor. Our innkeeper, Pam, gave us great sightseeing recommendations, service, and cooked delicious breakfasts every day. In comparison to rooms at the hotel where the wedding was held, ours were remarkably better (other guests were complaining about the price and size of their rooms.) Furthermore, the NBI is located central to downtown Newport and it was very easy for us to get around Newport on foot. On top of it all, you get free passes to the Newport Blues Cafe that has great live music!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TookerTeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 178 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2009

Returned for my birthday weekend this year after staying here for the first time in May 2008. Had the Sachuest Suite again...very nice room with separate living room and small private balcony overlooking Pelham Street (the balcony could use a little TLC...hadn't been cleaned and the chair cushions were really dirty but we figured since it was early in the season perhaps they hadn't gotten to it yet.....Very spacious bathroom that is spotless as is the entire room. The bed is one of the most comfortable my husband and I have ever slept in! Great full breakfast (Pam and Laura Lee are awesome) and a wonderful location. Love the Newport Blues Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radiopam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here in March 2008 on a trip around New England. We were originally staying in Newport for just one night, and I can't remember how we decided on the Newport Blues Inn, but I'm so happy we did!! We both don't have a ton of money, and since it was the low season we were offered a great deal, and once we got there Lisa and Garry were so friendly and made us feel like it was our own house! They even let us upgrade to a better room for free!

The breakfast was excellent and the rooms were beautiful.

Later in our vacation we had 2 days where we didn't have plans, so we came back to Newport and spent another night at the Newport Blues Inn! It was great, and we'd definitely come back again!!!

Thanks guys!!!

Lori and Roddy

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thriftytravelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

My husband and I had the most wonderful stay at the Newport Blues Inn, located in Newport RI in May of this year 2008.
We have never stayed at a B&B before, but this one was outstanding! The rooms were emmaculate, the staff was utmost professional and very accommodating to us. The breakfast was delicious. It felt just like being at home. Thanks again for a welcoming stay and we'll be making plans to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dickensUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

We recently visited Newport, Rhode Island, & stayed at the Newport Blues Inn. The management & staff were very friendly, the accomodations were great (very comfortable bed), & the breakfast's were delicious & different every day. I would recommend The Newport Blues Inn to anyone who wants to stay at a home away from home.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank goldenagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

What a terrible disappointment. I was welcomed by someone on a cell phone who gestured me into my room and mouthed a few things to me while holding the cell phone still to her ear. Breakfast was of very poor quality and the breakfast "galley" opens into a business office where you can see the workers sitting with their feet up and talking about who will go to do the "[--] [--] with the guests" at that nights' wine and cheese reception. Then our dirty dishes were stacked and in the same moment the hands went to take more muffins out of a muffin tin to put out. No class, no graciousness, no charm. For $250 a night I want it to be better than home not worse.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank north4Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppeck, General Manager at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2008

As General Manager of the Newport Blues Inn, I personally take great pride along with our entire NBI family, in seeing the 149 wonderful reviews by you, our guests, who speak of the amazing times spent together with us here at the Newport Blues Inn. How gratifying it is to hear when we have made such a positive impact on your vacation that you take the time to enter a very complimentary review for us.

However, here I find myself unfortunately responding to our first review that is of the opposite nature. I find myself both very upset over the comments that describe a stay experience unlike any of our other reviews and unlike our Inn and family team entirely, and so I must admit it confuses me as well.

I've always learned though that all feedback is great feedback and I'm so very thankful to have the opportunity to not only know when we have gone above and beyond, but also hear when there is need for improvement as this review has pointed out, and make any changes necessary to ensure that it's never repeated.

Thank you so much for reading and writing reviews as guests of the Newport Blues Inn. Your wonderful comments, (and constructive feedback as well), allow us to always raise the bar in continuing to provide a get-away experience that aims to exceed your vacation expectations!

Lisa, Garry and the entire Newport Blues Inn Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

I had booked a room at the Pearls of Newport on Expedia about a month in advance, but upon arrival was told that there was no record of my reservation (even though my credit card had been charged) and that no other rooms were available. Given that it was a long weekend (Memorial Day) I was worried about not finding other accomodations, but thankfully the Newport Blues Inn which is just a few doors up had a vacancy sign. I stopped in to inquire about the rooms and was greeted by Mary, who is very gracious and sweet. We ended up taking the Emerald Suite at the Jewels and loved it. The room is large and beautifully appointed, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom luxurious. Everyone we encountered at the Newport Blues was very friendly and helpful. I asked Gary for recommendations on activities, etc. at breakfast and he was amazing. Overall we had a great time and would definitely return to the property on our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkCityGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Historic Hill Inn
Historic Hill Inn
#35 of 95 in Newport
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelham Court Hotel
Pelham Court Hotel
#24 of 95 in Newport
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#27 of 95 in Newport
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 95 in Newport
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pilgrim House Inn
Pilgrim House Inn
#25 of 95 in Newport
114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adele Turner Inn
Adele Turner Inn
#34 of 95 in Newport
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Blues Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Blues Inn

Address: 96 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $245 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Blues Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Blues Inn, one of Newport RI's finest Inns, offers our guests an experience of classic RI charm with a modern day style and appeal. Located a walking distance from the center of town, the beach, and the Bellevue Mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Newport Blues Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Blues Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing