We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Breakfast, otherwise nothing special”
Review of Newport Blues Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newport Blues Inn
Ranked #27 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed four nights in Newport RI at the Newport Blues Inn. It was a decidedly mixed experience. We stayed in what was described as a suite and I suppose it does fit the definition. There was a king size bed and a small sitting room with a love-seat that folds out to a bed. it was billed as sleeping four but that is unlikely. The other odd thing was that there were no additional chairs other than two small stools. In all it was a very difficult place to get comfortable.
There was an ancient window AC unit that was completely ineffective though most nights the breeze was enough, though propping the windows up with an old bottle was a bit of a pain.
Much of the Inn was in need of some paint and paper, with peeling wall paper and chipped paint the norm throughout.
My son came to stay half way through the week and was given a room on the third floor. There room was quite nice and seemed to have been recently updated, something the rest of the place badly needs.
As mentioned the breakfasts were quite good and the cook was willing to accommodate any needs. Two other things to keep in mind. Check in time is three o'clock. We arrived a little after two and were told in no uncertain terms that we had to wait. Parking is a major issue in Newport and parking for the Inn is at the Elks club a few blocks up the street. If mobility is an issue that can get tiresome.
In all we won't be back. For the price you pay for this Inn is simply not up to snuff.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the third floor. They seem to have been refurbished.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nearlycanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Newport Blues Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 170 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

My hubby & I recently stayed here and are sorry to report that we found this inn to be quite disappointing. The one good thing about this place is that it's walking distance to just about everything. But as far as great b&bs go...this just doesn't come close. For starters, the rooms are pitiful and SMALL (your average hotel room in Manhattan would seem like a mansion compared to the rooms here). The bed & pillows were lumpy & the maid service was poor (sheets seemed to be constantly sandy). The breakfast was ok--nothing great but adequate. The service however was virtually non-existent. The woman at the front desk was quite abrupt and rude...don't even think about asking for advice on parking or local restaurants...these people treat guests like they can't wait for them to leave! It's a shame because this group of inns could be so charming but it's run in such a way that creates the impression that these people don't care about their guests...they just want to make a buck. We look forward to returning to Newport but will find different accomodations.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CTtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetPeck, Public Relations Manager at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am surprised you were treated abruptly and not given information. When our guests check-in they are given a key, told where to find breakfast, given a parking pass and told where to park. They are also given a map of Newport, with simple directions to the mansions and water areas and told about all the wonderful restaurants within walking distance of our Inns. Our mattresses are flipped monthly. As for the pillow being lumpy, perhaps it needs to be changed. We are inspecting all of them. Our innkeeper would have been happy to replace yours for you. Thank you for your thoughts and we hope you'll try us again when you travel to Newport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

At a golf tournament, I won a free weekday 2 nite stay in a queen bed room at the Newport Blues Inn. I was able to book a Wednesday and a Thursday night in August with a friend. Upon arrival we were upgraded to two queen beds in the Easton Room. The experience was totally wonderful for us!
Noteworthy comments:
Check in was smooth and our questions were answered.
The room was clean and the beds were comfortable.
Private bathroom was clean and well stocked w/ towels and soaps/shampoo/lotions.
Small refrigerator in the room held everything we brought for our beach day. Complimentary waters were included.
Air conditioner in the room did the job.
Daily cookies were a treat!
Parking was convenient - either on street if you could get it or at a parking lot across the street.
Very close/walking distance to wharf area and shops as well as to those on Bellevue Street.
Breakfasts were delicious - cinnamon french toast one day, scrambled eggs, bacon, homefries the next - always fresh fruit and homemade muffins/breads.

Things they could improve:
too small TV - needs a flat screen in the room.

Thank you to the Newport Blues Inn for donating the gift certificate to the golf tournament in honor of abused women and children.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Chose the Blue Jewel because we had a LivingSocial coupon (2 nights for the price of 1). It is a fantastic location - we parked the car and walked almost everywhere during our weekend there. We stayed in the Sapphire Room. The room was on the smallish side and it appeared that the furniture had been rearranged because there was no way to watch the TV! The bed was SOFT!!!! (and not in a good way!) There was a nice alcove with two chairs and the bathroom was a nice size (with a tiny tub and a great shower!). My husband and I have an architectural business so we notice things that other people might not and we noticed that there were vinyl replacement windows and the vinyl was dirty! The innkeeper was pleasant and gave us good advice on places to eat. We walked about a block to the Black Duck for breakfast - really good on Saturday (cinnamon french toast) - not so good on Sunday (blueberry or chocolate chip pancakes). The B&B was nice enough at the discounted price, but probably wouldn't go back at the regular rate!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetPeck, Public Relations Manager at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Thank you for staying with us while you were in Newport. The Sapphire Room is next on the list for a new TV. We pick our beds with medium range firmness since many people prefer either very hard or soft and fluffy. As for the breakfast,we always offer choices - one hot item along with a great variety of muffins, fresh fruits and any sytle egg you could want.
We hope you try us again the next time you visit Newport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Stayed here recently with my wife for our first wedding anniversary...We are both not really "into" bed and breakfasts, however since this place got great reviews on tripadvisor, is in a great location and the fact that each room had a private bathroom, we thought we would give it a try.

Pros:
-Ladies at check-in were very friendly and offered up many great restaurant suggestions.
-Breakfast was offered everyday and again, the hostess was very nice and accomodating.
-GREAT location if you want to walk to dinner on the main strip. Tons of restaurants and shops all within walking distance.
-each room has a nice sized refrigerator

Cons: (in level if importance)
-broken toilet - Not only did you have to hold down the handle to flush it completely, but also the toilet SEAT was broken in such a way that you were tilted to your left when you sat on it.(picture below) We only realized this on the second day of our stay. By that time I wasn't going to complain about it, but I started to take stock of what else was wrong with this room.
-no hot water in the sink and terrible water pressure in both the sink and shower. The hot water knob/lever on the left side of the sink is in an akward place (picture below) Also, the sink drained very slowly.
-walls are very thin - you can hear everyone coming and going in the hallways and the adjacent rooms. I assume, they can hear you too...that can make the "sexy time" a litle awkward...
-bed was very hard and squeak
-nightstand on only one side of the bed
-very small TV (can't afford a flatscreen? come on...)
-no secondary lock on the door
-lightswitch had a dimmer that did not work

Nothing too major, but paying $190 per night, it was enough for me to write a review on tripadvisor and whine about it...WAHHHH

next time we are staying at the Marriott

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GB G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetPeck, Public Relations Manager at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

We are so glad you stayed with us. As you know, small B&B s are in an ongoing process of upgrading and fixing. We are replacing a few toilet seats each month. So sorry yours had not been updated. We always tell our guests if there are any problems to please call us and we'll be happy to help.
We hope you'll give us another try. We feel we have the greatest location in Newport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently for a quick weekend getaway and all I can say is ...WOW! The room was very clean and quiet. (#1 priority for me) The breakfast was excellent and the Inn keeper was so nice and accommodating. It really added that something special you don't get at a brand name hotel for sure! We had such a great time staying here that we will definitely be coming back with our friends!!! I highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a clean and quiet place at a awesome price! Oh and it is located right in the middle of everything too!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tminus55552222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed one night at this Inn and will never return. The outside appearance is awful, the awnings are falling apart, the windows are rickety and very noisy. It happened to be a windy night and all we heard was the sound of the windows vibrating. Also the walls and floors are thin so as to hear all the other visitors coming and going - not relaxing at all. There was no extra tissue paper in the bathroom, very little kleenex left in the box, no water pressure to wash your hair, dead flowers left in the window boxes; it was terrible. This place needs a good over-haul and alot more attention to detail. The price they get for this place is rediculous - the only good thing is the location.

Room Tip: my tip is to not stay here.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetPeck, Public Relations Manager at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

We apologize for your noisy night in our Inn. Unfortunately, that windstorm damaged our awnings. We have ordered replacements. As you will see from our other reviews, most people have had very good experiences with us. We hope you will give us another try in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Historic Hill Inn
Historic Hill Inn
#35 of 95 in Newport
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pilgrim House Inn
Pilgrim House Inn
#23 of 95 in Newport
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 95 in Newport
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#28 of 95 in Newport
212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adele Turner Inn
Adele Turner Inn
#30 of 95 in Newport
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelham Court Hotel
Pelham Court Hotel
#24 of 95 in Newport
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Blues Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Blues Inn

Address: 96 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $235 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Blues Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Blues Inn, one of Newport RI's finest Inns, offers our guests an experience of classic RI charm with a modern day style and appeal. Located a walking distance from the center of town, the beach, and the Bellevue Mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Newport Blues Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Blues Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing