We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Fluke is No Fluke”

Fluke Wine Bar & Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Fluke Wine Bar & Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 235 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Banisters Wharf & America's Cup Ave
Transit: Bowen's Wharf
Description: Our menu of snacks, small and large plates changes daily, capturing the best seasonal ingredients. Enjoy scenic views on historic Bannister's Wharf. Award winning cocktails and wine list.
Newtown
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Fluke is No Fluke”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Fluke Wine Bar & Kitchen is no fluke. It is a genuine restaurant that is flexible in its approach to food and drink, as well as the way it accommodates dinners, even solo guests. Tucked into historic Bannister's Wharf, the Fluke is a great place to meet for an excellent dinner, a cutting-edge cocktail or tasty dessert with dessert wine, or as is my taste, a snifter of cognac. I visited in mid-May on a busy graduation weekend. I called for seating available the same day, and they had no problem making room for me. The food was excellent and the service outstanding. The Fluke is the kind place where everyone from the owners to the servers take an interest in your dining experience. As a single customer, I decided to eat at the bar. I had local oysters for an appetizer and fresh sword fish as a main course. I was not disappointed. I also had a their own take on a bourbon Manhattan for an opening cocktail and later a nice white wine from their extensive wine list with the sword fish. Overall, the Fluke was a very good experience, and one that I would recommend to others and repeat myself. Now, I wonder if they serve fluke?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    131
    55
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Third Visit”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Fluke is a fresh modern approach for the culinary palate. Dennis, the waiter, was very helpful and knowledgeable in the fine wine and food selection. Enjoyed the seasonal ingredients infused throughout their signature drinks, dishes and desserts. The exceptional coconut panna cotta was light with a different twist. It ended a perfect dining experience on a hot summer evening. Surrounded by a very nice approachable staff and atmosphere. We lucked out with a beautiful sunset view overlooking the harbor on the top floor bar area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Raw chicken”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We arrived at 6 PM on a Tuesday without a reservation, but, we were given a nice table by the window. We ordered a small plate "grilled vegetable tart" and a large plate "chicken with chick peas and spinach". The tart was delicious.. The chicken was great until I cut into the leg, which bled all over the plate. It's not that hard to cook chicken - the breast cooks more quickly than the leg. A different server saw the problem and whisked the meal away. However, we were charged for the inedible chicken, After having to argue with our server, who was quite rude, the chicken was removed from the bill. Even so, we ended up going to a restaurant at our hotel where we had great service and good food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cthSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner experience”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our B&B recommended Fluke so we headed down on a Tuesday night and enjoyed an outstanding dinner, one of the best I have had in a long time at a restaurant. I had the sea bass which was perfectly cooked, and the summer vegetables and sauce was light and a perfect blend of flavors - superb! My husband ordered a barley risotto, another excellent dish and I am not a risotto person. Wish we lived nearby, I would become a regular. Sadly, we missed out on the oysters because we are used to ours raw and chose not to order, but apparently it is a signature appetizer and not to be missed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Touchbase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Newport Gem”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great little place right in the middle of all the goings on down by the wharf in Newport. Food, service, atmosphere all first rate. The crispy oyster appetizer was outstanding. A fun place with good food, what more could you ask for ?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PnM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fluke Wine Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing