We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fluke Wine Bar & Kitchen

Fluke Wine Bar & Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Fluke Wine Bar & Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 232 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Banisters Wharf & America's Cup Ave
Transit: Bowen's Wharf
Description: Our menu of snacks, small and large plates changes daily, capturing the best seasonal ingredients. Enjoy scenic views on historic Bannister's Wharf. Award winning cocktails and wine list.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I booked this reservation a week early on open table based on a 21 Zaget rating and we were not disappointed. We were seated in a great table by the window. Lucky for us we saw a beautiful sunset during our stay but the great food, service and a bottle of wine keep us there till after dark. Our waitress was very attentive and never rushed us. We shared roasted coconut shrimp and veal meatballs for appetizers and since we were in Newport harbor and drinking white wine we maintained the theme with pan seared scallops & Atlantic cod for dinner. Great dinner, nice wine, sunset, 38 years together....lucky us!
Enjoy,
Michael & Ginny

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank melmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    122
    52
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Really great atmosphere and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a late night reservation because they were booked all night. It was worth the wait. Food was great but the service was top notch. Nice friendly professional
Staff that even after a long night were kind and conscientious. Its a small place and we would highly recommend it. Would go again for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Addileesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Wine List & Outstanding Dinner in Newport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had the oysters and the scallops.....YUMMY!! Excellent wine selection and the pana cotta for dessert was so good, but they need to put in a larger martini glass...I had to share with my dad! Also, the bar on the 3rd floor is a great place for a drink or dinner with loud friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AliciaG9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food, nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Small restaurant, intimate. Great food, smallish portions. Enjoyed the experience. Thought that the service could have been warmer for such a small place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Westchestertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
171 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good for foodies !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Went to fluke last night for a small bite. Not sure what trouble the previous posters ran into but my experience was great. I had the grilled quail with root vegetables. Cooked perfectly MR and had a sauce that was as soothing as the smell of a good veal stock on the stove. Also had a kind of key lime custard with chopped cashews. Was excellent in flavor, texture and combination. Staff could not have friendlier and helpful. I'll be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nycnyc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fluke Wine Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Fluke Wine Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing