We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Wine Dinner”

Fluke Wine Bar & Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Fluke Wine Bar & Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 233 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Banisters Wharf & America's Cup Ave
Transit: Bowen's Wharf
Description: Our menu of snacks, small and large plates changes daily, capturing the best seasonal ingredients. Enjoy scenic views on historic Bannister's Wharf. Award winning cocktails and wine list.
Hoboken
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Wine Dinner”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate here on the day we arrived in Newport. We ordered a bottle of Pino Noir ($30). We had a selection of cheeses and meats for an appetizer. We also had olives and Marcona almonds. The total was about $120 with tip.

The service was good, but not super attentive. Also, We sat on the third floor with has a bar, but offers a nice view of the water.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    124
    52
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Food and Beautiful Location”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Went here for dinner while staying in Newport. The food was good, although I do wish there was a bit more varity. The staff was really nice and checked in a few times during the meal. Even the bus buy was interested in how our meals were and was extreamly friendly. We were unsure what wine we wanted and insted of just giving our their favorite or having us choose they brought over both bottles and had a mini tasting.It was great!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nunu1334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Evening”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Went to Fluke after researching restaurants in Newport from home (Chicago). It looked like a great place for wine/drinks and small plates; although there were many great large plates. There were three of us in our party so we decided to begin with a cocktail and a couple of appetizers. We did a cheese plate and the calamari, which were both outstanding. For dinner we ordered a couple of large plates and some small plates/sides. It was plenty for us and delicious. Dessert was not to be missed.
We sat upstairs(2 flights) in the bar area. The main dining was also upstairs(1 flight). I think I would recommend sitting near a window, which had wonderful views and in the main dining room.
The waitress we had gave us suggestions and all were good ones. She was pleasant and patient with us.
It wasn't cheap, but we tried a good amount of dishes and each had a couple of cocktails.
Great choice!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EllenK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, Essex, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“fab meal”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Wow, we had a really amazing evening here on a recent trip to Newport on a whirlwind tour of New england for my 40th birthday. Fluke was recommended by our Innkeeper at the Ivy Lodge, he said it was his favourite restaurant in Newport and wow we were not disappointed.The views from the restaurant are amazing at night. The food was wonderful and we had a great waitress who made really informed suggestions. the meal was amazing and the 'goats cheesecake' was to die for. reeally stunning modern american food for a decent price. great service and fab location. even followed up the waitress' recommendation for a bar after and had a continued great night at perrosalado with margeritas to die for. Go to Fluke.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsP05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Connecticut
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Food and drinks are out of this world. We sat at the bar and had a sample menu, WOW this place is outstanding! Rabbit and oysters are a must. Great place to take your wife or date. Will come again. Everything is great!!! Just show up and have a great time!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fluke Wine Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing