We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stumbled upon a great find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gas Lamp Grille

The Gas Lamp Grille
Ranked #61 of 232 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stumbled upon a great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stumbled across this place as we crossed the street onto Thames St. We stopped in and got the lobster quesadilla and the lobster Mac and cheese. Both were fantastic! Our waitress was great and a cool atmosphere if you're looking for somewhere casual to grab a bite to eat! Definitely worth a stop in!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Galbanese88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    91
    50
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food And Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience! Fabulous food and superb service from the very kind, welcoming hostess to a great waiter. We had the crab cakes and clam chowder as appetizers. The crab cakes were loved by all 8 members of our table, which included some finicky children. The clam chowder is a different variation from the typical NE clam chowder, a little spice, but very tasty! Everyone loved their dishes. I had the Surf N Turf, with scallops. It was absolutely delicious! My husband loved the baked cod. The chicken parmigiana was enjoyed as was the Tuscan pasta by others at our table. Having traveled around the world, we tend to find many restaurants, even with rave reviews as disappointments. This was a gem to find! We will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TxAgE94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just bad, bad, food and service.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I would never visit this restaurant again, the food and the service were terrible...never again! Do not waste your money and time, is expensive and the quality and taste of the food is really bad.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Turista03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Family of 4 had dinner here on a Saturday night.

Food was excellent. I had the warm pear salad with grilled shrimp--generous portion, fresh spinach, and they didn't skimp on the "good stuff"--cranberries, goat cheese, caramelized walnut, and of course the grilled pear. The raspberry dressing was chock full of raspberries. Also excellent. My husband had the wasabi tuna wrap, which he also enjoyed. Kids both had pizza, and both gobbled them right up. A side of french fries turned out to be a large plate of the stuff.

Kitchen was busy, so our food didn't come out super fast, but it was not bad. Our server was excellent and very responsive.

The only negative is that the place was a bit loud for us. Nevertheless, a great dining experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelswithbabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
127 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good food. Horrible service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Came here for dinner with my husband on our last night in town. We had been here on our last visit for the first time and couldn't get over how great it was. Unfortunately this visit was not perfect. Took 15 minutes for the waitress to acknowledge us, got water with an ant floating in it, the waitress forgot my husbands order even though she did seem to write our order down, she forgot to order my clam chowder, then never came back over to the table. The food was good. Steak tips and pizza. The chowder is also very good with a hint of spice. Another waiter and the food runner were the only people who were there to help us when we needed water or napkins. I'm disappointed in our dinner here and I'm not sure if we will be back again. We did complain and it doesn't seem to be cared about.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gas Lamp Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Gas Lamp Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing