We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

The Gas Lamp Grille
Ranked #61 of 239 Restaurants in Newport
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Weymouth, MA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I went with my husband and 11 year old son. My son had the chicken fingers and fries and he thought the fries were out of this world! My husband had shrimp scampi he said it was very good but a small portion. He ended up helping my son finish his meal. I had the chicken parmesean and it was great. We had a great table. The wall/doors open up to the street and we had a table there. Great for people watching and there was a nice breeze! The waitress was very nice. We would go here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    103
    51
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

The Lobster pizza was awful, worst pizza I've ever tasted. Tuna blackened was fine.

Don't waste your money!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gjordani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“wonderful meal”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a wonderful meal here, we started with calamari which was good but I preferred the calamari at Diego's. My husband ordered the coconut shrimp which was very good. For dinner he had the cajun alfredo with chicken and I had the creamy pestp pasta, also with chicken. We will definitely go back. The only improvement might be to serve some bread with dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is a really great place. We had an awesome waiter and the food was delicious! The tuna steak (ordered blacked) was the BEST we've had. The veggie burger was out of this world as well. It's a nice atmosphere as the front of the restaurant was opened with the breeze coming through.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eyesforplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The chowda, oh yummy!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I've eaten here twice. The clam chowder is one of the best I've ever had!!!! The service is good, and it has a nice atmosphere. I've also ordered the fish and chips. While nothing will ever beat Argyle's Fish and Chips in Kearny, NJ, these weren't that bad, but they could have been cooked a little longer. They were not under cooked, I just like a crisp batter on fish and chips. Definitely try the chowder if you go here.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gas Lamp Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Gas Lamp Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing