We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Weekend Ever!”
Review of Hilltop Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilltop Inn
Ranked #10 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Weekend Ever!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had a wedding in Newport and most of the guests stayed at the Viking or Vanderbilt Grace. We took all five rooms at The Hilltop Inn for ourselves, and some family and friends. It was the best decision! Besides the perfect location and lovely breakfast room, the Inn is beautiful with wonderful, homey, rooms and fabulously updated bathrooms. Two of the rooms, including our suite, had terraces as well.
What makes the place real special is the innkeeper, Liz, who not only makes you feel so welcome, but provides exquisite breakfasts, tasty snacks, and looks out for all the little things. She also ranks as the greatest "concierge" having flawlessly arranged for trolleys and vans for rehearsal and wedding transport, and providing perfect tips for food and drinks.
Liz and the hilltop are the best in Newport!

Room Tip: The rooms on Kay Street side have terraces, with the smaller one attached to the Bellevue Suite. Lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilltop Inn N, General Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thanks, Steve, for the review... We all are so glad you enjoyed your son's wedding weekend!! It was a pleasure having you and your family - so happy that your weekend turned out the way you wanted it to :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
84
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is an upscale experience from the decor to the linens and the bathrooms. The fresh baked chocolate chip cookies were a nice touch. Liz, the innkeeper, made us feel totally at home. We plan to stay here often.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13Patty13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilltop Inn N, General Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time at the Hilltop and will be back.... we look forward to having you again!! and of course we'll have plenty of cookies ready for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Room was wonderful with comfortable beds and a beautiful bathroom. We had a little deck off of our room which was a pleasant surprise. Service couldn't have been better! We had to leave a little early, but the innkeeper couldn't have been more accommodating and generous with trying to get us breakfast. Definitely will stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 123newport1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilltop Inn N, General Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
So glad you had a good time.... we look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2014

What a find! Hilltop is an exceptional experience in Newport. My room was perfect and the oversized marble bath with modern amenities was wonderful. I especially enjoyed the Breakfast which included the best homemade Banana bread I have ever had and locally roasted coffee with cream from a local dairy. Yum

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TR1420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilltop Inn N, General Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
So glad you enjoyed our local goods.... we take pride in supporting our island and those nearby! look forward to having you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
2 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2014

First time staying in a B&B all I can say is amazing. Classic Inn in a great location. Rooms were clean,comfortable & very well done. Breakfast & service - outstanding! Already planning our next stay.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter which room you choose - they are all beautiful. Bathrooms are awesome - jacuzzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilltop Inn N, General Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thanks so much for your great feedback.... we look forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Had to come to Newport for a long weekend for work. Had a great stay at the Hilltop. The place is in a great location, love the atmosphere, and the staff is great!
We always had great coffee every morning & terrific breakfast! Will not hesitate to come back for my next trip.

Room Tip: Can't remember the name of my room, but it had a great deck and overlooked the street/parking ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilltop Inn N, General Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Don - we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Newport, even if it was for work reasons! we hope you'll join us on your next business or personal trip.... thanks so much for taking time to review your stay.... Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2014

First of all, what a lovely building, landscaping and appointments within the Inn. The rooms were very spacious and THE BATHROOMS!!!! Wonderful!! You could stay there all day.

The staff was accommodating and warm. We had breakfast there - the banana bread was delicious and served in such an inviting manner. What a lovely get-away spot.

Convenient to the sites in and around Newport. You would be missing a wonderful experience if you didn't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilltop Inn N, Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you, Sylvia! We're so glad you had a good time in Newport and hope to see you again soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#8 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn

Property: Hilltop Inn
Address: 2 Kay St, Newport, RI 02840-2942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilltop Inn, Newport, Rhode Island's finest historic inn. Offering an exacting standard of luxury service in a fabulous central location, Hilltop combines the elegant sophistication of a bygone age coupled with the most modern appointments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hilltop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing