We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary weekend”

Sailing Excursions Adirondack II
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our spacious 80' pilot schooner can take as many as 57 guests sailing on Narragansett Bay. During the summer months we go out 5 times daily, starting at 11 AM, for 1.5 hour sails. Our boat is Coast Guard certified and equipped with 2 rest rooms. Sit back, relax and enjoy the quiet beauty of the coastal scenery while the wind fills the sails.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Anniversary weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

What an amazing sail boat. The crew was super friendly. The captain let my husband sail for a short while(he was in heaven). Thanks again for a great relaxing ride, we will be back next year!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lissette20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen V, Manager at Sailing Excursions Adirondack II, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
So glad we could be part of your anniversary weekend! We love letting our guests steer the boat, under the guidance of our captain. Our season is over for this year and the boat is headed back to Albany. But we hope you will join us again next summer. We're in Newport from Mother's Day till Columbus Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    59
    8
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great crew, beautiful and relaxing way to see Newport. I would certainly recommend to anyone visiting the area for the first time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen V, Manager at Sailing Excursions Adirondack II, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
I am so pleased you had a good trip on our boat. Sailing is such a wonderful way to see Newport from a different perspective. Our season has ended for this year, but we hope you'll come visit us next season. We operate from Mother's Day to Columbus Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect activity in Newport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Even though we were on a large cruise ship when we visited Newport, taking a spin around the Narragansett Bay on a late morning "Mimosa" sail was an absolute highlight. The boat was immaculate and the crew was delightful; they even let my 5-yr-old granddaughter take the helm!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen V, Manager at Sailing Excursions Adirondack II, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
I am so glad you and your family had a good time on our boat. We love letting our guests steer the boat, because the smiles on their faces just won't go away. And that seems particularly true for the children! Hope if you're back in Newport, you'll sail with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Bridges, NJ
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cruising with the adirondack II”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I took the Sept. 7 PM 1.5 hour cruise aboard the adiroudack II, out of Newport RI. This was an experience like no other, there was a 12-14knot wind, and with the sails up, we were moving along at 13-15 knots, with the water you could reach out and touch. The seasoned crew knew exactly how th handle the schooner. It was without a doubt the highlight of my visit. Congrads. and keep up the good work. I'm already looking forward to my next visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dewey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Public Relations Manager at Sailing Excursions Adirondack II, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
So glad that you enjoyed your evening sail on the Adirondack II under full sail. Our season is over for this year and the boat is in Albany. But we look forward to having you join us again next summer in 2014. We're in Newport from Mother's Day till Columbus Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunday Morning Sail!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Lovely Sunday morning sail, the all "gal" crew were amazing! Although it was a cloudy day, we still saw a lot and although we have been to Newport many times, this was the first time seeing some of the sights from the water.

Fun for all ages!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CelSue89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen V, Manager at Sailing Excursions Adirondack II, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Our morning mimosa sails are certainly a popular choice. And we are really pleased to have such capable women as captains and crew. In fact, although Rachael was the captain in charge, the two female crew are also captains! Thanks so much for your review, and hope we see you next season in Newport on the Adirondack II.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sailing Excursions Adirondack II also viewed

 

Been to Sailing Excursions Adirondack II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing