We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly great hotel.”
Review of Grace Vanderbilt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grace Vanderbilt
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A truly great hotel.”
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We just returned from two nights at the Vanderbilt and loved it there. The hotel is beautiful like described in all the prior reviews and the staff is excellent. We brought along our 19 month old son and had no problems with him. The staff brought us a crib and got it all set up for us. The room was huge and had a nice separate sitting area which was perfect for him to sleep in. We were able to enjoy the new outdoor pool and had it all to ourselves. We had breakfast outside one morning and the food was very tasty. We also met the owner who seemed like a wonderful man and a gracious host. Now my only complaint would be the room service. I'm still not sure if it's offered at the hotel? It is listed on the website and in some paperwork we had seen but when I inquired twice I was told that it is not offered. We would have loved to ordered in. Other than that no problems and we will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RS86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    91
    35
    14
    6
See reviews for
112
358
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2010

I've been coming to Newport,R.I. for more than 30 years, but never had a chance to stay at this beautiful hotel. The location is perfect for going to all the great Newport mansions (5-10 minutes drive) or simply walk to all popular restaurants on the waterfront. Elegantly decorated spacious rooms, excellent spa with first-rate care and a terrific in-door swimming pool helped so much in my intense schedule at the Newport Music Festival as an artist.. My whole family enjoyed always friendly & helpful stuff, and a delicious restaurant and the breakfast room.
It certainly enhanced my Newport Experience and I look forward to many more visits there in the future.
Dmitry Sitkovetsky

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torpedo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

I can't wait to stay here again! Each of the times I've stayed here, I've had an even better experience. The rooms are gorgeous and each one is very unique, the staff is great and the amenities are wonderful - especially the addition of the new pool this year - it's one of the few luxury hotels in Newport that is within walking distance to town. I can't say enough great things about this hotel!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NYUgradgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mclean,va
Level Contributor
135 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

I have been to the best hotels in the world and the service here was the best ever. My wife and I were astonished at the friendliness, the attention to detail and the way that the staff went out of its way to accommodate everything and anything we wanted.

The General Manager went out of his way to resolve an issue we had with a chauffeur company and it really wasn't even his problem! Amazing, I have never been so impressed with any hotel anywhere on the planet like I was with this one.

If you are going to Newport, RI, don't miss this place!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KcR1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Just returned from Newport. I can't say enough about this hotel. The furnishings, artwork, ambiance ....are unrivaled. In addition the staff could not have been more attentive, the room was high end, spotless, and the location is steps away from Thames St. From the outside , you would never know this was a hotel; on the inside you feel like you just walked into a museum of American Art Illustrations. It manages to be very elegant and comfortable at the same time. One of the nicest hotel experiences I have ever had.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

My wife and I have stayed in a lot of hotels in a lot of cities. This is undoubtedly one of the most beautiful hotels, with some of the best service, of any place we have ever stayed. This hotel is a hidden gem. The service of James and the whole staff could not have been better or friendlier. The hotel is beautiful and filled with artwork, the breakfast was delicious in a gorgeous conservatory and the rooms was beautifully decorated. It was obvious that their reason for living was for our stay at their hotel to be our best hotel experience ever. They succeeded.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank immerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2010

The Vanderbilt Hall Hotel was very accommodating to us when we decided to take our seven month old daughter on her first trip. We wanted something comfortable, pleasant, and relaxing. We weren't looking to spend a ton of money, and you may ask why we would then consider Newport and the Vanderbilt Hall, but for the price, for the time we went, we thought it worth a shot and worth the treat. While it may have been exceptional circumstances, as we were there mid-week in late March, it was lousy weather, and it was certainly not a busy time for Newport, Jeff, the on-call manager, treated us as a regular, and the staff was attentive to us at every end. His area recommendations were very helpful. The hotel itself is remarkably clean, as it has been completely redone, and the pool and sauna were a joy to spend time in. The fitness center is small. Our suite was spacious, with lofty ceilings and windows and was very open and naturally lit. It is elegantly charming, sophisticated, and in some regards, slightly extravagant. Monty's was a perfect choice for breakfast, their applewood smoked bacon sticks in my memory as the best I've ever tasted. The service there, as well, was nothing less than exceptional. I can only hope that they remain open to the public, as they are looking to become a private members club, and as a young parent that drives an old Honda, I'm probably not part of their usual, or summer, clientele.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StainedSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Vanderbilt

Property: Grace Vanderbilt
Address: 41 Mary St, Newport, RI 02840-3027 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grace Vanderbilt 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grace Vanderbilt is a quintessential Newport mansion with 33 guest rooms and suites, full service spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, fitness center, roof terrace with amazing views of Newport Harbor and two restaurants. Experience our newly renovated, elegant restaurant Muse or enjoy casual a la carte dining at The Conservatory, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grace Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Grace Hotel Newport
Vanderbilt Hall Newport
Hotel Vanderbilt Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing