We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Grace Vanderbilt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grace Vanderbilt
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We arrived and were greeted with champagne on arrival. I had wanted to stay at this hotel very much when planning our holiday, I was not disappointed.
When we were shown to our room if was very snug (small) and overlooked the courtyard. The room was well furnished and very well laid out but for our liking too snug. I called down to reception and explained my concerns and the manager was immediately with us. We were shown to another suite and we agreed to pay the up grade for the larger room with a seating area.
Staff through-out our staff were attentive and knew us by name. Breakfast was good and waiting staff very helpful.
The hotel is just a short walk away from the centre of Newport. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
There are newer reviews for Grace Vanderbilt
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 620 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

Centrally located but still removed enough from the bustle of Thames Street. Wonderful helpful staff, relaxing and tasteful setting, peaceful gardens. The Muse restaurant is eloquent with a menu that is pleasing to the eye as it is to the palette, The chef has a gift for both subtle and complex spices and pairing of offerings that are noteworthy. The Conservatory offers a less formal but relaxing venue. The rooftop bar and deck a perfect place to catch the sunset or read the paper in the morning

The complimentary breakfast is not a Spartan "continental" breakfast, rather, it is tasteful, fresh, produce and baked goods.

While the weekend rates are high, it is more than worth it. Tip, the weekday rates are considerably less. You must have the smoked lobster appetizer with a glass of champagne. Just go.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The welcoming and gracious staff, the lovely garden, the perfect location. Worth the price to stay in the midst of colonial-era Newport, within steps of Maya Lin's Queen Anne's Place, down the street from the Touro Synagogue, within earshot of the waterfront. All of this in a beautifully maintained architectural gem. Pools--both indoor and outdoor--are most welcomed during the hot and humid summer days. The only down sides are: smoking is allowed on the roof-top deck and room's a/c is incredibly noisy (making it nearly impossible to get a good nights sleep even with ear-plugs). Am fearful the Grace group's corporate concepts will diminish the exceptional service and joie de vivre of the staff!

Room Tip: Rooms in original Vanderbilt mansion have higher ceilings and are more accommodating. However, these...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaGrace, General Manager at Grace Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear GC,

Thank you for your generous feedback following your stay.

We are glad to hear that our team members looked after you and you particularly enjoyed our location. I’m sorry that you found the air conditioning noisy – this is something we are going to address in due course. I would like to reassure you that the Grace Hotels experience is very much about warm, personalized service (as you experienced) and celebrating the individuality of each of our boutique hotels and the destinations in which they are located. We pride ourselves on not being a corporate chain and have no intention of implementing the concepts about which you express concern. We very much hope you will come and visit us again soon in Newport.

Kind regards,

Marina Aslanidou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We'll worth the prices. Wonderful three night stay in a clean, well appointed hotel. Standouts were the staff in all areas, especially front desk staff and valets. Roof top bar is a must for the view. Delicious lunch in garden. Complimentary breakfast is very very nice. We had loft suite with circular staircase and private door to rooftop bar.

Only downfall was the noise in this suite - rooftop bar door slams from 4-10. Conversations of guests while waiting for rooftop bar elevator were heard clearly in our room. And the emergency exit door at the other side slams from 730am thru all day. Naps or sleeping in were impossible. However, all other staff and amenities made up for this.

Will stay again only if guarantee these doors are fixed and that other rooms don't have the noise issues.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AdventuresTogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Spent a long weekend at the Vanderbilt Grace with my wife and toddler. Vanderbilt Grace lived up to the other reviews on TripAdvisor. We had a fantastic and relaxing time. Our room was impeccably clean (and very big), and the staff was warm and attentive. We particularly appreciated how welcoming the staff was to our toddler (who is just getting the hang of staying in hotels and using his inside voice!). We ate breakfast every morning (and dinner one evening) in the Conservatory, which had great service and food.

The hotel really was close to everything -- a few blocks from Thames street, and easy drive to the mansions, etc. Given that we drove to most places (it rained during our stay), we relied pretty heavily on the valets, all of whom were enthusiastic and very accommodating. Couldn't have picked a better place.

My one constructive feedback was that it felt a little excessive for the hotel to charge for parking when the rooms are already so expensive. Kind of puts a damper on the good feelings when you check out. Also, when we asked for a sparkling water at checkout (they gave us complimentary bottles when we checked in and a couple of times during our stay), they tried to charge it to the room. Again, given that we just paid several thousand dollars it seemed a little penny wise and pound foolish to try to charge us for the water.

Overall, though, I want to reiterate that this is the premier hotel in Newport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank NYCwestsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My girlfriend and I had dinner at the Vanderbilt Grace (Garden Terrace) during a summer weekend. The MOST impressive thing about this hotel is the staff. Everything regarding the service was perfect. The staff is young but they are extremely professional and well trained. Honestly, whoever trained these employees deserves a lot of recognition! Food (Salmon & Crab Cakes) and drinks were prepared to perfection and the atmosphere was elegant. After the sun went down, the staff wrapped us in comfortable white blankets and turned on the gas fireplace to keep us warm. On our way out, the manager gave us a friendly tour of their penthouse suite that overlooks Newport Harbor. Upon exiting the hotel, the doormen greeted us by our last names. How did they know?! Lastly, don’t forget to check out the view from the rooftop bar!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights midweek in June. What a wonderful stay. The staff is so helpful and attentive and the location is extremely convenient to downtown Newport. We were in room 312, overlooking the patio and next to the elevator. It was a great room - big in size and quiet which is just what we wanted. The mattress was a bit soft for our taste but that's personal preference. The champagne breakfast was very nice (included in our rate) and our hot stone massage at the spa was pretty good. Overall we had a great stay thanks to the Vanderbilt Grace!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank nycworldtraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,036 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
670 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Vanderbilt

Address: 41 Mary St, Newport, RI 02840-3027 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $476 - $1,081 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grace Vanderbilt 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grace Vanderbilt is a quintessential Newport mansion with 33 guest rooms and suites, full service spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, fitness center, roof terrace with amazing views of Newport Harbor and two restaurants. Experience our newly renovated, elegant restaurant Muse or enjoy casual a la carte dining at The Conservatory, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grace Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Grace Hotel Newport
Vanderbilt Hall Newport
Hotel Vanderbilt Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing