We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior service”
Review of Grace Vanderbilt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grace Vanderbilt
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superior service”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights midweek in June. What a wonderful stay. The staff is so helpful and attentive and the location is extremely convenient to downtown Newport. We were in room 312, overlooking the patio and next to the elevator. It was a great room - big in size and quiet which is just what we wanted. The mattress was a bit soft for our taste but that's personal preference. The champagne breakfast was very nice (included in our rate) and our hot stone massage at the spa was pretty good. Overall we had a great stay thanks to the Vanderbilt Grace!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank nycworldtraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    91
    35
    14
    6
See reviews for
112
358
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel, it is absolutely breathtaking. Every aspect of our stay was A++++
The staff is super friendly and helpful with their recommendations for restaurant and sites to see...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife and I decided to take a long weekend in Newport with our two little boys, so I booked the Vanderbilt Grace based on reviews I had seen online. It was a spectacular stay. The staff is young, energetic, accommodating and professional - yet also experienced. Quite a balance. The hotel is beautiful, with a wonderful restaurant and a nice rooftop bar. Location is great. As an experienced traveler, I can not say enough wonderful things about this hotel.

Room Tip: We booked one of the loft rooms and loved it. Not much of a view as the windows were small, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield,CT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed at the Vanderbilt Grace with our children. What a wonderful experience. From the service to the decor to the food, top notch. Would return again in a heartbeat!! Perfect location and our junior suite had all the amenities. The kids felt like royalty!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Vanderbilt Grace is a real gem. The building is absolutely beautiful, giving you a royal feel as you enter. Not to be missed is the Conservatory, where it is a real delight to enjoy a meal with a nice glass of sparkling wine.
The service is outstanding, the food truly memorable, the rooms (I stayed in a VIP suite) clean, cozy and well appointed, and finally the view from the rooftop terrace is the perfect spot to enjoy the delicious Grace cocktail on a Summer night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gil1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Vanderbilt Grace in Newport, RI was a fabulous experience. From check-in to check-out the staff, food, accommodations, and amenities were spectacular. Our room (jr. suite) was large and very well appointed, quiet, and extremely comfortable (best shower head ever!).The maid service was prompt but never pushy; breakfast in the Conservatory was delicious with plenty of options; the spa was excellent with staff that made you feel like you were the only customer; and an unexpected dinner sitting in the bar turned out to be a highlight meal of the entire weekend. The Vanderbilt Grace is in easy walking distance to the Wharf and stores, so we never had to use our car the entire time! When visiting Newport, this is the place to stay! Rick S

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the harbor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunenberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

After visiting three times Mykonos Grace we stayed at the Vanderbilt. We travel with our dog and we never experienced such a pet friendly hotel before. Nice stuff, great food at the Muse, located perfectly to visit Newport.

Room Tip: book a room to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Vanderbilt

Property: Grace Vanderbilt
Address: 41 Mary St, Newport, RI 02840-3027 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grace Vanderbilt 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grace Vanderbilt is a quintessential Newport mansion with 33 guest rooms and suites, full service spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, fitness center, roof terrace with amazing views of Newport Harbor and two restaurants. Experience our newly renovated, elegant restaurant Muse or enjoy casual a la carte dining at The Conservatory, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grace Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Grace Hotel Newport
Vanderbilt Hall Newport
Hotel Vanderbilt Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing