We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful personal service”
Review of Grace Vanderbilt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grace Vanderbilt
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
dartmouth, ma
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“wonderful personal service”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I stayed at the Vanderbilt Grace for a birthday treat. They were so very attentive to everything one needs for a nice hotel stay. I had a fabulous room, upgraded from my reservation, spacious, comfortable bed, with a great roof top view of Newport. The spa, pool, and gym were clean, pleasant and easily accessed from the locker rooms. We ate at the Muse, I would highly recommend. the food and presentation were amazing. The hotel is located in the center of Newport, walking distance to majority of the sights, shopping and restaurants. I would absolutely go back again. Newport is enjoyable both in winter and summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trish585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    91
    35
    14
    6
See reviews for
112
358
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stratham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
168 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We just returned from a wonderful stay at this top-notch property in charming and lovely Newport, Rhode Island. The hotel has all the right touches: great service (very attentive without being overbearing), terrific atmosphere, great food and a perfect location right in the center of town. You can walk all over Newport. We visited the Touro Synagogue and Marble House, the Vanderbilt Mansion. We had champagne and cheese in our room, which is always a really nice touch. (And it's good champagne, not Korbel!) The amenities are definitely top drawer -- Dean & DeLuca snacks, Penhaglion products in the large and well appointed bathroom. A great choice for a charming town!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Vanderbilt Grace on our recent visit to Newport. The hotel is small enough to feel intimate, but not so small as to invade your sense of privacy.

We stayed in a junior suite on the third floor. Overall, the room was nice. Initially, the room felt a bit uncomfortable because of the odd angles caused by the roof line. But, once we got used to that, the room felt very cozy. One minor knock on the room is that the carpet could stand an update.

While it didn't bother me too much, light sleepers (like my wife) should avoid this room. The roof/room was very loud when the wind blew during the night. (And, I don't think it was a particularly windy night the night that we stayed.)

The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the dining and shopping along the historic wharfs.

We ended our stay on a high note enjoying a truly excellent champagne breakfast.

The staff at the Vanderbilt delivered from when we arrived until when we left. We really appreciated the small things, like the valet leaving us a couple of bottles of water for the road when he brought the car around when we were leaving.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Service: We mentioned it was our anniversary while book through Jetsetter.com. The hotel prepared an entire champagne cheese spread in our room to kickoff our celebration weekend. Every staff member was awesome and treated us so nice. They even set up a fire for us in the fireplace. 100% best service ever!
Room: Our suite was HUGE! The high ceilings make it feel even bigger. I loved the k-cups.
Spa: I had a wonderful massage in the morning. It was great
Breakfast Buffet: The breakfast buffet was great and we added on an omelet.
Rooftop: The rooftop has a great view of Newport harbor. The sunset was breathtaking.
Previously, we stayed at the Ocean House and the Vanderbilt definitely has same type of service. 5 star hands down!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite! It was so luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmr05006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We just came back from a one-night stay at the Vanderbilt Grace and thoroughly enjoyed it. The service was top-notch and very friendly. We were welcomed with a glass of champagne. Our room was nicely furnished and the bathroom was spacious. We took advantage of the car service the hotel offered to take us to a wedding and we were driven in a very nice Mercedes sedan. The complimentary continental breakfast was brought to our room and was also very tasty and came with a glass of champagne. Their orange juice was very delicious as well! I would highly recommend staying here also because of the location. We were able to walk down to Thames St within a minute. Definitely check this place out!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Petsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

As a frequent traveler (business and pleasure), I have many points of comparison and the Vanderbilt Grace is, without fail, the best service I have received in 2013.
My husband and I had originally planned to go in October to celebrate our anniversary, but a family emergency forced us to reschedule. The hotel was extremely accommodating and allowed us to defer to the Christmas period.
From the moment we stepped foot on the property on Christmas Eve, the staff could not have been more helpful: we had the help we needed to offload our luggage and were greeted by a glass of bubbly - the perfect start our trip. The local tips and advice were also spot on.
One night, we came back to our room to a bottle of champagne on ice. compliments of the hotel.
While it's not the most glamorous or luxurious hotel or resort in Newport, the Vanderbilt Grace is in an excellent central location with ample parking. The suites are comfortable and well appointed with the amenities you'd expect.
The breakfast is fresh and delicious and room service is speedy. The conservatory restaurant is good, not great. But Newport is full of excellent eateries, so that's not a real issue.
Above all, the staff are the ones who make a stay at this hotel notable. JiaYi, Pete, Brandon are true gems and we are grateful to them for making our visit memorable and special.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyc345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

While my husband and I did not stay at the Vanderbilt, we did have the pleasure of attending the sugar cookie decorating class with pastry chef Rachel. The whole experience was amazing! The staff offered hot cocoa (delicious! ), mulled wine, water, and coffee to the 16 decorators. There were an assortment of cookie shapes, and Rachel took requests for specific shapes and baked them on the spot. She even showed us how to make the hot chocolate after we expressed how much we liked it. Rachel clearly loves what she does and her enthusiasm and professionalism are to be commended. We can't wait to do it again and are hopeful similar classes will be offered in the future.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alicia4134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Vanderbilt

Property: Grace Vanderbilt
Address: 41 Mary St, Newport, RI 02840-3027 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grace Vanderbilt 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grace Vanderbilt is a quintessential Newport mansion with 33 guest rooms and suites, full service spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, fitness center, roof terrace with amazing views of Newport Harbor and two restaurants. Experience our newly renovated, elegant restaurant Muse or enjoy casual a la carte dining at The Conservatory, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grace Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Grace Hotel Newport
Vanderbilt Hall Newport
Hotel Vanderbilt Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing