We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Very Nice"”
Review of Grace Vanderbilt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grace Vanderbilt
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was my first trip to the Vanderbilt Grace as my girlfriend took me here for my birthday. The hotel was lovely with a great location.. The rooms were beautiful and the roof deck bar spectacular.
I thought the breakfast was very good, but the dinner was good, but not great. I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: 209 was an upgraded room and very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 631 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is my second time staying at the Vanderbilt grace. The exercise room could be update and as i wrote last year there should be wipes to wipe down equipment. The hotel employs summer interns that could use a little polishing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Great location in historic area and walkable to harbour. Thoughtful and friendly staff. Lovely room. Wonderful beds. Fantastic food. Wonderful views from bar on roof top which were worth the trip in itself. Breakfast wasn't overly generous, and disappointing that the full breakfast wasn't included in the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

went to this hotel on a friends suggestion with no idea what to expect. first rate everything - from the staff that can't do enough to help you enjoy your stay, to the beautiful roof top, to the clean comfortable rooms. location is perfect - walking distance to town, food, shops, cliff walk, mansions.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingwithfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel is tucked away on a side street near the waterfront and short blocks from shopping area and restaurants. The staff is wonderful and it makes for an oasis. We had a corner room, so one view was significantly better than the other. There is an indoor pool which is a nice amenity for an exercise option. We ate at the restaurant, which was really great. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were high enough up that it was not critical, but one side overlooked the parking lot. We also h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

As a previous Tripadvisor wrote, this hotel seems to be employing "sincere summer interns"! It's not that these kids are a negative, it's just that their youthful inexperience could use a little polishing. The hotel charges top dollar, but it has flaws that prevent it from being top notch...
1. Carpets in hallway are showing lots of wear
2. House cleaning cleaned our room well, but the final touches were overlooked ( pillows laying on top of made up bed but not at the head, more at the middle area--- almost like housekeeper was called away mid service. A small bunch of grapes was left as an arrival gift, we didn't eat them. The grapes were left sitting on the table the entire 3 night stay.
3. Bathroom was exceedingly small. The shower curtain encroached on toilet. Toilet paper holder set so low to ground that paper was touching ground. No shelf for toiletry bag to be placed.
The good...
The staff were extremely sincere and tried very hard to please... Especially the valet guys!
The location is great!
Use Tripadvisor coupon to save on valet parking
Breakfast was healthy and lovely
All in all, I would stay here again... If the price were more commiserate with the quality

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaGrace, General Manager at Grace Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Lindz3,

Thank you for your review.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, though sad that we were not able to deliver to perfection. This is of course what we strive for and appreciate your comments to help us improve.

We look forward to the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Marina Aslanidou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel was lovely and the staff was friendly and very accommodating. Our room was comfortable and clean. Very quiet. The bed was comfortable and we enjoyed the chocolates that were left for us each night. If I had to suggest something the hotel could improve upon, it would be two things. First, I would suggest that the front desk staff not use google when asked for a place to eat or what to do on Block Island. We had already searched google and yelp, but wanted a suggestion from someone local. They put forth the effort, but they just repeated something we already know how to do. Secondly, the restaurant, The Muse, inside the hotel is excellent. However, if I'm willing to spend a large sum on dinner, it would have been nice to not share those 2 1/2 hours sitting near a 4 yr old who whined and was concerned about the color of his grilled cheese or the shape of his pasta. I'm not sure what the answer is, but if I was to eat there again, I might try and find out if any young children would be dining. The restaurant is small, so there is no way to escape an over-wrought, over-tired 4 yr old boy. With that said, I would definitely stay here again. Definitely one of the better hotels I have stayed at.

Room Tip: We had a junior sweet that faced the front of the hotel. It was very quiet. Check out the roof top d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike1295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,125 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Vanderbilt

Address: 41 Mary St, Newport, RI 02840-3027 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $360 - $826 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grace Vanderbilt 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grace Vanderbilt is a quintessential Newport mansion with 33 guest rooms and suites, full service spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, fitness center, roof terrace with amazing views of Newport Harbor and two restaurants. Experience our newly renovated, elegant restaurant Muse or enjoy casual a la carte dining at The Conservatory, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grace Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Grace Hotel Newport
Vanderbilt Hall Newport
Hotel Vanderbilt Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing