We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next stop, Newport”
Review of Grace Vanderbilt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grace Vanderbilt
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Next stop, Newport”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Vanderbilt Grace was a perfect weekend getaway from the hustle of NYC during the summer months. My husband and I mistakenly booked a room at the Viking Hotel, which was an awful choice. After calling every five star hotel in Newport, Hannah at the Grace offered us a last minute cancellation - we are so glad that we took her up on it. The environment is relaxing and warm, with elegant decor and comfortable seating areas both inside and out. We enjoyed the comfortable room (even the basic room sufficed) and the delicious cuisine. The champagne breakfast was the perfect touch, and we enjoyed drinks on the rooftop watching the sunset.The hotel is located perfectly in the center of town, close to all of the attractions at the wharf, the mansions, and the famed cliff walk. Yet, it offers a quiet respite from the rest of the city. I spent one afternoon just lounging by the pool and enjoying the sunshine (a staff member ran to buy me suncreen when I asked if they had any). The staff clearly is willing to go the extra mile to make your stay memorable. Thank you to Allison, Sarah, and the rest of the team for a great experience.

Room Tip: 312 had a nice view overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyBren85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    92
    35
    14
    6
See reviews for
113
360
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Spent a couple of nights at the Vanderbilt Grace with my family last week. The service was excellent starting from the glass of champagne at check in. The room was a loft arrangement, which my kids loved and they quickly claimed the loft, leaving my wife and I on the sofa bed! My wife would have preferred a room on 1 level. The hotel is well located for the main sights and attractions in Newport. It has an indoor pool, which we used.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed at the Vanderbilt Grace for two nights and had a perfect time. The location is in walking distance to the shops and wharves of Newport just of Thames Street. The building itself was built by a Vanderbilt and retains all the historic charm and elegance while boasting of fresh furnishings and all modern amenities. Additionally, the hotel boasts perhaps the best rooftop in Newport with a clear view of the harbor and the town. I relaxed and read in the chairs there but it looked like an amazing place to share cocktails. My room was extremely comfortable, what struck me though was the hotel's keen attention to details. There was a handwritten greeting to me, along with other touches that elevated my stay to a new level. Yet the greatest part of the hotel is its people. All of my interactions with the staff from those at the front desk to those in the conservatory dining room were extremely positive. Each was friendly, helpful, and very pleasant to speak with. I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to visit the Newport area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBrooks17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our trip to Newport was arranged last minute. Finding a place to stay was not easy considering we are unfamiliar with the area and the numerous choices listed on line. I have stayed in The Ritz Carlton and always loved the amenities at their locations. The Vanderbilt Grace is on par with The Ritz however it is quite different in that it is quiet and unassuming. Attention to details such as pillow choices, robes, scents for your room, choices in the wet bar, are all first rate. The only difference is that The Grace is slightly more personal with out being intrusive. I highly recommend this hotel! Loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Barthelemy
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

It’s a good hotel. It is kept at high standards, very friendly staff, and has a good vibe and ambiance. Elegant.

The concierge is really outstanding, willing to help beyond the scope of industry standards. Concierge services start before the vacation, as they correspond with you before the vacation (at their own initiative) about things you’ll want to do once there. Options are presented and bookings are made, so upon your arrival you get a nice booklet with your concierge-made appointments and itinerary.

The concierge can get you into the nicest places but can also help with little things such as driving you to the laundry or hair salon. And they do it in a friendly, kind and pleasant way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaGrace, General Manager at Grace Vanderbilt, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Ron T,

It was a great pleasure to have you and your family stay with us and we are delighted to hear that you did enjoy your stay and the activities around Newport – we just wish we could have made the weather better!

Kind Regards,

Marina Aslanidou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Nice, small hotel close to all the tourist attractions...just a couple blocks from Thames. Bell service, housekeeping, and spa are not comparable to 5 star experiences, but they are fine relative to the size of the hotel. Prices however are 5 star, so be prepared to overpay relative to facilities and services of truly top properties.
Next time we will try Chanler at the cliff walk. Looks much nicer and sits above the ocean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorCalFamily31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaGrace, General Manager at Grace Vanderbilt, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear NorCalFamily31,

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us, however it is a shame that we did not learn of your experience during your stay, so that we could have tried to make it more enjoyable for you at the time. Our guests do love our intimate atmosphere and cosy nature and do not expect a full-scale resort experience. As I’m sure you know, Newport prides itself on small quintessentially New England experiences. We hope that you will continue to visit Newport; it is always a pleasure to welcome our guests back again – whether to stay, to enjoy one of our restaurants or a cocktail on the Roof-Deck.

Kind regards,
Marina Aslanidou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, CT
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have stayed all over the world and this is probably the most beautiful and luxurious place of them all. The staff is great and very helpful and the room was wonderful. The food in both the Conservatory and main dining room was superb. The location is perfect – close to so much but set on a quiet and historic side street. It has a very nice pool and exercise room and Kodi in the bar has invented some great original cocktails to start the evening with.
It may be pricy to some, but not for what you get.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaGrace, General Manager at Grace Vanderbilt, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Peter P,

Thank you for your kind remarks which I will gladly pass on the to the Grace Team.

Look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Marina Aslanidou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,014 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Vanderbilt

Property: Grace Vanderbilt
Address: 41 Mary St, Newport, RI 02840-3027 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grace Vanderbilt 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grace Vanderbilt is a quintessential Newport mansion with 33 guest rooms and suites, full service spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, fitness center, roof terrace with amazing views of Newport Harbor and two restaurants. Experience our newly renovated, elegant restaurant Muse or enjoy casual a la carte dining at The Conservatory, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grace Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Grace Hotel Newport
Vanderbilt Hall Newport
Hotel Vanderbilt Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing