We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent choice, service and location - dog friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Vanderbilt Grace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vanderbilt Grace
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent choice, service and location - dog friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

first time here and especially with funds available we would go here again. not cheap but worth it. everyone from valet, to front desk, to various other employees were nice and attentive. details were there - from glass of champagne at checkout to taking bags to rooms to dog bed/ small bowls available in room to late night we were in playing snooker and employee walked by and offered us a night cap drink. one time fee for dogs that was fairly reasonable depending on size of dog - and hotel staff that was very nice to our dog throughout our stay. only note was dog needs to be out of room or crated if housekeeping attend to room - i have no issue with that policy. i really wish i would have went to the spa and restaurant. it was so close to other newport restaurants that we walked to dinner each night. we stayed in a junior suite and the room was huge and very nicely decorated and include a wet bar area with micro/ small refrigerator. only complaint was bathroom was small and virtually had no counter space and shower was a soaking tub so quite high to step in/out - might ask next time if all junior suites had this sort of bathroom but not a deal breaker. we were on 3rd floor facing a parking lot. Room service was very nice (didn't make you feel uncomfortable getting breakfast delivered when you were just awaking) - breakfast and lunch were tasty (a bit pricey but to be expected at this quality of hotel).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wisc_mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    79
    31
    9
    5
See reviews for
101
327
19
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Grace hotel is amazing. The decor is modern and classic w a touch of old school neeport style. The staff are incredible. Service is top notch. Food is great and dinner atthe muse is always good. Always feel spoiled here. Most favorte newport htel. Location is A+

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rsollinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I dined at the restaurant here during the restaurant week and it was a great experience. The wait staff was very professional and pleasant. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was very nice accompanied by live piano music. Loved it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend getaway in newport to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Vanderbilt grace. It is the little touches that make this such a special hotel. At check-in we were immediately served a complementary glass of champagne. We stayed during newport's restaurant week, so we had one dinner and lunch included. Great deal! Breakfast is also included and consisted of a "champagne" continental breakfast in the conservatory, overlooking a courtyard. The room itself was very nice, with high thread count sheets and robes. Otherwise, it was somewhat ordinary, but clean. Only issue was the heating system which was loud when it cycled on. Not sure they could do much about that. The spa was in the basement and consisted of an indoor pool which was almost always empty, and a small workout area. The machines could use updating. Spa services were also available. My wife had the hot stone massage which she enjoyed. Location was also convenient to the newport waterfront and shopping. Short drive to the cliff walk. Don't stay here if you are looking for a luxury chain hotel, like Marriott, westin, etc. this is more like a mansion that was converted into a boutique hotel. I really cannot emphasize enough how nice and professional the hotel staff was. Overall, it was a great experience and great getaway and I cannot recommend it highly enough. We will be back...maybe for our 31st anniversary. See you there.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjkrieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed only one night, but wish we could have stayed longer! The Vanderbilt Grace has a great location. We had a lovely view from our room, which was very well appointed and very comfortable. The staff members were all very helpful and polite. A small, but very good breakfast was included with the price of our room, which was served in a charming room called the Conservatory. The hotel is also historically interesting as it was once a Newport mansion built by Alfred Vanderbilt, which was converted to the hotel. There are many historical photographs throughout the hotel and wonderful art reflective of the period. I highly recommend the Vanderbilt Grace.

Room Tip: My husband and I stayed in one of the least expensive rooms on an upper floor, which overlooked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife stayed here for 2 nights right after Hurricane Sandy. We were supposed to stay 3 nights, but had to cancel the first night because of the weather. I'm glad the hotel waived the cancellation fee due to the hurricane.

Pros:
- friendly staff
- small gym, but well equipped with a nice pool
- the included continental breakfast is decent
- the rooms are spacious and clean
- convenient location

Cons:
- the level of luxury at the hotel doesn't match the room price
- the parking is free starting Nov 1. My stay was from 10/31 to 11/1. Givn the hotel was empty during my stay, I wish they just waived the fee, which is only $18. Seems petty on their part.
- bed was softer than I'd prefer
- room was a bit warm even though it was chilly out. The AC was burdensome (a bit loud and goes on constantly to keep a certain temp)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unionville, Ct.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Vanderbilt Grace this weekend as an anniversary treat from our children. The hotel is just lovely and the staff was very professional and really aimed to please. Would certainly recommend this hotel and hope to go there again. The only negative was the smallness of the room for the price. The bed was very very comfortable and all the extras top notch, alittle more space would have made it perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NutmegUnionville_Ct_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#11 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vanderbilt Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanderbilt Grace

Property: The Vanderbilt Grace
Address: 41 Mary Street, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Vanderbilt Grace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vanderbilt Grace is a quintessential Newport mansion with 33 guest rooms and suites, full service spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, fitness center, roof terrace with amazing views of Newport Harbor and two restaurants. Muse, our newly renovated simply elegant restaurant as well as The Conservatory, our more casual a la carte restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Otel, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Vanderbilt Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Grace Hotel Newport
Vanderbilt Hall Newport
Hotel Vanderbilt Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing