We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grace Vanderbilt
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Viking(Newport)(Great Value!)
$297
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mill Street Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$499
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$355
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Attwater(Newport)(Great Value!)
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chanler at Cliff Walk(Newport)
$550
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$535
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina(Newport)(Great Value!)
$329
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
637 results
Traveler rating
483
94
38
16
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
94
38
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglass of champagneloft suiterooftop barindoor poolold mansionluxury hotelwonderful hotelthames streetgilded agehistoric buildingrhode islandlong weekendnew englandvalet parkingnewport harborbeautiful roomgreat weekend
Filter
Updating list...
433 - 438 of 637 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Noise of the air conditioner kept me up all night. This should not happen in a hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clovio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

The location and the history of the building makes this a special stay. The staff from Rachel, to Brandon, to Mathilde and Joe, helped make us welcome and our stay fantastic! We were only there for one night but it made the trip so worthwhile to have such attention paid to our comfort and enjoyment.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful property. Room was very nicely decorated with clean, modern decor- no frilly musty B&B style here. Service was friendly and helpful. Included breakfast was very nice but simple (no eggs or hot items). Very convenient location. Absolutely no complaints and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggsJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We spent two nights with our kids at the Vanderbilt for the Easter week end, and were extremely happy with our stay. The hotel is just beautiful and perfectly located, the bedrooms gorgeous, great room service which was not overpriced, amazing breakfast and great service. The staff was really very attentionnate, especially with two young kids (which is not always the case in that hotel category)... lots of little attentions that really make a difference between the classic luxury hotels and a boutique hotel in our opinion.

On the minus side: the matrass in our room was covered by a plastic protection (which you could not remove), which made it quite hot and unpleasant to sleep in and the rooms can be quite noisy if you're unlucky with the neighbours, as some have communicating doors that let all the noises pass through.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor, for the view and light.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie747474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Excellent staff, excellent rooms, great experience. Never written a TripAdvisor review before, but experience was so good, thought I would. Also, location is perfect. The breakfast was really good. The renovation made it feel very nice and modern, but still had a nice Newport classical feel. All around great weekend travel experience. Highly recommend hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews