We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grace Vanderbilt
Nearby Hotels
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina(Newport)(Great Value!)
$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Viking(Newport)(Great Value!)
$305
$263
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mill Street Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
$399
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$439
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
America's Cup Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$369
$349
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Attwater(Newport)(Great Value!)
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chanler at Cliff Walk(Newport)
$650
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$645
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
637 results
Traveler rating
483
94
38
16
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
94
38
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglass of champagneloft suiterooftop barindoor poolold mansionluxury hotelwonderful hotelthames streetgilded agehistoric buildingrhode islandlong weekendnew englandvalet parkingnewport harborbeautiful roomgreat weekend
Filter
Updating list...
500 - 505 of 637 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2011

My wife & I stayed here for 4 days towards the end of August 2011. The location is good & the staff tries hard to please. However, the concierge services need some increase in knowledgeability & professionalism (talk to the Spa lady, she knows everything). The room we stayed in was fine, but not for prices that exceed those at the very best Four Seasons hotels in the world (where we've stayed). The bathroom totally lacks storage for your toiletries, supplying a knee high etage stacked with towels & a thin glass shelf atop the pedestal sink. Also, there's no full length mirror in the room itself.
Breakfasts are very good, but coffee service needs improvement by putting insulated carafes on the table. Coffee also lacks body. Charging $18/per day for parking in a non-urban environment is insulting. The manager of the hotel is very experienced and knows about the hotel's short comings, however we only saw him once during our stay. All in all, the hotel will provide a comfortable experience, but trust me it's WAY over priced. That said, we paid for it anyway & so do others.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BBB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Well trained and attentive staff although a little slow serving breakfast. We booked the smallest rooms- they were spacious and comfortable by any standard. Lovely outdoor garden and roof top seating area, chic bar but drinks were a little expensive even for this establishment. No one was dining in the evenings when we were there, probably down to the price. I understand the owners need to keep a certain exclusivity but a slight reduction in the bar and dining prices would have detered us from venturing out of the hotel in the evenings to dine.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesleyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Not sure why the Vanderbilt is rated #1 on TripAdvisor for hotels in Newport. Based on the excellent rating, we recently spent 2 nights at this hotel in one of their deluxe rooms.

On the plus side, the hotel is in a convenient location, just off the main street but away from the crowds. Upon checkin, they give you a glass of champagne, the second time we have encountered this nice amenity. The staff was very friendly; the room was clean and spacious.

On the negative side, the bed was not comfortable. This is key to any hotel, luxury or otherwise in my book. And although the room was spacious, there were no dressers in which to store your clothes - only a small closet. In the bathroom, there was no place to leave your toiletries - only a 3-inch wide glass shelf, that the hotel filled with their items. The sink was of the pedestal type so no counter space there. The air conditioner was loud, so when it came on, you could not hear the tv unless you turned up the volume very high. There was an indoor pool and an outdoor pool but the water in each of them was not clear. This may be due to the color of the pool itself but it was not inviting. There was no whirlpool, but there was a coed sauna.

Parking was an extra $18/day. Champagne breakfast was included which was advertised as continental but included 2 hot selections each day. One day service was slow to non-existent (as in I waited for 20 minutes for a glass of juice and finally gave up) and the next day, it was excellent.

The best part of the hotel was the roof deck. From there, you could see the Newport bridge and the harbor. It was a great place to watch the sunset while drinking wine from the Newport Vineyard.

Overall, I would select a different hotel the next time we visit Newport. For the price, there are better options.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MumaRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This beautiful historic home has blossomed under new management, and we have rarely felt more welcomed. The "valued guest" reception began with the car valet who greeted us when we first arrived, and continued with every person we interacted with at the hotel, including the General Manager . From complimentary champagne in the reception lobby, to the elegant tucked away bar and billard room, to our roomy and tastefully furnished suite, to the manicured garden terrace, this small boutique hotel radiated a "Gilded Age" Experience. The location was a bonus - on a guiet street, but within just a few blocks of the bustling wharf area in downtown Newport. We will definately return!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWD24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel is simply wonderful. The staff is ultra-friendly and super-helpful. The accomodations are modern and exquisite. The location is unbeatable. The downside is the price so not sure I would shell out all that loot on a personal trip, but for a business trip it's my first choice in Newport.

Room Tip: I personally do not like rooms (especially bedrooms) with slanted gabled ceilings, so when I make my reservations I make that clear.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephane-the-Sensai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews