We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living on their laurels on a beautiful site”

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 234 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Ocean Drive
Description: The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn has been the backdrop of memorable occasions for over a century, residing inside a historic mansion built in 1875. The Forbes Four Star restaurant presents a prix fixe menu showcasing the talents of Chef Lou Rossi and his culinary team. We are blessed with a location that is second to none in New England - not only for the view, but for the bounty provided by our surrounding lands being brought to your table.
California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Living on their laurels on a beautiful site”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This is in a classic old hotel on a beautiful site. However, our meal while nice by many standards was not outstanding in any way. The service was adequate for this type of place and some dishes were marginal. I would consider lunch for the view!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Triangletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    143
    55
    34
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Casual elegance in a New England Treasure”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Beautiful dining room, amazing food selection (even for a vegetarian), stupendous half bottle wine list. So happy to have made our first night dinner reservation here after a long night. Then a short walk 'home' and asleep by the sea. Heavenly.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freedatravel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton Place
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Money”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We visited Castle Hill for an early dinner on a lovely late afternoon in August. We couldn't afford to stay at Castle Hill Inn, so I figured a dinner there would give us an idea what it was we were missing.

We sat out on the terrace, overlooking Naragansett Bay, with all manner of sailboats passing in front of our view. It really was a lovely spot. And the valet was super, fast, friendly and efficient. But that's where the good stuff ends. The meal was mediocre: I had the bouillabaise, my husband had the steak. He says the steak was good. I found a long hair in my soup, but I didn't want to make a fuss, so just let it go. The ladies' room was out of toilet tissue in both cubicles, and smelled of urine. Service was very slow, even though we were almost the only ones eating at the time.

We paid $140 for dinner (no drinks), tip included. Not worth the view.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Food with a magnificent view”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We had a lovely gourmet meal with a great view of the water. Wait service was excellent. The only negative is with bees and flies which surrounded us during our fine dining experience in the main dining room. The manager and my husband killed two bees during the appetizer course alone. We experienced the same problem when dining here last year. The door is left open so the staff can serve others that choose to dine outside and the bees fly inside.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iristraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing/slow service - good food”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We had heard about this restaurant and were really looking forward to the experience on our last night in Newport RI. However, the service was terrible, and we left before dessert. Having paid for the threes course, fixed price menu, the first two courses arrived and were really great. Unfortunately, the wait between main and dessert was far too long, over 45 minutes, without the waiter returning to even take our order. We were out of water and wine so decided to leave the restaurant. A very disappointing experience considering the cost. If the manager had not given us a 'complimentary' drink while we were waiting for our taxi we would have left with little praise. On hindsight a free drink did not mitigate the poor experience.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing