We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice!”
Review of Wellington Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wellington Resort
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Elmont, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I exchanged through RCI for this resort and were pleased to have been able to get a 2-bedroom 2-bathrrom unit for the beginning of October. Being after the "in season" the resort was very quiet, perfect for relaxing. We brought friends who also fell in love with it. It's location is perfect - at the quieter end of town but was in very easy walking distance of everything. The Wellington is very well maintained, the staff totally friendly and full of information. There is no onsite restaurant but everything is right outside your door. The unit itself was very spacious with a beautiful vew of Newport Harbor and gorgeous sunsets. We would absolutely return if we were lucky enough to get an exchange opportunity. This was a perfect time to visit Newport - no huge crowds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judib523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    37
    9
    9
    9
See reviews for
34
36
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We actually had a reservation issue at another place, so the desk clerk called here and they got us a room.
The staff was very friendly when we arrived. Very helpful with local info.
We got a one bedroom for over $200, pretty pricey. Especially for the time of year. However, we were stuck and needed a place to stay the night.
The place was spacious and clean. We had a balcony in the living area as well as in the bedroom. The bed was not comfortable at all. Very hard. They did not provide any toiletries. I think for the price they should have.
I would consider this place for a timeshare if they would correct these things.
I love the fact that you can park right outside your building and you have an elevator that goes straight to your room, limiting the traffic.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lmendeznp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
171 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I decided to go to Newport for a short fall weekend at the very last minute and were pleasantly surprised to be able to use our RCI membership to find a place. The Wellington resort is a well-maintained property close to everything. Our unit was spacious and very clean with lots of amenities. They do not supply shampoo, conditioner, body lotion starters which is a little weird. The night front desk person who checked us in was terrific. She supplied lots of info and advice and also had menus and maps for us. Overall our stay was very pleasant and we would return to this property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SRP36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahopac
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were so pleasantly surprised at this gem of a hotel in Newport. The suite we had was huge, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, living room, dining room, kitchen and huge terrace overlooking the Newport harbor along with smaller terrace off the larger bedroom. It was immaculately clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. There was two beautiful pools, one indoor and one outdoor and a large fitness room. The hotel was in walking distance to everything; Newport harbor and the mansions. In reading other reviews although the décor was not "modern" it was nice and we did have flat screen TV's. We had never stayed in a time share hotel before but certainly after this experience we would not hesitate to do so again.

Although there is no maid service the room had a large washer/dryer so we were able to wash and dry towels etc. and dishwasher.

Loved it!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room with terrace on the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Four girlfriends and I stayed her last weekend and it was perfect for us. Spacious, on the water, a nice pool on the water, walking distance to all the action and a fair price. We would go back. That said, its not a "cool" place and there is no scene. The decor is also outdated (think wall paper and forget a flat screne tv), but we didn't care. It was nice to have a good size space, the kitchen and laundry in the unit. The staff was also helpful. We had a nice and fun weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dreaming_of_Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Clean and spacious. A great value. Been here twice for bachelor parties and it really does the trick. Close to everything and nice pool. Not the Ritz, but quite a good place to stay in Newport and not spend $900 a night. Decor is a little old and the TVs are small and old but that's not why you go to Newport anyways. Bring toiletries and a positive attitude. Here's to feeling good all the time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cfeige23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our third visit to this property. Our group of two married couples enjoy this location on the harbor. We were easily able to view the fabulous fireworks on the 4th. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They were most willing to share their recommended restaurants. The Wellington is in a great location and the units are clean and well stocked. Although the televisions are somewhat dated, the beautiful pool(s), landscaping, friendly guests, and staff made this resort a most pleasant stay for us. On site free parking is definitely a "plus". There are even grills available for outdoor cooking. Just remember to bring or purchase charcoal. We are anxious to return for restaurant week!!!

Room Tip: Units #518 and 536 can easily accommodate 6 people. They are is a very desirable area of this resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alberta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.7 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
596 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.6 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Resort

Property: Wellington Resort
Address: 551 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wellington Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Resort Newport
Wellington Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing