We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$351
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Attwater(Newport)
$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newport Marriott(Newport)
$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $506/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$263
$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$360
$263
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$399
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Chanler at Cliff Walk(Newport)
$750
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$835
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
64
42
11
10
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
42
11
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoaster ovenindoor poolliving roomwasher dryerhuge kitchenpartial kitchenlooked brand newquiet endmain bathroomnewport bridgeoff seasontwo twin bedscoffee potthe dining room tableexercise roomcouple of nightsoverlooking the water
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 137 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I chose the Wellington based on reviews on TA and feel that we made a great choice. We had a 2 bedroom 2 bath in Bldg 5 on the first floor and had a great view of the harbor and the Newport/Pell Bridge. Our unit had recently been painted and had new carpeting. Easy access to both the indoor and outdoor pools although we didn't have time to enjoy them. We did not cook in our unit but everything was there if you wanted to. We stayed for 4 nights and ate out all of our meals but saw lots of families cooking on the outdoor barbecue grills near the pool area. it was a short walk to the downtown wharf area and actually not a bad walk to the mansions and the cliff walk. Everyone was very friendly at the clubhouse where you check in. Daily maid service is not provided but with 4 adults, we didn't miss it at all! The grounds were well maintained and our unit was spotless. Can't wait to visit next year!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank PAULALAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Wellington for the weekend to celebrate a friend's upcoming nuptials. We honestly had an amazing time there. We had a suite, which was HUGE and perfect to accommodate our group for the weekend. The view from our living room balcony was amazing, and we woke up each morning to different boats/cruise ships in the harbor. We were within walking distance to tons of bars and restaurants, which was a huge plus. The hotel was very clean, the staff was very friendly, and everyone had an amazing time. We will definitely be back! Thank you!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KrissyCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Before you book your stay at the Wellington it is important to realize this is NOT a hotel. They are efficiency apartments. You are responsible for everything. Do not expect to find shampoo or even a cup of coffee anywhere unless you bring your own. The apartment is well appointed if you know what to expect before you get there. We found the resort very dated and a little gross for the price we paid. The staff was rude and condescending. I would definitely pay a little more the next time we go and stay elsewhere. I should have known when it was the only place available!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Everything about this property screemed update me - to the CRT TVs, 80's wall paper, bed spreads, kitchen, bathrooms, everything. See pics. What saves the property is its water front location, location in Newport, and the large spacious rooms. Otherwise I would have rated the place poor. You would think that for $400 a night, each room would be updated. We were with a large wedding party so I had the chance to go in 4 or 5 other rooms and they all had the same decore. Also beware if you are two couples sharing a suite. One room is a king in the living area and requires you to leave the room and cross the hall to use the bathroom, and the other room is ensuite but it is two twin beds. Others said there room had the opposit setup. Either way, one couple gets twin beds. The suites also have dual entrances and then seperate security looks for the ensuite and the living area bedroom. You can rent just one part, but the walls are thin inside the suite areas. Last, make sure you or your guests have parking slips in your car. A guest did not place his parking slip in his car, and it was towed within two hours.

In short, great locations, clean rooms, no additional cost for internet, but for the price, very disappointed with the decor and furnishings.

Room Tip: All the rooms sit close to the water. Building 3 and 5 are furthest from the pool but closest to the water. Bld 5 is on the end furthest from the "club house" or check in. The each building has elevators and we had several handicapped people in out party and none of them complained about the accomodations going to the 3rd floor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My wife, two young children and I spent a week at the Wellington Resort. We had a two bedroom two bathroom suite. This worked out well as the kids had their own area to play and watch their television shows. The kitchen was clean and reasonably well equipt. Bathrooms also were clean though drain in master tub needed repairing. Decor is sort of early 90s, and could use updating as could the linens. You might consider bringing your own. Unit had a washer dryer which was great. Security also was good with multiple locked entrances. Management wants to rum a family hotel and has a strict no parties policy, which is great for us. They also have a strict no pets policy which helps with room cleanliness. The outdoor pool was great, it was cleaned daily and had plenty of chairs. The indoor pool needs painting and is very hot in the summer time. Location is good with walking distance to restaurants and shops and even mansions if you want a really good walk. All in a good stay that is probably worth about what they charge despite somewhat aged decor, very loud AC and dishwasher. Place is sufficiently clean though it really is more of a condo rental than a hotel in terms of maid service. Buildings and grounds are impressively maintained and view of bay cannot be beat. All in a good place for a family that can afford $650 per night plus tax.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pickypickypickyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews