We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great family resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wellington Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wellington Resort
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great family resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We took a road trip to Newport and stayed at the Wellington Resort. This place is great for a family. 2 bedroom suite, kitchen, water view, indoor and outdoor pool. Walking distance to downtown Newport. Great places to eat, and great live lobsters and other fresh seafood that you can buy and cook up in your room.

On Thames, so driving is a pain as parking and slow traffic can really be a pain. Resort does not do daily housekeeping so you have to clean your dishes, and launder your towels if you want clean towels daily. Our room

Room Tip: Request a room on the first floor as you can walk right out the back door to the pool. Otherwise yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    35
    8
    8
    9
See reviews for
31
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The resort could use some updating, however, if you are not expecting a glamorous and modern resort, the location is perfect for shopping, dining and viewing the mansions. The one bedroom we (my husband and myself) stayed in had twin beds, which is not what we considered ideal. The view of the bay area was nice and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. So if you are looking for comfort and prime location, this is it.

Room Tip: We traded in as a timeshare, so we could not choose a room. If you are renting and can choose, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMCM5967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed here during April school vacation. The place had great accommodations. The unit was quite large yet very comfortable. Our two daughters had their own room with bathroom while we had our own. A very big plus as you could image :) The place was emaculant when we got in. The staff was exceedingly knowledgable and friendly. I has a beautiful view of the harbor and is walking distance to almost all places.

Even though this was during off season, Newport was perfect for dining, shopping, and sightseeing.

If you are visiting Newport then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

excellent accomodations and friendly service. would recommend to all. spectacular veiw.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed at The Wellington off-season in March, so it was harder to gauge all of the outdoor activities that the resort had to offer. However, the rooms were spacious, clean
and well-appointed. Comfortable beds and plenty of room to roam within our 2 bedroom unit,
so the kids were not on top of each other. We had an oceanview unit, and even though it was March, it was absolutely beautiful. It appeared that most (if not all) of the units had balconies overlooking the ocean. I would have given this 5-stars if the kitchen were a bit bigger and equipped with a stove and/or oven. Without these, the unit was good for preparing breakfasts and lunches, however a hot dinner could not be cooked inside.
We prepared sub sandwiches one night for dinner. The microwave was smaller - good enough for heating up a cup of coffee/hot chocolate.
The location is perfect - close enough to easily access all the activities Newport has to offer, yet out of the fray enough to enjoy some peace and quiet. They did have an indoor pool,
which we did not have a chance to get to, and the clubhouse and staff were very friendly and accessible. Definitely a keeper!

Room Tip: There are only a couple of buildings - try to get a map of the resort, so you can see which units ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewJerseyGirlnxtdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We were here in off-season (December) so we saw little resort activity, which we expected given the time of year. However, it was perfect. The units are large, well provisioned (no stove, which was fine with me), great view of the harbor, gorgeous sunsets and so comfortable! Walking distance to most places, local transit somewhat workable and taxis very reasonable. We never had a bad meal in a week in Newport, with most places being walking distance. I would love to stay during the high season to experience the water activities. The resort is right on the harbor so I bet it's hopping in the summer. Overall, no complaints and plenty of praise. The staff was friendly and helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxieCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

The Wellington is the perfect location when staying in Newport. Far enough from downtown to be quiet even during the busiest season and close enough to walk to restaurants and shopping. Staff is courteous, helpful and check-in and check-out is smooth and easy. We are owners of a timeshare at The Wellington. Only once in all our years of ownership have we banked our week and traded it for a timeshare somewhere else. The property and units are very well maintained & updated as needed. Considering that this timeshare resort is right on the water and subject to extreme weather conditions it is in amazingly excellent condition.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank innkeepersupreme670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#11 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,657 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Resort

Property: Wellington Resort
Address: 551 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Wellington Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Resort Newport
Wellington Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing