We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Attwater(Newport)
$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$351
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $429/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $592/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$365
$263
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$399
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $272/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Chanler at Cliff Walk(Newport)
$775
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$835
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
64
42
11
10
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
42
11
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoaster ovenindoor poolliving roomwasher dryerhuge kitchenpartial kitchenlooked brand newquiet endmain bathroomnewport bridgeoff seasontwo twin bedscoffee potthe dining room tableexercise roomcouple of nightsoverlooking the water
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 137 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2012

excellent accomodations and friendly service. would recommend to all. spectacular veiw.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francisco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed at The Wellington off-season in March, so it was harder to gauge all of the outdoor activities that the resort had to offer. However, the rooms were spacious, clean
and well-appointed. Comfortable beds and plenty of room to roam within our 2 bedroom unit,
so the kids were not on top of each other. We had an oceanview unit, and even though it was March, it was absolutely beautiful. It appeared that most (if not all) of the units had balconies overlooking the ocean. I would have given this 5-stars if the kitchen were a bit bigger and equipped with a stove and/or oven. Without these, the unit was good for preparing breakfasts and lunches, however a hot dinner could not be cooked inside.
We prepared sub sandwiches one night for dinner. The microwave was smaller - good enough for heating up a cup of coffee/hot chocolate.
The location is perfect - close enough to easily access all the activities Newport has to offer, yet out of the fray enough to enjoy some peace and quiet. They did have an indoor pool,
which we did not have a chance to get to, and the clubhouse and staff were very friendly and accessible. Definitely a keeper!

Room Tip: There are only a couple of buildings - try to get a map of the resort, so you can see which units may have a better ocean view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewJerseyGirlnxtdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We were here in off-season (December) so we saw little resort activity, which we expected given the time of year. However, it was perfect. The units are large, well provisioned (no stove, which was fine with me), great view of the harbor, gorgeous sunsets and so comfortable! Walking distance to most places, local transit somewhat workable and taxis very reasonable. We never had a bad meal in a week in Newport, with most places being walking distance. I would love to stay during the high season to experience the water activities. The resort is right on the harbor so I bet it's hopping in the summer. Overall, no complaints and plenty of praise. The staff was friendly and helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxieCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

The Wellington is the perfect location when staying in Newport. Far enough from downtown to be quiet even during the busiest season and close enough to walk to restaurants and shopping. Staff is courteous, helpful and check-in and check-out is smooth and easy. We are owners of a timeshare at The Wellington. Only once in all our years of ownership have we banked our week and traded it for a timeshare somewhere else. The property and units are very well maintained & updated as needed. Considering that this timeshare resort is right on the water and subject to extreme weather conditions it is in amazingly excellent condition.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank innkeepersupreme670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Perfect location for staying in Newport. Sunset views over the harbor....walking distance for restaurants and shopping. Exchanged visit through RCI...check-in was fast and courteous. Staff suggestions were very appropriate. One problem with a television was quickly resolved. Condo itself was huge and clean. Only drawback was no stove in the unit. Thank you for a wonderful first time visit to Newport. I will definately be back!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less elevator noise in second bedroom.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glowndrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews