We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wynstone Inn is comfy cozy”
Review of The Wynstone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wynstone
Ranked #65 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wynstone Inn is comfy cozy”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at the Wynstone Inn during the hottest days in Newport 90's++ in the daytime. The King beds in the suites are very comfy and the large Jacuzzi tubs are great. Rick was nice to arrange picking us up and drop off for breakfast since the cozy breakfast area downstairs was not open. It is an old home but the upstairs rooms are comfortable, quiet and very safe. The location is perfect for Newport close to the marinas, wharf and shopping areas and central to everything.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLseafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    8
    6
    8
    4
See reviews for
5
37
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Branford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My Fiance and I have stayed at this B&B several times. We are always treated with the highest hospitality. The Inn is beautiful and extremely well kept. Rick the owner goes out of his way to make sure all our plans are taken care of and the Innkeeper is an absolute pleasure to deal with. I plan on recommending this B&B to everyone. It is an extremely Romantic getaway. The Wynstone's location is perfect for morning runs and afternoon walks and it is a block away from the famous Thames Street. We will definitely revisit within the near future. Thanks Rick & Sky for making our weekend so relaxing!! Brett & Jen

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Breakers Room at the Wynstone this past weekend as a nice, romantic, night away. We were hoping to get the Rosecliff room but as that was taken (last minute reservation) we choose the Breakers room. We had an amazing time! The room was beautiful, with a gorgeous fireplace, a beautiful, spacious jacuzzi, two vanities in the bathroom, and a marble shower, all of which we very much enjoyed. The king-sized bed was very comfortable, and while there was a little street noise as we were on the first floor, it was not a problem at all. The only thing I think could have made the room better is if the shower head was replaced, not a very soothing experience but still enjoyable. We could not figure out the jacuzzi jets, but it was very nice even without the jets! There was a TV, which we did not use, with a VCR. We were not disturbed at all throughout the night, although there was another couple staying upstairs. The innkeepers we talked to were both every helpful and friendly. Although we did have to drive to have breakfast, it was very good! I would absolutely recommend this inn to anyone who wants a soothing, romantic night or weekend away!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flwer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Beautiful decor with spacious extraordinary bathroom and jacuzzi! Great location, close to dining and shopping near wharf. Rick Farrick was extremely generous with his time, and knowledge; even called us during our stay to see if he could further assist us! Highly recommend Inns of Newport properties for a great Newport experience!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eagletim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We recently stayed one night at the Wynstone and thought it was great! The location is fantastic if you are there to shop and visit around Newport. The owners and staff could not have been nicer. We were upgraded to the King size bed which was extremely comfortably and the tallest bed I have ever seen. The rooms were clean. I have to admit that the best part was Breakfast. Susie is a fantastic chef and couldn't be nicer. The other guests eating in the breakfast room with us were also raving about the food. We would definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

The photos of this Inn were not representative of our experience . The Inn is located on the corner a very busy street. The street noise was very loud from traffic and pedestrians. You could hear people talking as they walked by our second story window.
As you enter the Inn, the hallways are very narrow and difficult to carry your luggage up the narrow staircase. There is no sitting room downstairs , only a small dining room. The kitchen is also downstairs, which, had clutter everywhere and dishes in the sink. ( Not particularly enticing).
Our room was the biggest disappointment. The room charge was $379 for the night. The Inn looks very tired and in need of updating. The carpet was worn and needed replacement( or at least a good cleaning). The bathroom had no shade or covering on the window, so there was no privacy. The inn keeper brought another shade from a different room, but the shade did not fit. The innkeeper then brought a screw ,which my husband used to hold the shade in place.
The next issue was cleanliness. When I opened the closet and turned the light on, a small German roach crawled out of the door. The bathroom did not have shampoo, lotion or conditioner, only soap. The window air conditioner ran most of the night to cool our room.
The breakfast in the morning was satisfactory. Joan, the Inn keeper was pleasant, but not engaging. She prepared an omelet and blueberry pancakes.
Overall this was a poor choice and a disappointment. I felt it was very overpriced for the quality received.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Spent one night at the Wynstone Inn and had a great experience. We stayed in the Belcourt Room. Our first impression, "Wow - what a room!" Beautifully appointed. The bed is elevated, a dramatic centerpiece to the room. The bathroom is large w/ a wonderful jacuzzi. Room was clean, and well maintained.

One of the best features, location. One block from Thames. We parked our car (free, off street parking - huge bonus) and didn't need it again until we left.

The Inn also offers a full very tasty breakfast in a cozy dining room.

The staff was accommodating and very helpful.

Wonderful getaway! Would definitely recommend this Inn!

Barrington, RI
Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooper714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
The Clarkeston
The Clarkeston
#40 of 95 in Newport
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howland House Inn
Howland House Inn
#45 of 95 in Newport
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burbankrose
Burbankrose
#35 of 95 in Newport
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ivy Lodge
Ivy Lodge
#12 of 95 in Newport
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Admiral Farragut Inn
Admiral Farragut Inn
#74 of 95 in Newport
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melville House
Melville House
#66 of 95 in Newport
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wynstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wynstone

Property: The Wynstone
Address: 232 Spring St, Newport, RI 02840-6813
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wynstone 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wynstone is ideally located just one block up from the waterfront and the center of Newport. Guest rooms include fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, cable TV/VCR, fine linens and custom fabrics. Each room is meant to be reminiscent of the richly adorned mansions of Newport's Gilded Age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Wynstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wynstone Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing