We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in all aspects”
Review of Belle View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belle View Inn
Ranked #54 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Berkshire, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent in all aspects”
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Very friendly and helpful, knowledgeable about locality, conveniently located for access to the town centre. Quiet and comfortable, flexible accommodation which can suit different combinations of people.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ams-dinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    21
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
103
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Located right behind the Tennis Hall of Fame, this place was close enough to the center of it all (we could walk to everything) and just the perfect distance away for it to be quaint and have a peaceful nights rest.

In addition to being beautiful, immaculate, and geographically desirable, the owners of the Belle View were extremely hospitable and knowledgeable about their town! Although check-in time was officially 3:00, they were able to get us into the room by 1:00. They even called us in the morning to let us know that they would be able to do this. We arrived early and there was even a parking spot in the lot for us. (Ample parking was available directly across the street even if the lot was full.)

The owner greeted us when we arrived. She gave us our room keys, a quick overview of how things worked at the Inn and some amazing tips of what to see and do while we were in town! And off we went... Her tips were amazing! Wish we had more time there to do all she suggested.

Once we arrived back from our afternoon, we were tired and hungry. We told her we wanted Italian and she made us reservations at an amazing restaurant!

In terms of the amenities, they were all top notch from the plush towels in the bathroom, to the high quality linens on the bed. Our room had a coffee maker and mugs, wine glasses, bottle opener, mini fridge with cream for coffee and bottles of water. Breakfast consisted of fruit, cereal, yogurt, coffee and your choice of baked goods. All were fresh and delicious! There was an area in your room where you could enjoy breakfast or tables were set up on the patio or deck if you chose to dine outside, which we did. It was beautiful.

If you are unsure of where to stay and have the chance to do it here, I suggest you do! We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ubd12c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2009

A very pleasant stay at Belle View Inn. We will certainly recommend it to our friends and relatives! Lorna is an excellent hostess and her suggestions as to how to go about Newport and make the most or our two-day stay were of great help.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISAMontevideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma.
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2009

It was the first time we had stayed overnight in Newport.We chose the Belle View Inn for it's location and appearance. Both reasons proved to be accurate. The B&B was close to the waterfront (10 min. walk) and the suite was very nicely decorated and contained every we needed for a great weekend. Our host Lorna and Tony greeted us upon arrival and were very helpful with all of our questions, they provided us with many options for dining out and entertainment. We had an excellent meal,went back to our suite,and got a great nite's sleep in our huge comfortable bed. The next morning we had breakfast on the rooftop deck. The whole weekend was absolutely fabulous. I can't say enough good things about the Belle View Inn. The next time we go to Newport we will stay at the Belle View Inn.
Steve & Denise

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stix07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.J.
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2009

We did not fill in a date at the top of this review because we have stayed at the Belle View numerous times during our daughter's four years at Salve Regina University (right up the road!). We always use B&Bs when we travel, and we can say without exaggeration that Lorna is the best hostess we have ever met. Her local knowledge is tremendous, but still better is her readiness to help, and to adjust. Just a call, and she prepares for a schedule delay. Just a call, and she's helped us to find lodging for our other daughter, for friends, and even for ourselves when (regrettably!) she was booked. There is always a nosh available on the way upstairs; breakfast is invariably great, and can be enjoyed on a second story deck with sun and the occasional osprey. There is coffee service in the room, as well as downstairs; and really we shouldn't say room, as there is a small sitting room, with daybed, ahead of the bedroom. The decor is lovely in all rooms, the furniture comfortable and all amenities available. The bathrooms are large and spotless. Outside, Terry loves the elaborate stonework, and Pam loves the gardens and potted plants. Location is ideal - not in the tourist/historic district (which is busy, and hard to park in), but a very brief walk away. Same for the beach and the cliff walk in the other direction. The tennis Hal of Fame is across the street, and shopping for groceries, pharmacy, and the occasional bottle of wine is a couple of minutes' walk away. The price, in season and off, is a terrific value, and the Zaloumises and their staff are as nice as you'll find.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBDit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We stayed at the Belle View Inn during a recent trip to Newport, RI. The location was perfect, it was quiet and set back from the main street, but the downtown was an easy, pleasant walk. This was also located to many other popular attractions in Newport. There was parking for us (a luxury we learned) and a very comfortable, clean suite. We enjoyed a private breakfast on our patio overlooking their garden. The host was wonderful. We listened and tried most of her recommendations (if not all) and were extremely pleased. This was one of our most favorite stays on our entire trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carriannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARYLAND
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Earlier this year I was presented with the opportunity by the company I work for to do some travel & take an extra weeks vacation due to 15 years of service. I 've been meaning to do something nice for my folks and could not have picked a nicer place to take them and celbrate there 59th anniversary. I've stayed in Newport several times before at two other B&B's and a high end hotel, but the Belle View offered something unigue thst the others didn't have, the hostess, Lorna. Overall, Newport is very enjoyable and the places I have stayed at all have made for very pleasant experiences. As I stated before the one intangible the separates the Belle View Inn from the other places is the hostess, Lorna. She went out of her way to make sure out stay was enjoyable, leisurely, and that we knew the local spots when it came to going out for dinner and site seeing. Lastly, as an added plus there is an ocuppied osrpey's nest that is atop a tall tower next door at the tennis courts. It was nice to sit out on the upper balcony and watch the ospreys fly around their nest while we enjoyed our breakfast in the morning and planned the day's activities. I would have no problem at recommending this B&B to anybody coming to Newport for a leisurely pleasant get away.

Best Regards,

Paul Guntzel

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAVENSPAUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Burbankrose
Burbankrose
#33 of 95 in Newport
75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#16 of 95 in Newport
166 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#4 of 95 in Newport
411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral Weaver Inn
Admiral Weaver Inn
#70 of 95 in Newport
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victorian Ladies Inn
Victorian Ladies Inn
#23 of 95 in Newport
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle View Inn

Property: Belle View Inn
Address: 22 Freebody St, Newport, RI 02840-3548
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belle View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the spectacular Cliff Walk at Newport Beach and downtown Newport is Belle View Inn. Our Grand Victorian features views of the legendary Tennis Hall of Fame. We get rave reviews from our guests since are rooms are spacious and well appointed and they love our our central location in the heart of Newport. We are an easy walk to downtown, the harbor, the beach, the mansions, Cliff Walk, the Tennis Hall of Fame and Salve Regina University. Private and secure with free off-street parking, private baths, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, relaxing decks and porches, fresh-baked afternoon cookies and free Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Belle View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing