We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Almondy Inn
Nearby Hotels
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina(Newport)(Great Value!)
$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Viking(Newport)(Great Value!)
$305
$263
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mill Street Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
$399
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$439
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$369
$349
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$595
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Attwater(Newport)(Great Value!)
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chanler at Cliff Walk(Newport)
$650
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$645
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveler rating
293
38
5
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
293
38
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplantation roomwine and cheeselanai suiteblue bayoff street parkingbreakfast was deliciouseach morningfellow guestsdining tablebed breakfastwalking distancefour poster bedrestaurants and shoppingdowntown newportwonderful stayfront porchthe cliff
Filter
Updating list...
314 - 319 of 342 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2009

I would have given the Almondy Inn 5 stars, but the only issue was that it's so close to Thames street and all the bars that we could hear the live music in our room! Although many guests would enjoy that entertainment, at the end of a long night my fiance and I wanted peace and quiet. Other than that, this charming little bed and breakfast was an absolute delight! Evelyn, the hostess, was fabulous, and her breakfast was incredible EVERY morning (chorizo omelets, chocolate croissants, fresh muffins)! Evelyn even accomodated my fiance who is not an egg fan and offered to make him fresh pancakes every morning! He declined but was given fresh fruit and cereal instead- he enjoyed it. We were in the sunset room and the view was of the wharf. The room was adorable, clean and beautifuly decorated. The bathroom was remodeled and provided great amenities, hair dryer, shampoo/conditioner, soap, etc. An iron/ironing board was also included in the closet which came in handy. Overall, it was a great weekend, especially since the Inn is located near EVERYTHING in Newport! Evelyn had great insight in the mansion tours, and I recommend those as well! We would definitely stay here again and recommend others to do so as well.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

We had a very pleasant stay at The Almondy B&B. The location was perfect; you cannot get any closer to the downtown area! We were able to check in, park our car and then walk everywhere for our whole stay. The B&B is beautiful; we started our stay in the Plantation room which had an extremely comfortable bed and a view of the harbor. Then Evelyn the innkeeper was so sweet and upgraded us to The Burgundy Room, which was gorgeous! Very spacious, another extremely comfortable bed and a fireplace (very romantic)! Evelyn’s breakfasts were scrumptious and she was extremely helpful in suggesting restaurants, things to do in the area and providing driving directions. We would absolutely recommend the Almondy B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnsonDrubner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

My husband and I usually stay at the Samuel Durfee House in Newport, but to our dismay, they were completely booked during the second weekend of November. A few of our friends had stayed at the Almondy Inn during our wedding in Newport in 2007 and they all said they enjoyed their stay there. So we decided to give it a shot.

We were greeted by the innkeeper, Evelyne, who was extremely gracious and immediately made us feel at home. We booked the Lanai Suite online and was impressed with our room. King sized bed, comfortable sheets, a small balcony with a view of the town, huge bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, and another small/sitting room where you can change clothes, read, or do some work as they had a desk there. Sorry folks, I wish I had taken pictures of the room!

Evelyne served quiche lorraine on Saturday with fresh fruit, coffeee, juice, and pain au chocalates. We missed Sunday breakfast as my husband and I had brunch reservations at Castle Hill, where we got married. Anyway, we heard that the Almondy Inn was going to serve eggs benedict. Oh well, next time!

The inn is in a perfect location to all of the main shops and restaurants. Our only tiny complaint was that the inn is very close to the bar/club next door and there were 2 men arguing outside for a good 15 minutes after 1AM. Needless to say, it was difficult to get some sleep that night.

Overall, we would absolutely come back to the Almondy Inn. We can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NesserA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2008

My wife and I stayed here in August and had a very nice time, the noisy nightclub mentioned in some of the previous reviews must have had some sound proofing put in because we didn't hear it at all. Mind you I do normally sleep with earplugs in....
The 5 p.m. wine and cheese sessions with the hosts were an excellent way to meet the other guests and discuss your day (plus find out a bit about them and their country of origin). That's how we found out that there was a nightclub quite close because a couple had spent a very enjoyable evening there.
The location of the b&b is really good, just off the main drag but far enough away to be (relatively) quiet.
Parking was fine too but I would recommend a satnav to find the place... without one we'd have had a bit of difficulty.
Then again, that may just be us...
If you need to access the internet, Evelyn recommended Jac & Josie's but there is a nearer teashop (Empire tea & coffee on the Broadway) which has three public access computers plus wi fi.
A word of advice on the Cliff walk, it was a glorious day and we did enjoy it but we didn't realise that at the end you're in the middle of nowhere and it's a fair old hike back to town again. We left the inn at ten and sat down for lunch at a quarter to two!
Is that why we didn't hear the nightclub... too exhausted?
We did pack a lot into each day when we stayed here and there is a lot of nightlife (and local brewery products)to sample as well.
A pretty good holiday, all in all.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marki50uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

Everything about this Inn is exceptional; from the first moment you get your keys to the next day when you enjoy a first rate gourmet breakfast! I have never met such a lovely Inn-keeper who made us feel welcome and exceded every expectation. The Inn is well kept, clean and beautifully detailed with hand picked antiques the owners have collected from all over the world. The room we stayed inn (the Plantation Room) had a wonderfull bed that I just did not want to get up from. The bathroom was clean, stylish and equiped with a cozy Jacuzzi. We also had a wonderfull harbour view. Also, the Inn is located in downtown Newport within blocks from all the sights.

Herber and Evelyn, please keep up the fantastic job! You guys have truly elevated the B & B experience to a whole other lever!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Aengenendt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews