We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal spot for visiting what Newport has to offer”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Almondy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Almondy Inn
Ranked #13 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ideal spot for visiting what Newport has to offer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Not knowing what to expect when we arrived at The Almondy we found it very pleasing to be met by the elegant Eveline at the door. This is a beautiful, well furnished B&B within easy walking distance of the waterfront and all it's boats, shops and restaurants. Our room was ideal as was the breakfast service and the very welcome cheese and wine offered late afternoon. We particularly enjoyed meeting the other guests and listening to their stories. The innkeepers were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. We would highly recommend this B&B and would like to be able to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmf8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    37
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
250
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We like this B & B. Our room was a bit tight but very comfortable bed and linens. The breakfast is very well done. We enjoyed the wine and cheese reception in the evening. The location is terrific. Walking distance to a lot of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbramh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Almondy Inn is a perfect B&B to stay in when visiting Newport, The Inn itself it decorated beautifully, our hosts were friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were delicious. The Inn is located just a minutes walk from the main thoroughfare. There is some late-night noise that can be heard but it is not too bad. The Burgundy Suite is spectacular! We are looking forward to visiting Newport and the Almondy Inn again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We only had one day and a night in Newport and Eveline made it very worthwhile. Showed us what to do, recommended great restaurants, and was most helpful. Sy het ook a bietjie Afrikaans met ons gepraat, us coming from South Africa!
Can recommend it to anyone!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
218 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was our second visit to the Almondy Inn. It is in the perfect location to the wharf area and all of the mansions. Although it is close to the wharf area, it is far enough away from the heavy traffic areas and it is quite quiet.There is a small lot behind the inn for parking which is ideal. My husband and I walked everywhere and didn't move our car once. The breakfasts are nothing short of spectacular. Herber and Evelyn are the consummate hosts providing information on restaurants and attractions. Our room was impeccably clean, comfortable and welcoming. This is an ideal place to stay and I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge,NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was our second stay at the Almondy Inn and it was again -- just the perfect location on quiet Pelham Street (just 1/12 block from wonderful restaurants and shopping). The gourmet breakfast was delicious and Herber was so helpful with recommendations for restaurants, etc. We stayed in the Blue Bay Room on the second floor overlooking the street (not at all noisy, had a jacuzzi tub and a very comfortable four-poster bed -- the room was lovely). The Almondy Inn certainly is and will be our go to B&B in Newport. Congratulations to Evelyne and Herber on the 10 year anniversary of opening the Almondy Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsnjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Almondy Inn is a clean, bright, charming little inn, a stone’s throw from the waterside district of Newport. The inn is small but has everything that you expect from a B&B: sunny sitting parlor, elegant and tasteful furnishings, and warm accents. We stayed in the Sunset Room. The room was comfortable, not spacious, but very clean and orderly, and bright. The bathroom was immaculate and well appointed. Evelyn and her staff are delightful, considerate and cheerful. Breakfast was delicious: omelets, fresh fruit, buttermilk biscuits, and chocolate croissant.
It’s not a huge establishment, but it was perfect for our needs: clean, charming staff and building, convenient to downtown (walking or driving), situated on a quiet side street, includes parking – everything that we needed for a short Newport getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DA_from_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almondy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almondy Inn

Property: Almondy Inn
Address: 25 Pelham St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Almondy Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Newport Rhode Island Bed and Breakfast is conveniently located in downtown Newport RI, just steps from Bannister's and Bowens Wharfs on Narragansett Bay. This elegant 1890's Victorian has been restored to its original glory and is located within walking distance of Newport's many fine restaurants, antique shops, art galleries, boutiques, and near the various famous Newport Mansions and island beaches. The Almondy Inn features five elegant guestrooms and suites, plus a NEW 2 bedroom 1400 sf ft Captain's Quarters suite, that are uniquely decorated with fine period antiques, private En-suite bathrooms – most with Jacuzzi baths – and some with bay views and a bedside gas fireplace. Spacious suites at our Newport Rhode Island Inn offer a separate living or dressing room for additional comfort and a true feeling of spacious luxury. The Almondy Inn is centrally located next to restaurants and nightlife. Gourmet breakfast served Friday, Saturday & Sunday. Continental breakfast served midweek in our dining room from 8:30 and 10:00 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Almondy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almondy Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing