We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful anniversary weekend..”
Review of Almondy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Almondy Inn
Ranked #16 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I spent our 10 year anniversary at this beautiful bed and breakfast and had a fabulous weekend. The Almondy was an excellent choice. Not only is the location perfect for seeing all of Newport's best attractions; it was also extremely comfortable and welcoming. We stayed in the Blue Bay Room and it was perfect for us. We had plenty of room. Evelyn is lovely and made us feel right at home. Breakfast was delicious every morning. Everything was extremely clean. I raved about our weekend when I got home. I would definitely stay again. Thanks Evelyn!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarrenGirl35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 335 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had to take a last minute trip to Newport to visit with my brother who lives local and was sick.During this visit we found out my other brother had died. Evelyn was the most gracious host during this difficult time and everything about my stay was first class and the room was impeccable. Evelyn- if you are reading this - Thank you for everything !! - and for helping me out a little on the price as well... I really had all the comforts of my own home .. hope to stay again sometime and will bring the wife..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almondy, Owner at Almondy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

So glad you stayed with us, and you are very welcome indeed. Hope you'll be able to come back one day. Thanks so much for the positive review and remarks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Almondy Inn has much to recommend it, not the least of which is its charming innkeeper, Evelyne. She consistently found the sweet spot between elusive and intrusive, and never failed to make us feel welcome.

Although our two night stay was in one of the more economically priced rooms, it was sufficiently spacious, had a gas fireplace, and best surprise of all -- a view of the harbor. But really best of all was that it was immaculately clean, as was the entire Inn.

Another plus is the Inn's location. It's only about a half block off Thames St., and a pleasant walk to Bellevue. We also appreciated the Inn's free parking.

Oh, yes . . and then there's the great breakfast. . . . Stop looking -- just stay at The Almondy!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunset Room -- harbor view as well as a sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D0ntFenceMeIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Many of the reviews in TripAdvisor were spot on in describing this quaint, warm and charming B&B in Newport. First let me say that I am not a B&B person. My wife had to coax me into staying in one, as I had booked the Hyatt for our two night stay in Newport. However, as usual, my wife's decision was correct. I read practically every review from every B&B at my disposal....about a week of research, I might say. After reading all reviews in TripAdvisor, I choose the Almondy Inn's Burgundy Suite on their first floor. The room was spacious, (decorated in beautiful antiques) with its separate room with sofa, tables, chairs and wardrobe cabinet. It even provided for access into the bathroom from that room as well as the bedroom, which I liked. I have to tell you that the bed afforded me probably the best sleep I have had in close to 40 years......I kid you not. You will just have to try it, to prove me wrong.

A few things that I have not mentioned is that the location of this B&B could not have been better. It is only yards from the wharf district and probably only 300 yards walking distance from one of the best fish restaurants in Newport....Mooring Restaurant. The other greatest asset this B&B has is the proprietor, Evelyne. She is one of the warmest, most intelligent and thoughtful people I have met. Not to mention one of the best cooks around. She fixed up two of the best gourmet breakfasts we have had in many years. There is just something special about good company, great food and great ambience to endear that time and place and make it one of our best vacations. Oh, did I forget to mention the wine and cheese serving from 5:00 pm to 6:00.

I hope you get to try out this awesome B&B and enjoy it as much as we did. Also, I heard the little bit of noise coming from next door that many reviewers mentioned. It really did not keep us from totally enjoying ourselves. If a little (insignificant) noise bothers you, there are always earplugs, but that bed will just lull you to sleep, so not to worry.

Room Tip: The Burgundy Room was very spacious and most comfortable. There is a spa tub in the bathroom, you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1momo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful weekend at the Almondy Inn. From the moment we arrived, free parking on site, Evelyn did everything she could to make it a special stay. The Burgundy suite was beautiful with the most comfortable bed and the softest silky sheets. Although it was spring, it was a chilly weekend and so nice to have a fireplace in the room. My only complaint was the food was so good I ate too much for breakfast. The inn is 1/2 block off the main street which was very convenient and suprisingly quiet at night, which was a pleasure. We met the most interesting people from all over the world and had great discussions over wine and cheese at 5 and breakfast in the morning. Hated to go but we'll be back next time we come to Newport.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdobgyn0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a B&B that cannot be topped and certainly is the place to stay. Like all reviewers, we give it an outstanding review. We were there April 18-21 of 2013. The décor was wonderful and the rooms were super clean and modern, with at fireplace and a very comfortable shower. The TV was Direct TV HD.

One of the best parts of the visit was the wine and cheese hour (5-6) where we met many interesting people from all over the U.S. and one couple from Sweden.

It is close to everything, with ample parking on Inn property. It is five minute drive to the mansions on Bellevue Avenue.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomnunnally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our 8th anniversary, and our 1st mini-vacation away from our children. We were seeking rest, relaxation, and a little pampering, and that's just what our two night stay at the Almondy in Newport provided us with! We stayed in room 4, The Sunset Room. it has THE MOST COMFORTABLE BED I've ever slept in! (I made it a point to make time for a nap on our second day.) The gas fireplace and views of the water added to the relaxation factor. I spent a lot of time in Newport in my younger days, and was really surprised to see that the Almondy was located right behind the Pelham...where a decade ago I spent many a night dancing into the wee hours of the night! We stayed at the Almondy mid-week, and didn't hear a peep from the club. My husband and I enjoyed amazing meals for lunch and dinner in near by restaurants (22 Bowens, The Mooring, Fluke and The Landing), and our breakfasts at the Almondy were par with these great restaurants! My husband and I loved the Cuban coffee, fresh fruit, and delicious pastries and egg dishes! Just being able to walk downstairs and be served...and then not having to clean up...would have been enough to make us happy, but the breakfasts were really scrumptious! We enjoyed chatting with Evelyn and the other guests at breakfast. We never made it to the 5:00 wine and cheese, but we used the house ice chest to fill the ice bucket (provided) and popped our own wine in it....which worked for us! We got just what we needed from our 2 night get-away at the Almondy!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
611 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almondy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almondy Inn

Address: 25 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $155 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Almondy Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Newport Rhode Island Bed and Breakfast is conveniently located in downtown Newport RI, just steps from Bannister's and Bowens Wharfs on Narragansett Bay. This elegant 1890's Victorian has been restored to its original glory and is located within walking distance of Newport's many fine restaurants, antique shops, art galleries, boutiques, and near the various famous Newport Mansions and island beaches. The Almondy Inn features five elegant guestrooms and suites, plus a NEW 2 bedroom 1400 sf ft Captain's Quarters suite, that are uniquely decorated with fine period antiques, private En-suite bathrooms – most with Jacuzzi baths – and some with bay views and a bedside gas fireplace. Spacious suites at our Newport Rhode Island Inn offer a separate living or dressing room for additional comfort and a true feeling of spacious luxury. The Almondy Inn is centrally located next to restaurants and nightlife. Gourmet breakfast served Friday, Saturday & Sunday. Continental breakfast served midweek in our dining room from 8:30 and 10:00 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Almondy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almondy Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing