We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant wait to go back”
Review of Almondy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Almondy Inn
Ranked #13 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cant wait to go back”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

My daughter (21, just graduated college) and I stayed at this inn for 3 wonderful nights. We had a lovely time and I just cannot say enough good things about it. Evelyne, the innkeeper, exudes warmth and a total service oriented professional attitude. The room, while not overly large, was immaculately clean and tastefully decorated. The air-conditioner worked so well, that it was actually a little chilly in the room. Evelyne provided us with a map and helpful recommendations of sights and activities. We partook of both her mansion and sailing packages, which saved us money. She bakes delicious and different muffins each morning along with a gourmet breakfast of omelettes, quiche, fruit etc. Because the inn has only 5 rooms, we became friendly with the other guests and looked forward to talking with them every morning over breakfast. At 5 pm every day, there is wine and cheese and crackers, another opportunity to relax and socialize; if you want to. There is a nice porch where you can read or browse the internet.
The inn is exceptionally well located near the wharf, shopping and restaurants. This place is totally charming. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    38
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
254
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We highly recommend Almondy Inn. Evelyn and Herber are gracious hosts. They have created a warm and comfortable environment that made our Newport visit perfect. The breakfast was different each morning yet always tasty. The location is close to all the main attractions but is still quiet and detached from the tourist traffic. When in Newport, this is the only place we will stay. It took us a while to find it but Almondy Inn is a keeper for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My husband and I spent the weekend of the Newport Folk Festival at the Almondy Inn. It is beautifully furnished, and completely comfortable. The host and hostess were welcoming, gracious, and lots of fun to talk to. We stayed in the Plantation Room, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The breakfasts were delicious, and we were given excellent suggestions for dinner. The location of the Inn is extremely convenient. It was a delightful experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This review took a bit long to write because I was wrestling with a tough question: what rating do you give a place that is perfect in every way, except that because of a factor outside of the hosts' control - extraordinarily noisy neighbors that make it impossible to sleep?

Yes, this inn really is perfect. Its proprietors are wonderful hosts who clearly love what they are doing, the rooms are very nicely furnished and appointed, the bed, bedding, linens, shower, toiletries, etc. couldn't be better, the breakfast was excellent, and the location is extremely convenient to downtown Newport - with a nice parking area, no less!

But it's noisy - or at least it was the weekend we were there. Yes, there is a bar not far away, but that noise, and the noise from people walking in the neighborhood, was intermittent and not that bad. The real problem was that the house next door to us was filled with at least eight 40 and 50-something men, who were clearly taking advantage of a boys weekend without wives and kids to regress to their misspent youth, including being outdoors starting at 8 a.m., and going until at least 3 or 4 a.m. (with a few quiet intervals, perhaps for golf or naps) hanging out on the back deck yelling and wrestling with each other, with lots of 70's and 80's music blaring.

I'm really hoping that the weekend was an aberration, either because it was a rare occasion for the owner, or because the house is normally not rented by that type of crowd. It seems from the other reviews that other guests didn't have similar problems. So I'm still rating this as excellent, but with a caveat . . . you might want to bring earplugs, just in case.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almondy, Owner at Almondy Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
We appreciate the honesty of this review and are grateful that our guest pointed out the many amenities and services we offer, and even gave us an Excellent score. We strive to give the best of personal service and pride ourselves to offer a quality B&B experience in a desirable downtown location.

We certainly have no control over what happens around us. This case of rowdy neighbors was indeed an irregularity. The rental property next to us is occupied most of the year by university students with whom we establish a neighborly relationship and have such issues under control. However, during the summer months it’s a “wait and see” who occupies these weekly summer rentals, and although we introduce ourselves and point out the proximity to our Inn, this particular weekend it obviously fell on deaf ears! We addressed the issue the next morning, but the damage was done. Rest assured that such incidents are not the norm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is the perfect place to stay in Newport. It has it all!! Great location - we walked everywhere we wanted to go! Herber and Evelyne made us feel welcome and at home from the moment that we arrived. The room was very comfortable and inviting with great decor and amenities. We will definitely be coming back to Newport and staying here!

Room Tip: I'm sure that all of the rooms are wonderful, but the Burgandy room was perfect for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talula13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2011

My parents have been coming here for a few years, and this time my husband and I took a trip with them. Upon entering the Almondy Inn, my expectations were substantially exceeded. From the hospitable welcome at the front door, to the immaculate, spacious rooms, service, EXQUISITE and elegant breakfasts, and other "homey" touches, my husband and I had only wished we started staying here sooner! We were treated like relatives of the innkeepers, and Evelyne assisted us with our daily itineraries, never once leaving us disappointed. Our 4-night, 5-day stay was filled to the brim with activities and delicious meals at the area's superb restaurants. This establishment is run with the utmost professionalism, and the location is spot-on. With just a short walk down to the corner, Bannister's Wharf awaits you. After long afternoons, you can expect "wine and cheese hour" in the parlor and a lovely chat with Evelyne. After dinner, it was a pleasure returning to our charming rooms, but not without relaxing first, on the front porch, enjoying an ice-cream cone from the corner chocolate/ice-cream shop. We will certainly be returning to the Almondy Inn, just like some of the other repeat-guests that we met while staying there. If there is anything you ever need throughtout your stay, Evelyne and her husband Herber are always around to assist you with a smile. We were so sorry to leave!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseydog1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The location is only surpassed by the charm of the home and the hospitality of the hostess. We spent a Wednesday and Thursday at the Almondy Inn in the Blue Bay room with a view of the harbor out a side window. The room was immaculate with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! The bathroom was large and also immaculate with a lovely basket of luxury toiletries. My husband is allergic to feathers and Evelyn our hostess made sure that all was taken care of. Our room also had a book with all kinds of useful information regarding the inn and local attractions and restaurants.
We were warmly greeted by Evelyn upon our arrival. The rest of the home is appointed with lovely antiques and feels gracious and welcoming.
As other reviewers have stated Evelyn's delicious breakfasts are a great way to start the day. We had eggs florentine fresh fruit and bacon with fresh homemade blueberry
muffins... scrumptious! Evelyn serves wine, cheese and conversation each afternoon at 5pm. This a lovely way to end the days activities before beginning your evening!
The off street parking is wonderful as you are only short blocks away from Bowen;s Wharf, Bannister's Wharf, the historic district and Thames Street.
The inn is near a night club and you can hear a bit of the music, mostly the bass , but I am a very light sleeper and it did not keep me awake.
While driving around Newport I saw many of the other B and B's listed here and I was so happy to have chosen the Almondy Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzzziecue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
563 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
389 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almondy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almondy Inn

Property: Almondy Inn
Address: 25 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Almondy Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Newport Rhode Island Bed and Breakfast is conveniently located in downtown Newport RI, just steps from Bannister's and Bowens Wharfs on Narragansett Bay. This elegant 1890's Victorian has been restored to its original glory and is located within walking distance of Newport's many fine restaurants, antique shops, art galleries, boutiques, and near the various famous Newport Mansions and island beaches. The Almondy Inn features five elegant guestrooms and suites, plus a NEW 2 bedroom 1400 sf ft Captain's Quarters suite, that are uniquely decorated with fine period antiques, private En-suite bathrooms – most with Jacuzzi baths – and some with bay views and a bedside gas fireplace. Spacious suites at our Newport Rhode Island Inn offer a separate living or dressing room for additional comfort and a true feeling of spacious luxury. The Almondy Inn is centrally located next to restaurants and nightlife. Gourmet breakfast served Friday, Saturday & Sunday. Continental breakfast served midweek in our dining room from 8:30 and 10:00 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Almondy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almondy Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing