We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional B&B”
Review of Almondy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Almondy Inn
Ranked #16 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Exceptional B&B”
Reviewed April 13, 2011

The Almondy Inn is definitely among the very best B&B's/lodgings in which I have stayed. The hotel is conveniently located just steps from many of the best dining establishments in Newport and a very quick drive to the mansions and cliff walk. The Inn has parking on site making the stay tremendously convenient rather than looking for parking on the street or elsewhere. It was very nice to tour the historic district and shopping area of Newport and leave our car parked at the Inn. We checked in at about 6 and met our very accommodating host Evelyne who helped us with everything we needed and made check-in very pleasant. We stayed in the lovely Blue Bay Room at the front of the house on the second floor with a nice view, gas fireplace, four-poster bed and large jacuzzi tub - a very nice and extremely clean room. We certainly had no problems sleeping on the comfortable bed. Breakfast was from 8:30-10 and Evelyne served up some mouth-watering creations. At 5pm guests had wine and cheese and relaxed by the fireplace in the living area. I can't stress how relaxing and comfortable this inn was during our stay. An absolutely exceptional B&B.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tazaemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    38
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
255
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Setauket, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2011

My husband and I went their for our honeymoon and we will definitely go back! The owners went out of their way to accomodate my diet due to my pregnancy, gave us great advice on where to go as well give us privacy. They mapped us out routes and gave us great advice on where to go and when. The room was spacious and very clean. We had a little problem with the fireplace, but as soon as we brought it to the owners attention, it was resolved withing a matter of minutes. The Inn was also a half of a block away from everything; very convenient to get to any shopping, dining, and the Main Drive.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cberliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

My mom and I have stayed here twice...the owners are lovely...they are helpful and friendly but not "in your face." The inn has lots of charm - beautifully decorated and in a great location - literally steps from the wharf. The breakfast is delectable and served with a smile. Evelyn is a very interesting lady and very helpful in terms of what to see. My mom and I stayed here in the off-season - once in April and once in June. The first trip, Evelyn upgraded us to the LAnai Suite for no charge - this was a lovely room with a sitting area and private deck. The second time we had the Plantation Room which was a decent size. The only small complaint is that when we stayed there the first time in March/April when it was quite cold outside and inside and we had to keep turning up the heat (although we probably weren't supposed to!). We toured the mansions, the American Museum of Illustration (call ahead - they have weird hours), shopped and ate at the great restaurants. We especially love the Cooke House - very unique place although pricey. Some favorite mansions are Rough Point (not part of other historic mansions but SO worth the tour), The Elms, Chataeu Sur Mer and MArble House. Also - highly recommend the Cliff Walk but note that it gets very rocky towards the end - wear good shoes!! Anyway, you cannot go wrong with the Almondy Inn! .

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonOriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We had a near-perfect stay at the Almondy Inn. We stayed in the Plantation Room, which was very comfortable, if a bit overwhelmed by a large, very comfortable bed. The location is as good as it gets. Our hosts were very friendly, very helpful, and very accommodating (pun intended). Breakfast was delicious. When I declined a suggested meal, a fine alternative was cheerfully supplied. If we're ever in the area, we would certainly try to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlithyToves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indialantic, florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We stayed in the Sunset room, loved the room and the view. The hosts were gracious, the B&B lovely and the experience unforgettable. Great location. Would go back again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smccoy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Stayed there twice in two years. Great breakfast, gracious host, great location to walk to all downtown historic Newport attractions.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monarch8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ijamsville, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2010

This was our first time to visit Newport. After much research we selected the Almondy Inn for a 3 night stay based on location, reviews, and value. The inn far exceeded our expectations. The innkeeper, Evelyn, was very helpful in planning our visit. We stayed in the Sunset Room with beautiful views of the harbor. Location was important to us and we were able to walk to most sights, shops, and restaurants. We hope to return to Newport again and will definitely stay at the Almondy Inn.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie197069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,014 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
591 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almondy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almondy Inn

Property: Almondy Inn
Address: 25 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Almondy Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Newport Rhode Island Bed and Breakfast is conveniently located in downtown Newport RI, just steps from Bannister's and Bowens Wharfs on Narragansett Bay. This elegant 1890's Victorian has been restored to its original glory and is located within walking distance of Newport's many fine restaurants, antique shops, art galleries, boutiques, and near the various famous Newport Mansions and island beaches. The Almondy Inn features five elegant guestrooms and suites, plus a NEW 2 bedroom 1400 sf ft Captain's Quarters suite, that are uniquely decorated with fine period antiques, private En-suite bathrooms – most with Jacuzzi baths – and some with bay views and a bedside gas fireplace. Spacious suites at our Newport Rhode Island Inn offer a separate living or dressing room for additional comfort and a true feeling of spacious luxury. The Almondy Inn is centrally located next to restaurants and nightlife. Gourmet breakfast served Friday, Saturday & Sunday. Continental breakfast served midweek in our dining room from 8:30 and 10:00 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Almondy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almondy Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing