We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Long Wharf Resort
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 19, 2009

It was OK... The place needs a remodel, our unit was fairly dusty, had the most uncomfortable beds I have ever had the displeasure to sleep on, parking situation was ridiculous, pool overrun by kids and grannies and no free wifi...

But, the location was good, price ok, pool is very nice during quieter hours, nothing was too terrible. I probably wouldn't return, but I am not particularly regretful for staying there...we had a nice time...

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank m0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 271 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2008

We just returned from a seven-night stay at the Wyndham Long Wharf in Newport Rhode Island and had a fabulous time. We live in Florida and like to spend a week in New England every December to get our dose of cold weather for the year. I have to admit I was skeptical about the property after reading some of the other reviews, but if you are looking for an off-season getaway this is perfect. There were no crowds and you can walk everywhere. Restaurants have dinner specials that were unbelievable in both price and food. The weather was typical New England winter --gray skies, cold, wind and rain, but the unit was cozy.

About the resort itself -- I was somewhat disappointed in the unit. The rooms were small and the furniture was tired. Definitely in need of being rerurbished. Customer service was good, in fact when we called for a reading lamp for the living room it was delivered within five minutes. Two negatives - they never had any pool towels and there's no WiFi in the units. If I wanted to log on I had to walk down to the lobby area or up the block to Panera. I heard they are are going to do some upgrades in 2009 (doubt it with the economy), but it is overdue. The pool area was great, but also needs a facelift. We would go back to Newport, but I've stayed in much nicer condos.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dldove101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

I was skeptical about our stay at the Long Wharf, but we were a large group going over a very busy weekend and our options were limited. So I crossed my fingers and booked. After seeing the limited photos on the website I was nervous that the place would be average at best. I was pleasantly surprised. The unit was adorable, clean and cozy. The grounds are immaculate and overall the resort far exceeded my expectations. Customer service was good, they were very accommodating and helpful (gave us late checkout, helped with restaurant/activity ideas, etc...)The pools and hot tubs were great, and the location and price couldn't be beat.
There are a few cons; this is a family resort and the pool area can be completely overrun by kids. The beds were less than luxurious, everyone in my party of 7 agreed. The parking situation is crazy, each unit gets one parking pass, but they advertise easy street parking. What they don't tell you is that the street parking is metered. When we asked about a second parking pass they said to come back in the morning to get a day pass, when we went back to get the pass, the line stretched through the reception area and they only had 5 passes to give out. So, bring your quarters...Overall it was a great weekend and a really nice resort. You couldn't ask for more or a better value in Newport.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kmw424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Being owners now for over 7 years at this resort, each year we become more and more disappointed. First we bought at this location for what we thought was one of the better timeshare properties and also for the location. Our biggest selling point was the “parking and facility” usage that came with the unit on a year round basis which we have now been informed is not the case, therefore making our investment worth less to us. We have never had a stay be 100% annoyance free. We have always been plagued with each unit missing kitchen items, stained/damaged furniture, loose floor tiles, torn carpets and general cleanliness being less than satisfactory. Each year our association fee increases and/or we receive a “special” assessment. Their sales people are relentless and make what is suppose to be a vacation and sheer annoyance. On our most recent 4th of July week long stay, we were invited to a unit owners 30 minute meeting that ended up being a 1 ½ torturous sale pitch and were practically held hostage until we finally begged for gift certificate we were promised.

On a good note, the location is wonderful and the grounds are kept very nice. Parking is an issue in the high season as well as families with excessive guests per unit taking over the pool area.

Since our unit is worth nothing compared to what we paid for it, we now trade out to other Wyndham resorts which we have been very pleased with. Maybe with any luck, Marriott Vacation Club will come in and take over and make this resort the gem it truly could be.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FiveStarTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

After numerous phone calls to the tech number provided by the front desk, no staff or tech staff members made any effort to help with the network. We were forced to venture down the street to a Panera to check our e-mail. OK rooms but customer service definitely needs remodeling!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CAR142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2008

My husband and I went here last year, March 2007.

We requested the "Townhouse Suite". We had a perfect view of the Harbor from our livingroom and upstairs Master bedroom.

Think there are only a few Townhouses with this view and with a private balcony off the livingroom. If you are going to this property it is a MUST to request a Townhouse Suite.

Nice location. Lowely view. Next door is Marriott. We were there right as things in Newport started to open up for the season and they had just had some snow. Still cold but very nice. The Long Wharf Resort was perfect for us. Huge and w/ laundry room and whirlpool too. We will go back this time w/our baby girl.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquarianne11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

I have used Wyndham Points to book this four nights stay over Christmas. The resort used very little points over Holiday. Christmas is suppose to be slow in Newport but the resort is full the time we were there.
Check-in was great! We got in our unit at two o'clock. I have requested a unit close to the laundry room and gotten it. Our 2 bedrooms unit was very clean and very comfortable for five adults and one child.
Newport was very beautiful in December. They put up a lot of lighting on streets and sailboats. The Bowen Wharf has many open shops and restaurants. We head in to the lobster warehouse looking thing and bring frest lobsters, seafood and shellfish for our holiday dinners. We ice skate at the arena on Thames Street. Cliftwalk was a little cold for me but we watched professional surfers breaking waves over the clift.
I really like Newport this time of the year. Many restaurants has fantastic deals. 2 dinner with bottle of wine for $21- check with front desk for information. The streets are quiet and you can have your pick of parking space. Be aware that shops close very early and nothing open on Christmas. Get your grocery and holiday goodies on Christmas eve and cook your meals in the nice kitchen or go out for a meal at a wide selection of restaurants. The resort is on the best location possible in Newport. We had a great time!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank schong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
686 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.5 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Long Wharf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Long Wharf Resort

Address: 5 Washington St, Newport, RI 02840-1513 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Long Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $156 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Long Wharf Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Long Wharf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Long Wharf Hotel Newport
Wyndham Hotel Long Wharf
Wyndham Newport
Wyndham Hotel Newport
Newport Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing