We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, decent pool, lousy wifi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Long Wharf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wyndham Long Wharf Resort
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersSilver level
Norwalk, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location, decent pool, lousy wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

First time stay, and we will definitely try to return. But there are a few areas for improvement.

Pros: The area itself is top notch: you're close to parks, shopping, tons of places to eat (the main "strip" is just down the block) ... even Stop & Shop / Walmart is a 6 minute drive.

The resort is very clean, and everybody who stays here is super friendly. We made many friends, young and old ... people were keen to share, whether it be a tip of a good place to eat, a chair by the pool, or even some sunscreen.

The rooms are a spacious as you've read about in other reviews ... and if you're traveling with kids, young ones especially, you'll appreciate that most suites are two bedroom separated by a common living room. So - lots of privacy, lots of space, not too noisy.

Our kitchen was just the right size ... we cooked/baked lobster, pasta, cookies, brownies, nuggets, fish ... you name it. The rooms include a dishwasher and they throw in most of everything you need (dishes, cups, utensils, pots, pans, dish detergent, free washers/dryers, soap and shampoo) ... but be warned, they don't have a lobster claw cracker - so bring one!

Really - ALL the comforts of home plus really nice 1080p HDTVs, Blu-ray players, a spacious dining table and three (or more) very comfy beds. Even the pull out couch is comfortable! Also, spa tub. Very nice!

Cons: OK, I'll say it right now: bring some other method of internet. The wifi here is SLOOOOOOOOW. Painfully, unflinchingly, nauseatingly slow. We mainly used my phone's hotspot. If you have to make a deal with your carrier to turn on wifi sharing on your iphone or android, just pay the 10 bucks and do it for the week. The wifi maxes out at like Like 100kbs a second SLOW. Forget about watching youtube. You'll be lucky if a website like tripadvisor loads in a few minutes. Do yourself a favor: get some kind of wifi hotspot going and use it here. AT&T wireless is a strong signal here ... I'm sure Verizon is too (Sprint is a NO GO)

Also, I've found the staff to be hit or miss. Most are very young, and frankly a few were a little clueless. I'm sure somebody from the resort will be reading this ... so my advice is this: Train better, keep the activities desk STAFFED all the time (more often than not, NOBODY was there) ... and give your desk staff the power to make actual decisions. Seriously, it felt sometimes like nobody working here knew what was going on. Communication is CRITICAL.

Having stayed at a lot of hotels - where the staff is very professional and courteous, and often bends over backwards to make sure you're okay, I think this place has a ways to go. Maybe it's because this is a timeshare, not a hotel? Some (not all) of the staff experiences I've had just felt amateurish. That said, the cleaning staff was spot on. They came in our room during our stay and flew around like a finely tuned cleaning machine. I couldn't believe it.

So to recap: SLOW AS MOLASSES WIFI, extremely clean (and cleaning staff is top notch!), rest of staff is MEH, but the location and easy access to everything is great!

These downsides are easy to fix - and the people that work hard to make your experience great (a couple staff members really stand out in my head) ... make this place a no-brainer.

9/10 - Would Stay Again

Room Tip: Unfortunately our room was close to the elevators and stairwell, which seemed to be a noisy spot.
See more room tips
Green Features: I'll say one thing ... no obnoxious signs about using your towels over and over to save water ... it seems very clear they're not overly obsessed with a notion (being green) that is obviously more about saving money, than saving the environment.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin B, Manager at Wyndham Long Wharf Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you John S for your feedback. We continuously look for ways to improve our guests' experience and we utilize the feedback as our road map. We are delighted that the location of the resort as well as the conveniences of the room proved to be ideal for your stay in Newport. We are currently working on a property wide upgrade for the wifi and hope to have this complete in the very near future. We understand that wifi is a critical necessity and we will have an enhancement soon. We will share all feedback with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and will work diligently to improve on our areas of opportunity. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Spreading the Warmth of Hospitality,

Kristin Burghardt
Assistant Resort Manager
Long Wharf and Inn on Long Wharf
Kristin.Burghardt@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    98
    40
    23
    21
See reviews for
134
69
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Peters
Level Contributor
411 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

First of all the main picture connected to the resort does not do it justice. That balcony overlooks the water and is a beautiful area. The Harbor House rooms have great views and two story units.

The location in Newport is one block off the main shopping and restaurant area - America Cup Drive. The walk was nice and crossing the traffic was easy.

The customer service was efficient and friendly. But I did feel that there was a lack of outreach. The pool area (although nicely laid out) was not very welcoming. It didn't have a good social vibe. And of course no pool bar or food. The outdoor hot tub was out of order for our entire stay.

As a Wyndham vacation owner, I will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barkus1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin B, Manager at Wyndham Long Wharf Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you, Barkus1968 for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the location and accessibility of the property to the amenities of Newport! We do certainly apologize for the inconvenience having the hot tub out of order throughout your stay may have caused. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Spreading the Warmth of Hospitality,

Kristin Burghardt
Assistant Resort Manager
Wyndham Long Wharf/Inn on Long Wharf
Kristin.Burghardt@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

My boyfriend and I were given a weekend getaway of our choice as a gift and we ended up choosing this location.I was worried before the trip after reading reviews but we truly had a great experience. We ended up in a 2 story room with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen, living room, washer & dryer, and basically anything we needed. The resort is very close to the town and we hardly drove anywhere. The room was amazing and we would have been happy staying in the entire weekend! The first night we used the kitchen to cook dinner in. We had anything and everything we needed to make it happen. We didn't interact much with he staff but when we did they were all very pleasant, even letting us check in over 3 hours early which we were very pleased with. We used the pool, hot tub, and sauna both nights we stayed and had no complaints. The pool is indoor and outdoor so you could choose. Overall we had a great time and we would love to eventually go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin B, Manager at Wyndham Long Wharf Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Rebecca, Thank you so much for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and had all the conveniences to make your experience comfortable and pleasing. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit with us, hopefully in the very near future!

Spreading the Warmth of Hospitality,

Kristin Burghardt
Assistant Resort Manager
Kristin.Burghardt@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Head, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

My family of five stayed in a 3 bedroom, 2 bath suite. It was beautifully done. Well-equipped kitchen which we didn't use much. One of the bathrooms had a jacuzzi, both were updated and clean. Two large-screen TVs were much appreciated as was the washer/dryer. Wifi was too slow to use - I switched to the cellular option on my ipad. The pool/hot tub area was nice, towels provided. The location is the best part- right at the start of town - easy walking to the wharfs, shopping, Touro street, Broadway and Bellevue. Start with a visit to the tourist center which is right out the back door. Free parking is a big bonus. Loved it. Would come back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KerryMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin B, Manager at Wyndham Long Wharf Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you Kerry MD for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.We are delighted the ammenities of the resort and location were ideal for your vacation! Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

My family came for my sons wedding and exchanged their Colorado timeshare for the Wyndham Long Wharf. I recommended staying in Newport, since it is one town over from where we live. After reading all the previous reviews, I was a little worried it wouldn't be a good experience. As mentioned many times over, the location is great. The room (unit 489) looked to be recently renovated and was extremely nice and clean. The unit had 2 bedrooms, one with king size bed and one with twin beds. All beds were comfortable. The hallways, elevators, work out room and pool area were also very clean and nice. There were no complaints and the stay was very pleasant. (I'm writing this on their behalf as they don't really use the internet...really.)

The stay was May 9-16, so it was definitely off season, but the weather was perfect unless you were looking for beach weather. There are endless things to do and see in and around Newport, that you'll always find something to do.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin B, Manager at Wyndham Long Wharf Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you, Paula M for taking the time to share your experience! We will share your great feedbck with our assocaites. We are certainly delighted you chose to share such a wonderful occasion with us as Weddings always create such an amazingly memorable time! Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

I am an owner here and while there are clearly general ongoing enhancements that have been made each year, the pool area has really gone down. Over the years the inside pool area has gone from a kids' delight to a neglected, sad area to now an area that looks unfinished and not welcoming at all. My kids were extremely disappointed that what they perceived as the showpiece of the resort is boring at best. It is clean but it is certainly not the selling point that it once used to be. I hope that this look is just temporary and that we are surprised and delighted when we come here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teragramsb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
241 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

After having decidedly mediocre stays at other Wyndham resorts in the past, Wyndham has finally redeemed itself in my eyes. We've previously had serious issues with cleanliness and age (Lake Lure, NC) and a poor management response to excessive noise from other guests (Nashville, TN). We had absolutely no issues with this Wyndham. Is there room for improvement in some areas? Sure, but the issues are minor.

We stayed in a newly renovated two-bedroom unit at the Wyndham Long Wharf Resort in early April. The living room included a galley kitchen along one wall, a living area with a sofa bed, one arm chair, and a TV stand, and an eating area with a table for four. One bedroom had two twin beds. Its bathroom was off the entrance hall, presumably to be shared with the living room if someone was using the sofa bed. It had a large stall shower. The master bedroom had a king-sized bed and en-suite bathroom with a small Jacuzzi tub. We were fortunate to be on the top floor, with a view towards over the interior courtyard and the fishing pier in the distance. My only quibbles are as follows:

1. As others have noted, this unit theoretically accommodates six people but only has seating for four both in the living room and dining room areas.
2. The coffee table is a ridiculously small cube that should really be an end table. There is almost no space for more than person to put down a cup of coffee while sitting on the sofa.
3. There is almost no counter space in the kitchen area and no place to store food except for the refrigerator. Since we didn't cook, we ended up putting our boxes of cereal, etc., on top of the stove.
4. It would have been nice to have had a stacked washer/dryer in the unit. Laundry facilities were on a different floor than our unit and required multiple trips up and down the stairs.
5. Speaking of laundry facilities, while they are free, the dryers take a long time, which leads to back-ups.

On the plus side, the unit was scrupulously clean and well maintained. The kitchen was well equipped. Even though we didn't use the stove, it was great to have the coffee maker and microwave to make quick breakfasts and snacks. The beds were very comfortable. Even though the resort was full of families on spring break, we did not have any issues with noisy neighbors.

The resort is conveniently located just two blocks from Thames Street with all of its restaurants and shops, and it's a short walk along the harbor to the other wharves, which also have shops and restaurants. The indoor/outdoor heated pool is nice and well maintained. There is also a larger outdoor pool which presumably opens in the summer. The wifi was free and worked well until the last weekend we were there (Good Friday) when there seemed to be a lot more people coming in.

Check-in was quick and easy, and the staff was very helpful. There is a list of restaurant deals posted near the elevators, and we took advantage of one the Wyndham has with Fathoms, the restaurant in the Marriott next door, for a BOGO on entrees at dinner. The food there was very good, and the views of the marina were lovely.

All in all, I can highly recommend this Wyndham.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
1.2 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.5 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Long Wharf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Long Wharf Resort

Property: Wyndham Long Wharf Resort
Address: 5 Washington Street, Long Wharf, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Long Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Long Wharf Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and TravelClick so you can book your Wyndham Long Wharf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Long Wharf Hotel Newport
Wyndham Hotel Long Wharf
Wyndham Newport
Wyndham Hotel Newport
Newport Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing