We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Long Wharf Resort
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This room was actually booked through RCI, since it has both hotel and time share units. We arrived in the late afternoon, and there was an immediate problem. Although our reservation was in the system, the room was not available through some error. The manager on duty came down and advised us that they had a three bedroom (which was what we had originally booked) in one section, and a two bedroom in the renovated section. She let us look at both of them and choose the one we wanted. We took the two bedroom in the renovated section (the three bedroom was a decent room, but it was a bit tired). The catch: the room covered two floors, with one bedroom and one bath down (the entry level), and one bedroom, bath, kitchen and living room up. Since it was just the two of us, this was fine. The stairs were not bad and certainly not a problem for either of us. Incidentally, kudos to the manager and staff who handled this problem in what was a very satisfactory manner to my wife and I.

The condo was very nice. My only complaint was that the carpets had many stains and appeared dirty (although they didn't actually seem to be). The main area we used had one bedroom with a king size bed and TV, a dresser and plenty of closet space. The bathroom, although not large, was very well set up - and the shower head was terrific. The bathtub also had jets, but we didn't use them so I can't comment on them. Incidentally, this room had my only other major complaint - the bottom of the shower curtain was dirty. There were plenty of towels, wash cloths, bathroom tissue, etc. The kitchen was full size, with a fridge, stove, microwave, dishwasher, washer, dryer and plenty of tableware. This was divided from the living by one couch; there was another smaller couch, and a table that was very handy for the laptop. Overall I was very pleased with the facility. We used the washer/dryer a couple of times and it was very convenient to have them available. We used up the detergent left in the unit and were given another one when we asked.

The location was fantastic. We had a view of the harbor from the living room. We were within five minutes walking distance of the visitor's center; Thames Street (main restaurant/bar area); Brick Alley shopping area; Bowen's Landing shopping area; and the Market Square shopping area. We were a five to ten minute drive from the mansions; Cliffwalk; and Fort Adams State Park. It was also a short walk across the causeway to Goat Island.

I was very pleased with the facility. My only other minor quibble was that you could hear people in the units on both sides during the evening. Not loud, but enough so that you knew they were there. I wish the unit was a little better isolated soundwise.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catcher24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 275 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

Hotel was nice, pool and hot tub not functional did have a good time at octoberfest would recommended thos hotel Newport! Is a very nice town with beautiful people. Would definitely come back here again

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vpvip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I've stayed in several condos over the years and this one was just average. I've stayed in a lot nicer ones. I didn't find anything to be wrong with our condo. It was nice and clean. You could hear some noises in the hallways, but wasn't too bad. The first night we checked in we could hear the music from the bar across the street until a little after 1 AM. The mid-week nights were not an issue. I really liked the dishes. They were a good quality and had a decent weight to them. The location was great. It was an easy walk to all the tourist trap stuff downtown and the pier.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at Wyndham Long Wharf the weekend going into Labor Day and had a good time. We stayed at a 2BR suite w/ a fold out Queen sofa; it was nice, clean, and suited our family (6 adults, 4 kids). It's in a great location by the docks and a short walk (3-5mins) to some downtown area attractions. The $1 happy hour raw bar from the bar Celtica next door is not to be missed! Sit on the bar to see the oysters being shucked.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank VirgPolicarpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We booked the Long Whaft in Rhode Island from the 28th August to the 5th September 2012, our reason for staying at the Long Wharf is that they have a pool and all the rooms have small kitchens in them as well as all the rooms being much bigger than if we had stayed in a Hotel. The Long Wharf is located right by the harbour and is only a few minutes walk to the heart of the town so its good for looking around the shops and just the right distance away from the bars etc.
The rooms at the Long Wharf are in need of a revamp but in general there fine, we found all the staff to be very friendly and helpfull and would use the resort again if we ever make it back to Rhode Island

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been revamped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We are long-time owners and can vouch for the place being built in the late nineties (we bought new in '99). The location is tops in Newport, and it trades well on RCI now that they are back to Silver Crown (formerly Gold Crown but had some bad years under Fairfield management). It is definitely in need of a "soft goods" upgrade, which I am happy to hear is happening this fall. My only real complaint this time is the loud beeping from both elevators as they pass through every floor. The sound is so piercing you can hear them halfway down the hall. Our room was unfortunately placed right next to the elevator, so I heard a steady stream of beeping whenever I was in there. I imagine every room within 50 ft of them has the same issue. Hopefully management will read this and get the elevator engineers in there to turn off those useless noisemakers.

Room Tip: ask for a room far away from the elevator! (and on the highest floor available, facing the harbor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knordeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

One of the best in Newport, great location, front desk is always helpful and other staff around hotel very friendly. As others have mentioned, it is a timeshare, plan accordingly. All rooms are 2b/r (there are two 3 b/r) and can comfortably sleep 6. Most of the other timeshare properties in Newport are not updated, this one is. It is also better than most hotels too!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimeTraveler0123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
722 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.6 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Long Wharf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Long Wharf Resort

Address: 5 Washington St, Newport, RI 02840-1513 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Long Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $115 - $801 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Long Wharf Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Long Wharf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Long Wharf Hotel Newport
Wyndham Hotel Long Wharf
Wyndham Newport
Wyndham Hotel Newport
Newport Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing