We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At Least it has a Central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Long Wharf Resort
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This property has a good point and some bad points. It is conveniently located in downtown Newport close to the yacht basin and many good restaurants. Okay, that takes care of the good point and now we can move on to the many reasons to avoid this place like the plague. Where to start? First, if you must stay here, avoid the first and second floor rooms that are anywhere new the indoor pool. The odor of chlorine is so strong that it will almost gag you. We were fortunate to be on a higher floor but were forced to pass through the area daily. The bedrooms are as sparsely furnished at an army barracks and the beds are similar to army cots. Our three bedroom unit had one room with a king, and two rooms with two single beds in each. I am six feet 2 inches tall and weigh about 185 pounds. I had about three inches of excess space on each side of my body when lying on my back or stomach and my feet hung four inches over the foot of the bed. A miserable four nights is the best I can say.

The staff is not very knowledgeable or friendly. When we checked in, the place was less than 50% occupied (Early May, 2012) so they had plenty of rooms to choose from when assigning ours. They chose a unit equipped for the handicapped even though we had no handicapped family members? The bathroom was cavernous and basically empty save a toilet which sat openly in one corner, a small sink with zero shelf space and a step in shower with a giant fold down cedar bench. The shower had not one single soap dish, shelf, etc., whee a person could place their soap, shampoo, conditioner, etc.You had a choice of bathing while holding on to all of the afore mentioned items, or pulling down the bench and using it for a shelf. Of course, if you did that, you had about one foot of space to stand. If you are a fan of sitting down to shower, I suppose it would have worked better. Not knowing any better, we stayed in the unit one night before we moved. Because none of their three bedroom units have three baths, adult family members must share a bathroom with another bedroom. Since the place was close to empty, I asked to move to a one bedroom unit and a two bedroom, two bath unit, offering to pay for any additional costs. I was told that the resort (wow, is that term a stretch) had no two bedroom units. I whipped out my iPad and showed the clerk his own website which listed one, two and three bedroom units. To this he replied, "Well we actually do have a single two bedroom unit, but no one ever uses it because it has a double bed in each room. It probably should not be listed on the web site." I thought, Well duh, do ya think?

When we changed rooms, my daughter-in-law forgot the charger for her iPad. A few hours later when she went back to the original room to retrieve it, it was not longer there and the room had been cleaned. The front desk manager informed us that no one had turned it in, but that we should give it a day or so. It had yet to be turned in by the time we were ready to leave, but strangely, another charger for an iPad had been turned in, allegedly, the day before we lost ours. Apparently, the owner of this charger cord had failed to notice, in five days, that they could not charge their device. Things that make you go...Hmmmm? No amount of logic would convice the manager that the charger in question was ours. I leave it to the reader to come to your own conclusions about the whereabouts of our iPad charger cord or how much we might have to pay to buy it back on eBay. Bottomline, avoid this place. It smells bad, has tiny little beds, an out of date website, and a surly group of employees.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gawain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Long Wharf Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 269 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2012

I only stayed here through RCI timeshare exchange since there was nothing closer to Boston. Dark and dingy rooms, outdated furniture, and a general run down look and feel. Since this was a business trip did not use any of the facilities. This does not even rate a Silver Crown RCI rating. Just awful in every sense of the word.

Room Tip: No tips whatsoever. Book at your peril.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jondavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Nice place love coming places off season and Newport off-season is great! Resort was okay. I can now say I went to Newport! Next!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in renovated part of resort (Harbor House)
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJBell0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We had a privilege of staying at the Longwharf with our grandchildren who loved the indoor/outdoor pool jacuzzi sauna movies and arts and crafts and the location that could not be beat! Robin and Megan were sweethearts and the guys at the pool were great and there was not a member of the staff that did not pass you without saying hello, Wyndham you have done a great job training your staff! We were in probably one of the oldest units I understand they are renovating them floor by floor but for a 2 bedroom with 2 bath it was very well equipped and they offered free laundry towels everyday and all the essentials one would need for the weeks(salt/pepper paper towels detergent cocoa popcorn coffee) Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
5  Thank coolpopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I have been coming here for years as we love Newport and to us its a great location with good parking. I have stayed at both facilities Long Wharf condo and the place across which is actually a five story building on the water. It is all studios, except for around 3 rooms also studios but they are corner units which are more spacious. This is where we stayed this time. The place is tired, and not very clean. They hire a service of young girls who come in and clean. Its not in house. So this is where the problem lies. If you are a couple that will be mostly out of the room, this is a perfect place to stay, as you wake up to a gorgeous view from mostly every room and can watch a sunset. If you are a family, then the facility across is where you would be more comfortable. Its cleaner which i never understood. The rooms are kept much nicer, and they are more spacious . The draw back, only a few rooms have views! the terraces are those prime rooms in the front. For the kids, there are lots of things to do,such as movies and popcorn, indoor pool, etc... The front desk is a problem, as again they hire young college kids who have no clue and have no supervision. Always insist on the property manager if you encounter any problems. as he is the only one that can make changes.

Hope this helps

Room Tip: corner room if available, since this is mostly a time share place, availability for a preferred room...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank erica1Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

When we checked into the Long Wharf in early Nov. the Condo we requested was unavailable because it was restaurant week in Newport, RI. The condo we were given was nice but a great deal of foot traffic, plus we had other people coming the next day and the space was not adequate, etc. I went and spoke to some amazing girls at the Front Desk and the next day we were moved to a free standing condo which was great. They were helpful and willing to make our stay a great one. They played a movie just for us in the movie theatre and gave us popcorn. It turned out to be a great long weekend getaway, thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

After reading some of the previous reviews, I was a little nervous about our visit to Wyndham Long Wharf; however, our experience was very pleasant. Check in went smoothly, and we received a unit that was just as promised. The staff was friendly and helpful with suggestions about area restaurants when we asked for recommendations. We needed help getting the heat turned up on the programmable thermostat in our unit, and a staff member was at our door within 10 minutes of our call to the front desk. The resort location is great-- within easy walking distance to many great restaurants and shopping, which is especially nice because general parking in the area is limited and can be expensive. We were not in one of the already remodeled units, so the room decor and furniture in our two bedroom unit were not brand new and showed some slight wear consistent with their age, but everything was clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay in the Wyndham Long Wharf any time we visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank qct222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
671 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.5 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
601 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Long Wharf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Long Wharf Resort

Address: 5 Washington St, Newport, RI 02840-1513 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Long Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $178 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Long Wharf Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Long Wharf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Long Wharf Hotel Newport
Wyndham Hotel Long Wharf
Wyndham Newport
Wyndham Hotel Newport
Newport Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing