We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place”
Review of The Wharf Pub

The Wharf Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wharf Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 234 Restaurants in Newport
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Wharf Pub is a Gastric Style Pub with Comfort Food. Under new ownership as of December of 2012. Open 7 days per week for dinner at 5pm. Lunch served on the weekends at 12pm. Outdoor seating available in the Summer. Located in downtown Newport close to shopping, hotels and parking.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun place”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

A group of us girls went to dinner here on a friday night.. The band was really fun and the staff were extremely accommodating. Great pub atmosphere. Loved the tator tots and the fish and chips!! They only serve beer wine or champagne , no hard liquor so just an FYI

Helpful?
1 Thank Jlc5442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    128
    41
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting Menu”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I love eating here, mainly because of the loaded burgers they serve, tater tots and chicken and waffles! Same owner as Diego's (which is right across from The Wharf Pub). They have live bands most nights I have been there, which can be pretty loud, and they only serve beer and wine, which does not stop them from getting creative with their drinks. I also love the bacon and eggs salad, it's a small portion but certainly tasty.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaeRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Summer Disappointment”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

It was Sat night at 7 pm and we had a reservation and everyplace else was packed, or we would've left immediately. Based on online descriptions, it was nothing like we expected. Tables were sticky (not from food but from the paint/stain) and the service was subpar. We went to get some summer drinks and I inquired about the "sweet martini selection". We were told there only beer and wine! No where on the website does it say that. First disappointment. We got the tater tot appetizers, figuring it was some cool chef creation, but it was literally cafeteria-style tater tots with various toppings. We were rushed to place our order before we even got our appetizers. Got the recommended BBQ Pork Shoulder Mac&cheese - there was essentially noodles with some semblance of sauce that had no cheese and a hunk of barbequed meat (the meat was good but small portion). Others liked the "big tuna" sandwich and the fish and chips. We were rushed through and had just paid the bill, and a member of our party was waiting for the bathroom (unisex and only 2) and the manager asked if we needed anything (in other words, why are you still sitting here?). I explained that a member of our party was waiting in line, and she told us we could use the public restrooms around the corner. I glared at her and told her we were "all set". Unbelievably rude, and food and service was subpar. Stay away unless you want to drink beer and have bar food. No view as was implied.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyChemQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway Park, NY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Drooling...”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This place was awesome! We stopped in for a late dinner after a sunset sail, found seats at the bar and were able to order from the full menu. Our party had the grilled cheese, wings, mac & cheese, pork & beef sliders (Can you tell we had already been drinking on the boat?) & split a bottle of Prosecco. DELICIOUS! Everything was amazing & the bartender Morgan was super attentive and personable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AMK1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Big nothing”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch. Service was terrible! Saw the waitress twice. The food was horrible, big portions of filler. Ordered the pork belly sliders and had maybe two bites of pork, the rest was filler. Same goes for the pulled pork and grilled cheese. Had to pay a dollar more for a tomato on the grilled cheese and got a single thin slice. For a dollar I expected a little more.

Would not recommend. Our waitress was Tara. Just awful.

Helpful?
4 Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wharf Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Wharf Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing