We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”

Newport Creamery Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 14 Dessert in Newport
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
102 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nothing special just your everyday average ice cream place. I couldn't eat my cone because the glue that holds the paper wrapper on the cone was all stuck to it :(

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drewlou102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    91
    59
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Honeoye Falls, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went here for dinner and ice cream while we were visiting. The dinner was nothing I would rave about but the ice cream was delicious! I do not suggest getting the frozen pudding flavor though because some customers were telling us it didn't taste good. I personally did not have the famous "Awful - Awful" but my friends did and they enjoyed it a lot. This was also very close to our hotel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Office
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Awful - Awful Milkshake!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

While on vacation in Newport we had to return to the Newport Creamery to have the original Awful - Awful milkshake. It is one of the best shakes I have ever had and I would recommend it to anyone. We also like the new renovation which lightens up the restaurant quite a bit. It is a great family restaurant and also very reasonable for your wallet.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank whytegroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The name is appropriate”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I went there for ice cream, My wife got a couple scoops , which she said were pretty good. I went with the claim to fame, the Awful Awful and the name was appropriate.
I ordered a chocolate Awful Awful and it was basically vanilla ice milk with a squirt of chocolate syrup. Even after asking for more chocolate, I could not tell what flavor it was. If you like vanilla ice milk this is your drink, it you like chocolate milkshakes, go someplace else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NormDonRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
139 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice version of fast food - Rhode Island style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had lunch at the Creamery during the Independence Day weekend. The place didn't look busy but we had to wait to place orders. There was a nice selection of traditional american dishes to choose from. Some of our party had tuna wraps, they were OK. Mac and cheese was great, as well as burger sandwiches. We had ice cream (since it is a signature creamery), and found it OK as well. Having more choices would be great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NJtraveller95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newport Creamery Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Newport Creamery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing