We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bayberry Inn of Newport
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Gilded(Newport)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Viking(Newport)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grace Vanderbilt(Newport)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Attwater(Newport)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveler rating
305
74
22
18
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
74
22
18
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshunter suitejacuzzi tubb bmy husband and ifront porchgas fireplacebreakfast was delicioushuge bathroomcookiesgetaway weekendfirst floora lovely staysitting roombeautiful roomour honeymoonbed was very comfortablebellevue ave
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 447 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Just stayed, great location, within walking distance to everything you would need. They have their own parking which is great in Newport. Big room, big bathroom, sunny with comfortable bed, but that's where it stops.
1. Ants in the bathroom
2. Shade didn't stay down, had to righ drapes to keep the sun out
3. AIR CONDITIONER DID NOT WORK IN AUGUST!!!! (that's sums it up right there)
4. Toiletries supplied by the inn, shampoo, conditioner, etc - were HALF FULL, so you're just using what someone before you didn't finish - GROSS.
5. Drawer with hair dryer had hairs, didn't look like it had ever been cleaned.
6. Gourmet breakfast??? Hmmmmmm, ours consisted of CARBS CARBS and CARBS, oh yeah, one yogurt option and 2 sausage links, no eggs....so heavy with no AC in the dining area - we were sweating while we were eating.

So what else can I say?? We spend a GOB of money (over $400) for sup par accomodations - don't do it, stay at the Viking right down the road.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uticamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayberryInnofNewport, Owner at Bayberry Inn of Newport, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2010

Our sincere apologies for this substandard experience! Please know that pursuant to your feedback and many other similar guest challenges, the Innkeepers Pamela and Adam Mather who were directly responsible have been fired. Not only did they compromise your experience, but several other guests before we were made aware and forced to take severe action.
During their short stint at the Inn, The Mathers behaved and performed badly and in a manner completely inconsistent with our standards.
We hope you will give the Bayberry another try at some point in the future and look forward to the opportunity!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

The Inn looks beautiful online, elegant rooms, a nice wrap-around porch, comfortable breakfast room...but once you get there it all changes too quickly. We were greeted by a young girl, who looked about 12, and a guy. They quickly checked us into our room...as the door with only two hinges loudly opened we saw long rich red and gold drapes hanging by one curtain hook. Very nice, that will keep the sun out in the morning. My husband climbed on the chairs, to reattach the curtains. The bed and tub were separate from a sitting room closed off by glass french doors. (I know, it sounds really nice!) The bedroom yet again, had these drapes that just didn't close and blocked the one window air unit. Needless to say, the sun wakes you up! Before unpacking, there were gnats in the bathroom. But it gets better, the innkeepers don't clean the rooms each day! So, our garabage can attracted dozens of ants! Nice! We asked if they would clean the room while we were out for dinner and the young girl responded with, "We wanted to give you family time." We weren't even in the room during the day! (After four days, we never once saw a cleaning crew.) Then, one afternoon we returned to our room and two of the innkeepers were verbally yelling with guests on the stairwell. Very classy. Those guests left that night to switch inns. Save your money, and don't be fooled by those online photos! Basically, there is so much potential in this place, but all the small details are overlooked and that really adds up when you are trying to enjoy your vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purplepiggie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayberryInnofNewport, Owner at Bayberry Inn of Newport, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2010

Our sincere apologies for this substandard experience! Please know that pursuant to your feedback and many other similar guest challenges, the Innkeepers Pamela and Adam Mather who were directly responsible have been fired. Not only did they compromise your experience, but several other guests before we were made aware and forced to take severe action.
During their short stint at the Inn, The Mathers behaved and performed badly and in a manner completely inconsistent with our standards.
We hope you will give the Bayberry another try at some point in the future and look forward to the opportunity!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

I usually try to stay away from Inn's, but the Bayberry was the only place in Newport with vacancies that fit our schedule. On arrival we were met by the Inn keepers and their little daughter. They were extremely friendly and the atmosphere was very warm. They respected our privacy while making sure that we had everything that we needed. Some of the reviews from a few month's ago talk about the Inn keeper being rude etc... That must have been someone else -- Karen, Adam, and their daughter were more than friendly. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Photo4700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

My husband and I got away for a much needed reprieve from home and work and happened upon Bayberry Inn online. We were actually en route to Newport without a reservation iPad only lap and iPhone in my hand thinking "how tough can it be to find a place to stay with so many Inns B&B's and hotels?". I learned very quickly that it is next to impossible. I called Bayberry and as luck would have it there was one room left. Adam and Pam (and their very cute daughter Jade) were very welcoming, down to earth & friendly. Our room was small but beautiful (gold room) it was too hot that weekend to be very interested in using the fireplace and roomy jacuzzi but would absolutely be a huge plus in the winter. Our AC unit was a bit old and could have done a better job to make it just a bit more comfortable but it certainly wasn't intolerable as there was a ceiling fan over the bed. Breakfast was light and delicious with shirred eggs on Saturday am and a fluffy light waffle on Sunday. Very walkable to town and mansion areas. Quiet neighborhood. We enjoyed sitting on the wraparound front porch saturday night with our wine -- Thames street was just way too crowded so we decided that a fresh pizza and a bottle of wine al fresco would fit the bill and it did!

It is expensive to stay in Newport on a summer weekend no matter where you stay. Prices here were in line with other places. Next time I would probably try to go between Monday and Thursday as the prices are much better and would guess that dinner reservations would be easier to come by.

Highly recommend the Bayberry!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margomacfarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We arrived at the inn in need of relaxation and a quiet place in which to do some work. The vacation rental apartment was available and provided just what we had hoped for. it was spacious and comfortable. The inn was charming and it felt as if we were in someone's home. The breakfasts were delicious and served in a lovely dining room. The innkeepers
were excellent,as was their assistant. They were professional,helpful, responsive and personable. We felt cared for without losing a sense of privacy. We will come back any time we are in Newport.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank ellenpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews