We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bayberry Inn of Newport
Ranked #18 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Experience”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were searching for accommodations in Newport RI. We came upon the Bayberry Inn, which had a room available for slightly more than the local Marriott Hotel. What a find!!!
We arrived at the Inn and were warmly greeted by our Innkeeper, Cindy. She is extremely personable and is more than happy to do whatever she can to make your stay as pleasant as possible. She immediately showed us around to acclimate us to our surroundings. This was the day after Christmas and the Inn was beautifully decorated. In the main sitting room was a large Christmas tree and a table laden with sweets, which were available 24/7 for those "midnight snackers". Just FYI - for those with a sweet tooth, she makes a mean cookie! There was also a machine upstairs to make tea or hot coffee at any time.
Our room, the "Newport Room", was well-furnished with a comfortable king-size bed and a private bath that included a shower and jacuzzi tub. There was also a flat screen TV and a gas fireplace. Our view included the lighted Newport bridge and lighted clock tower.
The breakfast hour is 9 - 10, which may be late for some, but was perfect for us. I noticed that Cindy did accommodate several parties, once by having breakfast earlier for someone checking out early and another time by adding a bowl of cut fruit for someone with a specific dietary request. Breakfasts were filling and very tasty and were served with juice, coffee, tea, sweet bread, fresh baked loaves and more. For our three-day stay, we were served french toast and eggs two different ways.
The Inn is located very close to shopping (Thames St.) and points of interest (Bellevue mansions and the Cliff Walk). Good restaurants are everywhere! We were able to walk to dinner two nights, even though it was cold outside. We also took a peek at several of the other rooms, which were equally beautiful, especially the "Honeymoon Suite". Based upon the prices of other inns and hotels in the area, we feel this was a bargain and we definitely will return to this lodging when we return to Newport RI.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MamaFuzbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    71
    22
    18
    28
See reviews for
26
315
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Cindy the innkeeper is wonderful!
Bayberry was beautifully decorated for Christmas, the rooms were spacious and the bed was super comfortable. We loved the fireplace in the room!
In the morning Cindy made us baked french toast that was delicious!!
The location is great and we will definitely be recommending this inn to our friends and family, perhaps for our upcoming wedding! Lovely stay.
Barry and Rachel

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Booked a vacation here for next year, and found that they immediately charged my credit card for the whole stay. Not just a deposit amount. My credit account was charged for the whole vacation time, months in advance.

I called, and was advised that this was their policy; to bill credit cards for the entire stay as soon as a reservation is made. And that if I cancelled, I would be charged 10%. That's for cancelling with over a month's notice! To cancel closer to the reservation would be even more costly.

An unpleasant start to my stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sign216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I went there with my husband on a weekday. The place is a wonderful choice for couples. Very close to restaurants. Relaxing and extremely neat. Cindy is very friendly. The room was clean and cozy. I highly recommend it! We will definitely go back there!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed at the Inn over the Thanksgiving weekend and found the accommodations excellent. Cindy is one of the Inn's best assets due to her great attitude and enthusiasm. It's great location and ample parking are additional pluses. Breakfast was excellent. We will definitely stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Our room (#202) had a wonderful view of the bridge, especially when it was lighted at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed at the Bayberry Inn for a birthday visit, Cindy was so warm and accomodating she made us feel at home right from the start. Our trip started out a little rough but once we arrived at the Inn we were greated with open arms. Cindy did everything possible to make are stay enjoyable, from the great room and the warm chocolate chip cookies to the friendly hugs. We defiantly will be back to stay again.

Room Tip: The main floor suite was very large and the sitting area with its beautiful large fireplace was so w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My positive experience with this B&B began before we even got there. I was having a difficult time finding a B&B that would let us stay for only one night, as most of them have a 2-night minimum on the weekends, even off-season. Cindy graciously let us book for the one night, when no one else would even consider it.

When we arrived, Cindy was so friendly and welcoming! There were chocolate chip cookies and breads and teas available from the minute we got there and all evening and night.

We had the Gold Room, which was so charming and inviting. The bed was beautiful and comfortable. It had a memory foam-type topper. There was a gas fireplace next to the bed and a two-person hot tub right in the room. The bathroom was of good size and the water pressure and temperature in the shower were perfect. Soap, shampoo and conditioner were provided. Everything was immaculate. Cindy provided us with a champagne bucket with ice, and champagne flutes and wine glasses.

In the morning, breakfast was served from 9:00am - 10:00am, with coffee available from 8:15am. There was oven baked french toast, which was very yummy, topped with fruit and whipped cream, with sausage on the side. Everything was served with a smile - Cindy really made us feel welcome and appreciated.

Thank you for everything, Cindy!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMMinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,973 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
598 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayberry Inn of Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayberry Inn of Newport

Property: Bayberry Inn of Newport
Address: 20 Kay St, Newport, RI 02840-2942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayberry Inn of Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Newport, this newly renovated Captain’s Home is the top pick for savvy travelers looking for intimacy and elegance. At the Bayberry we invite you to experience modern luxury with thoughtful touches in our newly appointed guest rooms all featuring; Comphy Co. supreme bedding and linens, bath amenities by Gilchrist & Soames, our chef prepared Signature Morning Harvest, and Pre-Arrival Concierge Services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bayberry Inn of Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayberry Inn Of Newport Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing