We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend at the Bayberry Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bayberry Inn of Newport
Ranked #18 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Weekend at the Bayberry Inn”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

The Anna Hunter Room was a beauty with a spacious living area and fireplace. A hallway that separated both rooms giving each guest privacy. The bathroom was spacious with plenty of cabinets and counter top space. The bathroom offers a jacuzzi with a shower stall. There are stairs up to the shower stall, so it is not recommended for those who have limited mobility or problem with stairs. There are no hand rails.

Our innkeeper, Wendy was fabulous having plenty of delicious breakfast options and serving tea and cookies in the afternoon. She was so kind in giving us restaurant suggestions.

This B&B is beautiful and hope that the new owners continue to extend their hospitality to others.
Will definitely return!
Tx traveling girl

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank txtravelinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    71
    22
    18
    28
See reviews for
26
315
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

The location of this place is great and the innkeeper was lovely and friendly (and prepared excellent cooked breakfast!). However, our room felt very shabby and in need of a freshen up, deep clean and air. The place almost felt a bit unloved as though the owners had given up. There were water stains on the ceiling, flappy wallpaper, broken blinds. We weren't surprised to hear the place was up for sale. This is a beautiful house which deserves to be restored to its former glory! As I said, the innkeeper was great though and we enjoyed chatting over breakfast and she made us feel very welcome.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank londongal68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed in the Anna Hunter room Nice room, Love the fireplace. Bed was very comfortable. Food was good, though I like my poached eggs a little more firm.

The spa is NOT 2 person in unless you are talking about two children. The shower head has no energy and the drain cover broken which could cause an injury. If you have any problem with stairs you will have a problem with the two stairs to get UP into the shower. and this is the only room on the first floor! A very non-standard bathroom.

Room Tip: If you have physical disabilities, this is not for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We arrived in Newport earlier than expected. Wendy the innkeeper was welcoming and allowed us to leave our bags while we went out to explore. Comfortable room, comfortable king sized bed, large bathroom with shower and whirlpool bath. Breakfast was wonderful in addition to the cookies and treats in the afternoon. We will definitley return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CKINNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
osterville
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed in the Charles Hunter room and was pleasantly surprised with not just the size but the cleanliness and coziness of the suite. It was our first time staying at a B&B and we it definitely surpassed our expectations. Breakfast was delicious and Wendy the innkeeper was very personable. The afternoon tea and cookies was a nice touch filling the house with sweet aromas. Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest, Nebraska, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We arrived in Newport and booked a room at the Bayberry last minute. Innkeeper Wendy, graciously stayed a little late to check us in. Fresh cupcakes were served to us upon check-in. The room was large with a working gas fireplace, sitting area, very comfortable king-sized bed, and private bath with shower and whirlpool tub. We enjoyed a beautiful Newport sunset and went off to explore the sights. Bayberry is located within walking distance to many bars/restaurants which is nice, considering finding a parking place can be a challenge. We awoke to a scrumptious eggs benedict breakfast with fruits, breads, juice and coffee. Wendy was gracious and we had a delightful (albeit short) experience at the Bayberry Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleKaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The inn is so well located in Newport; easy walks to just about everything. And even better: it's beautifully kept up, with lovely period pieces mixed with contemporary decor that fits well with the old. We had the Capt. Hunter suite: a large bedroom, good-sized sitting area (TVs in each room), fireplace, large bath. Off-season (April), it was an incredible deal at $105/night! Breakfasts were full, cooked to order, luscious (thanks to the innkeeper's--Wendy--cooking skills). And in the afternoons: out came the fresh-baked cookies and teas. Wendy is full of good suggestions for activities, restaurants, etc, and shares them with plenty of warm hospitality. It's our 2nd stay in Newport, but only our 1st at Bayberry. Will return, and highly recommend!

Room Tip: Very pleasant in the Capt. Hunter suite, 2nd floor, front of building; very little sound from street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jovi1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
597 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayberry Inn of Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayberry Inn of Newport

Property: Bayberry Inn of Newport
Address: 20 Kay St, Newport, RI 02840-2942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayberry Inn of Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Newport, this newly renovated Captain’s Home is the top pick for savvy travelers looking for intimacy and elegance. At the Bayberry we invite you to experience modern luxury with thoughtful touches in our newly appointed guest rooms all featuring; Comphy Co. supreme bedding and linens, bath amenities by Gilchrist & Soames, our chef prepared Signature Morning Harvest, and Pre-Arrival Concierge Services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bayberry Inn of Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayberry Inn Of Newport Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing