We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and family oriented”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hungry Monkey

The Hungry Monkey
Ranked #52 of 232 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
East Brunswick
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and family oriented”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Big portion of breakfast. Banana split French toast is highly recommended if you have a good appetite. I couldn't finish it. Reasonable price. Service is a little slow but it's worth the wait.

Helpful?
Thank WanMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    60
    21
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watsonville, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is a really neat place to have breakfast. The menu is quite extensive and creative. The Portuguese Hash is great. We had good service although we missed seeing the owner, Jimmy.
(We had talked to him the day before and he was very helpful in giving us directions and advice.)
The decor is really cute. The use of the "sock monkey" pictures on the wall is reminiscent of "Flat Stanley" and I thought that was very inventive. Had we not had to leave that day, we would have returned for lunch or another breakfast.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wpfwatsonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Cute place for breakfast or lunch. I had a little bit of everything for breakfast, great selection including monkey bread French toast. The cinnamon rolls were great too. Nice place to stop if you are taking a walk through Newport.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were intending to go to Corners Cafe, but due to the wait, we walked down a block and saw the Hungry Monkey. We waited about 15 minutes. The service was a bit slow, with one waitress running around. However, the food was very good. I had the sweetbread french toast and Portuguese sausage hash. It is a definite go to for breakfast! There is limited seating as well so be prepared to wait or just come early.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Not a bad breakfast spot. Some good things and some bad things. I did not like the corned beef hash. The pancakes and the french toast are very good. Creative menu. But overall was not a great breakfast. not bad either. I though the Corner Cafe down the block was better as far as menu and service. But I may go to the Hungry Monkey again. Its a good value.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jimbbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hungry Monkey also viewed

 

Been to The Hungry Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing