We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hungry Monkey

The Hungry Monkey
Ranked #52 of 232 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Farmington, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I stopped in on Tuesday morning for breakfast. The iced coffee was great! My husband got pancakes and I got the stuffed french toast. Both were very good! I would recommend The Hungry Monkey for breakfast to anyone!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chevelle716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    59
    20
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was with a large group and The Hungry Monkey was able to accomodate us within a resonable amount of time. The food was delicious and our waitress was friendly and quick!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angelique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food served in a fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have now eaten at this restaurant twice. The first time I had something from the breakfast menu (biscuits with sausage gravy) and the second time something from the lunch menu (chicken wrap with french fries). Both times my meal was yummy. The actual restaurant is rather small with only enough seating inside for about 40 and 2 four tops located outside on the sidewalk so expect about a 10 minute wait.

The second visit was on Saturday, July 6, and Newport during the long holiday weekend is INSANE so I was more understanding with the slower sub par service. I am not excusing it but I do understand that you can only pump out so much food in a venue this small and the tables were always full.

I would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katefromboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Went there for breakfast. The restaurant was busy, but no excuse for the poor service all around. We sat for 10 minutes unoticed by 3 waitresses that appeared to have no assigned tables. After pulling one over she said it was not her table but we made her take our order anyway. 40 minutes later and having to get up to get my own coffee refills the first meal came. (There three of us) As the first meal was nearly complete, the other two arrived. I ordered portuguese eggs bendict. The eggs were overpoached and the muffin was soggy. What a disappointment. Others around us felt the same.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sal t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corpus christi,texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food made with love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The atmosphere was great, the building had a small-town homey feel to it. Our waitress was very polite and helpful. The food was amazing! I had the stuffed french toast with apples, and it was to die for. The filling in the french toast was cream cheese, but it had a delightful vanilla taste to it. The sausage and home fries I had on the side were like no other I've ever tasted. The little ones enjoyed their blueberry pancakes and chocolate chip waffles. If I ever get the chance to visit Newport again, I will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abscess234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hungry Monkey also viewed

 

Been to The Hungry Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing